Single Pot Still: the art of production

What is Single Pot Still Whiskey ?

Behind the phrase ‘Single Pot Still’ on every bottle in the Redbreast range, lies a technique embedded in Ireland’s unique ancestral traditions. This phrase represents several guarantees during the production of this ‘Irish nectar’:

raw materials

A key raw material: malted and unmalted Irish barley

The Midleton distillery sources its barley from local producers who undertake to select only the finest grain. One of the special characteristics of Single Pot Still is that the distillery uses equal proportions of malted and unmalted barley, in order to focus on fruitiness and lightness.


Triple distillation, a distinctive distillation process

Apart from a few Scottish distilleries, the Irish have been the only whiskey producers to practise the art of triple distillation for more than 200 years. The Midleton distillery, which produces Redbreast, uses ‘giant’ pot stills to obtain a whiskey with very pronounced fruit aromas and an incomparable sweetness.


Unique provenance, like Single Malt whiskies

To echo its Scottish neighbour’s ‘single malt’, in 2011, at the initiative of the Midleton distillery, the ‘Single Pot Still’ description was adopted to indicate that a whiskey is produced by a single distillery.

Discover the Single Pot Still Whiskey range

Today, Midleton is recognized for its expertise in distillation, maturation and blending, and produces numerous Single Pot Stills, including Redbreast, Green Spot, Midleton and Powers.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Single Pot Still : l'art de la production

Le Single Pot Still Whiskey, c’est quoi ?

Derrière l’appellation Single Pot Still portée par chaque référence de la gamme Redbreast se cache un savoir-faire issu de traditions ancestrales propres à l’Irlande. Cette appellation garantit lors de la production de son « nectar irlandais » :

 
matière première

Une matière première clé : l’orge irlandaise maltée et non maltée

La distillerie Midleton s’approvisionne en orge auprès des producteurs locaux où seuls les plus beaux grains sont sélectionnés. Signe de singularité dans la production du Single Pot Still, la distillerie utilise à part égale de l’orge maltée et de l’orge non maltée mettant l’accent sur le fruité et la légèreté.

processus

La triple distillation, un processus de distillation distinctif

Mis à part quelques distilleries écossaises, les irlandais sont les seuls à pratiquer depuis plus de 200 ans l’art de la triple distillation. La distillerie Midleton, qui produit Redbreast, utilise des alambics « géants » de type pot still pour obtenir un whiskey aux arômes de fruits très prononcés et au moelleux incomparable.

provenance

Une provenance unique comme pour le Single Malt

Pour faire écho à son voisin écossais et son « single malt », depuis 2011 et à l’initiative de la distillerie Midleton, l’appellation Single Pot still indique que le whiskey est produit au sein d’une seule et même distillerie.

Découvez la gamme des Single Pot Still whiskey

Aujourd’hui reconnue pour son art de la distillation, de la maturation et de l’assemblage, Midleton produit en son sein de nombreux Single Pot Stills, dont Redbreast, Green Spot, Midleton et Powers.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats