Archive GLENROTHES 1995 Over 20 Years Sherry 8th Edition ARTIST S.V

GLENROTHES 1995 Over 20 Years Sherry 8th Edition ARTIST S.V 52,8%

Single Malt Whisky, Scotland / Speyside, 70cl, Ref: 55189

Located in the town of Rothes, the Glenrothes distillery was founded in 1878 but did not begin production until December 1879. In 1897, it was destroyed in a fire and in 1903 an explosion caused significant damage. Today this distillery is equipped with ten stills and its single malt is used in famous blends such as Cutty Sark and The Famous Grouse. Powerful and delicate, this version reveals a very balanced expression of citrus fruit, dark chocolate, noble spice and heady floral flavours and aromas.

Profile: the ample initial nose is characterized by magnificent notes of bitter orange and dark chocolate. Allowed to breathe, it develops notes of red and black fruits (strawberry, bramble) and spices (cardamom). The distinguished attack is seeped in salted butter caramel and exotic fruit (mango, persimmon). Little by little, it moves closer to malted barley. The well-balanced finish is heady (purple lilac). Its delicate texture brings out notes of toast, beeswax and cocoa. Single Cask no. 909700 – Sherry Butt.

Read more

See more products from GLENROTHES

See all products: La Maison du Whisky

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : orangey copper with glints of green.
  • Nose : fine, full-bodied. On the initial nose, magnificent notes of bitter orange are enveloped in dark chocolate. This splendidly classic start is also composed of red and black fruits (bramble, strawberry) and noble spices (cardamom, ginger, cinnamon). Allowed to breathe, it develops precious wood (beeswax), vanilla and leather notes. Dried fruit (date, fig) then bring even more complexity to the aromatic palette.
  • Palate : lively, distinguished. On the attack, oranges release their sweet and tangy juices. Very taut, it then reveals notes of salted butter caramel, exotic fruit (guava, persimmon) and crème brûlée. Unveiling gianduja, the mid-palate is also a close reflection of the malted barley. At the end of the palate, strawberry and bramble create a particularly delicious and full-bodied about-turn of flavours.
  • Overall : long, balanced. A change of scene. Heady florals (iris, lilac, pale lilac, purple lilac, peony) appear, filling the air with their perfumes in a finish that also stands out for its delicate texture. On the retronasal olfaction, chocolate and salted butter caramel accompany notes of toast and aromatic plants (chervil, bay leaf). The original empty glass focuses on wood that has been reduced to powder, allowing cocoa bean and very ripe banana to take their places.
The brand
lazyload

The brand

Up until the 1990s, only a 12 year old bottling was available on the market. But in 1994 a new bottle was introduced with a round and full shape, proudly harbouring within a 1979 vintage. This vintage expression pays testament to the vision of Berry Bros & Rudd, a company known for the quality of its cask selection, a process over which it takes particular care. This bold action brought into question the very concept of age, behind which the majority of single malts hide, and questioned consumers’ perception of the link between a whisky’s age and its aromatic maturity. However, although the year of distillation is important, it is the choice of casks (mostly Spanish wood) that has the biggest influence on the aromatic profile of its “vintage” years, each one with a different balance of spice, citrus and oak.

lazyload

Merchant

Artist, Lands of Scotland, Malt Pedigree, Tartan, The Ten, Very Cloudy... all of these whisky ranges – composed of single malts and single grains – have one thing in common: they were all created by the team at La Maison du Whisky. They are the fruits of many decades of close collaboration with some of the most prestigious bottlers in Scotland. For some years the French importer and exclusive distributor of the classic ranges of well-known spirits producers, La Maison du Whisky was soon granted the very rare privilege of being able to complement these ranges with their own, bringing together two sets of expertise, two reputations and two complementary histories under one, single label.

lazyload

The line

Baptised ‘Artist’, this new range makes no bones about proclaiming its identity. Cosmopolitan and contemporary, it draws its inspiration from the style that gave the Italian bottlings of the 60s and 70s their cult following. From the choice of whiskies (distillery, ageing process, age, strength, bottling procedure) to the design of the bottle and choice of label, every detail has been carefully considered. This range offers a fine presentation of both the whiskies and the artist whose works have been selected for the back labels.

Back to top

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

GLENROTHES 1995 Over 20 Years Sherry 8th Edition ARTIST S.V 52,8%

Single Malt Whisky, Ecosse / Speyside, 70cl, Ref: 55189

Edition Limitée - moins de 20 bouteilles disponibles
Située dans la ville de Rothes, Glenrothes, fondée en 1878, ne commencera toutefois à produire qu’en décembre 1879. En 1897, elle sera détruite par incendie et en 1903 une explosion causera d’importants dommages. Aujourd’hui, cette distillerie est équipée de dix alambics et le single malt qu’elle élabore entre notamment dans la composition de célèbres blended scotch dont Cutty Sark et The Famous Grouse. A la fois puissante et délicate, cette version déploie avec énormément d’équilibre sa palette aromatique et gustative constituée d’agrumes, de chocolat noir, d’épices nobles et de fleurs capiteuses.

GLENROTHES 1995 Over 20 Years Sherry 8th Edition ARTIST S.V

Lire plus

Plus d'articles de GLENROTHES

Tous les articles : La Maison du Whisky

disponible

385,00 €
385,00 €
   
  • Livraison offerte

    sur ce produit

  • Colis protégé

    emballage ultra-résistant

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 130 € en France métropolitaine
- dès 250 € vers l'Allemagne, la Belgique, Pays-Bas, le Luxembourg, l'Espagne, l'Italie et la Grande-Bretagne
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Nez : fin, ample. Au premier , de magnifiques notes d’oranges amères sont enrobées de chocolat noir. Cette entame merveilleusement classique est également composée de fruits rouges et noirs (mûre, fraise) et d’épices nobles (cardamome, gingembre, cannelle). A l’aération, il évolue sur le bois précieux (cire d’abeille), la vanille et le cuir. Des fruits secs (datte, figue) procurent ensuite toujours plus de complexité à la palette aromatique
  • Bouche : vive, racée. En attaque de bouche, les oranges libèrent leur jus à la fois sucré et acidulé. Très tendue, elle révèle ensuite des notes de caramel au beurre salé, de fruits exotiques (goyave, kaki) et de crème brûlée. Dévoilant du gianduja, le milieu de bouche se rapproche également de l’orge maltée. En arrière-bouche, les fraises et les mûres effectuent un retour gustatif particulièrement savoureux et charnu.
  • Finale : longue, équilibrée. Changement de décor. Des fleurs capiteuses (iris, lilas mauve, pivoine) font leur apparition et parfument l’atmosphère d’une qui brille également par la délicatesse de son toucher. En rétro-olfaction, le chocolat et le caramel au beurre salé accompagnent des notes de pain toasté et de plantes aromatiques (cerfeuil, laurier). Original, le verre vide laisse admirer un boisé qui se réduit en poussière laissant place à des fèves de cacao et à des bananes très mûres.
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Distillé pour la première fois en 1879, The Glenrothes est prisé par l’industrie du whisky pour la qualité de son single malt. Cette reconnaissance est le fait d’un mode de distillation très lent qui permet d’obtenir un distillat particulièrement doux et fruité. Jusqu’au début des années 90, une seule mise en bouteille, alors âgée de 12 ans, est commercialisée. Mais en 1994, un nouveau flacon aux formes rondes et généreuses arborant un vintage 1979 est introduit sur le marché. Jusqu’à la fin des années 2000, chaque embouteillage était un vintage. Depuis, les vieux embouteillages restent des millésimes mais le master blender de The Glenrothes s’attèle à sélectionner avec soins des fûts qui seront embouteillés sous la gamme Reserve : Select Reserve, Sherry Cask Reserve, Peated Cask Reserve, Bourbon Cask Reserve et Vintage Reserve. En effet, plus que l’année de distillation, c’est le choix des fûts (essentiellement du chêne espagnol) qui est déterminant dans le profil aromatique des whiskies The Glenrothes.

lazyload

Négociant

Artist, Lands of Scotland, Malt Pedigree, Tartan, The Ten, Very Cloudy, toutes ces gammes de whisky - single malt et single grain - partagent un seul point commun : créées par l'équipe de La Maison du Whisky, elles sont le fruit de plusieurs décennies de collaboration étroite avec quelques-uns des négociants les plus prestigieux de toute l'Écosse. Importateur et distributeur exclusif français depuis des années des gammes classiques de ces maisons réputées, La Maison du Whisky s'est vu décerner le privilège très rare de les compléter de ses propres gammes, réunissant derrière une seule et même étiquette deux expertises, deux réputations et deux histoires complémentaires.

lazyload

Gamme

Créée en 2011, la gamme Artist dévoile chaque année une nouvelle sélection de whiskies bruts de fût, patiemment sélectionnés par La Maison du Whisky parmi les barriques les plus prestigieuses des meilleurs embouteilleurs indépendants, en particulier Signatory Vintage. Certaines de ces expressions sont devenues des références cultes (citons notamment le Laphroaig 1997, 15 ans en 2013 de la gamme Artist #4).

Immédiatement identifiable, chaque collection fait appel à un artiste différent pour créer les contre-étiquettes et exprimer sa vision des whiskies. Du peintre singapourien Warren Kong en 2011 à la graffeuse française Koralie en 2016, la gamme Artist explore sans limite tous les univers graphiques.

Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

Livraison LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 130€ en France métropolitaine
dès 250€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas, Belgique, Espagne, Italie, Grande Bretagne et Luxembourg
ColissimoLIVRAISON EXPRESS

en point relais ou à domicile.

PackageEMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

CardsPAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Dalenys

TransfertPAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer


premium
SATISFACTION CLIENT
Service aprs venteSERVICE CLIENT
tel : 09 70 83 03 60
lundi au vendredi - de 9h à 19h
samedi - de 10h à 19h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats