PORT ELLEN 1980 46%

Single Malt, Scotland / Islay 70cl Ref: 51437

Port Ellen 1980 is a traditional Islay malt matured in refill American hogshead and bottled at 46% alcohol strength.

Many of the Single Malt Whiskies in Gordon & MacPhail's Rare Old range will never be seen again. They are whiskies from another era - some are from distilleries no longer in operation, others from distilleries that no longer exist. Port Ellen is one of the three main villages on Islay and one of the two ferry terminals on the island. The distillery was expanded in the 1960s and temporarily closed in 1983.

Read more

In stock

Add to my favorite
  • Free delivery

    on this product

  • Fast shipping

    From 2 to 5 days

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- for € 120 in France
- for € 200 in Germany,
Netherlands and Luxembourg
SSL Secure Paiement

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.


Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : dark gold.
  • Nose : vanilla ice cream, ripe pear, and cinnamon aromas mingle with dried tobacco and charred oak.
  • Palate : ground white pepper leads to sweet red berries, dried mango, and kiwi flavours. A rich smoky edge is present giving way to a subtle aniseed edge.
  • Overall : medium in length, drying, and with plenty of peat smoke influences.
The brand

The brand

Built in 1824 in the south of the Isle of Islay, Port Ellen was the site of numerous technological experiments that revolutionised the whisky industry in the 20th century. Closed between 1930 and 1969, it opened a malting centre on its site in 1973 tasked with supplying all the distilleries on the island with smoky malted barley. Again closed in 1983, Port Ellen lost its production licence in 1992 and, with it, all hope of ever producing whisky again. At the beginning of the millennium, the majority of its buildings were knocked down, leaving only the pagodas and warehouses. Though the end of the 90s and the beginning of the millennium were a prosperous time for single cask, cask strength versions from independent bottlers, this very iodine and smoky malt has become increasingly rare over the last five years.


This independent bottler is without a doubt one of the most highly acclaimed in Scotland. It stands out, not for its age (though it is the oldest independent bottler in Scotland), but for its complete mastery of cask ageing. Gordon & MacPhail is the only bottler to have its own casks - carefully chosen for the purpose - filled by the distilleries themselves, instead of simply buying the ones suggested to them by the latter. This allows it to determine, in advance and with great precision, exactly how many years a whisky will need to reach ideal maturation.

The line

Created in 1999, this range is devoted to very old, very rare whiskies, some of which will never again be available (in particular those from the St Magdalene and Port Ellen distilleries). These are, of course, single malts of the highest quality, bottled in ultra-small batches, mostly at 46% ABV, but sometimes at 43% or 40% in the case of whiskies for which the ‘angel’s share’ was particularly generous.

Delivery and payment


on all orders from €120 and up in France Mainland
from €200 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg

To your home, a collection point or "espace cityssimo".

logo collectorsCOLLECTORS

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery



Paypal, Paybox


Bank Transfer

tel : +331 80 36 90 10
Monday-Friday from 8am to 8pm
Saturday – from 9am to 8pm
See all payment methods
Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on PORT ELLEN 1980

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• 1 coffret de 6 verres offert avec le code : NOEL16 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016 dès 140€ d'achat

PORT ELLEN 1980 46%

Single Malt, Ecosse / Islay 70cl Ref: 51437

Port Ellen 1980 est un malt typique de l’ile d’Islay vieillit en fût Américain de hogsheads de deuxième remplissage et mis en bouteille à 46% ABV.

Rare Old est une gamme de whisky unique provenant de distillerie fermés ou disparues. La distillerie Port Ellen est le nom d’un des trois villages de l’ile d’Islay et l’une des deux stations de ferry. Port Ellen fut agrandie en 1960 pour être fermée en 1983.

Lire plus

En stock

1 129,00 €
1 129,00 €
   
Ajouter à mes préférés
  • Livraison offerte

    sur ce produit

  • Envoi Rapide

    entre 3 et 5 jours

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
- dès 200€ vers l'Allemagne, Pays-Bas
et Luxembourg
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : jaune foncé
  • Nez : des arômes de glace à la vanille, poires cuites, et cannelle se mélangent avec le tabac froid et le charbon.
  • Bouche : poivre blanc au début puis des notes de baies rouges sucrées, mangue confite et kiwi. Une pointe de fumée ouvrant sur une touche d’anise.
  • Finale : mi-longue et sèche influencée par la tourbe.
La marque

La marque

Construite en 1824 au sud de l’île d’Islay, Port Ellen fut le théâtre de nombreuses expérimentations technologiques qui au 20eme siècle révolutionnèrent l’industrie du whisky. Fermée de 1930 à 1969, elle accueille sur son site en 1973 un centre de maltage, chargé de fournir toutes les distilleries de l’île en orge maltée fumée. Fermée en 1983, Port Ellen perd sa licence de production en 1992 et avec elle tout espoir de reproduire un jour. Au tout début des années 2000, ses bâtiments dont ne subsistent que les pagodes et les chais de vieillissements, sont abattus. Si la fin des années 90 et le début des années 2000 furent prospères en versions single casks, brut de fûts mises en bouteilles par les négociants ; depuis 5 ans son malt très iodé et fumé se fait de plus en plus rare.

Négociant

Cette maison de négoce est sans aucune doute l’une des plus réputées en Ecosse. Ce qui la distingue des autres ce n’est pas son âge (elle est la plus ancienne), mais sa maitrise totale du vieillissement en fût. Gordon & MacPhail est la seule maison à faire remplir ses propres fûts – choisis soigneusement à cette fin – par les distilleries elles-mêmes, plutôt que de tout simplement acheter ce que leur proposent ces derniers. Ceci leur permet de déterminer à l’avance, et avec beaucoup de précision, combien d’années nécessitera la maturation idéale de tel ou tel whisky. En savoir plus

Gamme

Créée en 1999, cette gamme est consacrée aux whiskies très âgés et tout ausssi rares, dont certains ne seront plus jamais disponibles (en particulier ceux des distilleries de St Magdalene et de Port Ellen). Ce sont également, bien entendu, des single malts de la plus haute qualité, mis en bouteille dans des séries ultra-limitées, la plupart du temps à 46%, mais parfois à 43% ou 40% quand il s'agit de whiskies dont la part des anges a été particulièrement généreuse.

Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
dès 200€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas et Luxembourg
LIVRAISON SUR MESURE

A domicile, en point relais ou en espace cityssimo.

EMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

PAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Paybox

PAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer

SITE PREMIUM FIANET
SERVICE CLIENT
tel : 01 80 36 90 10
lundi au vendredi - de 8h à 20h
samedi - de 9h à 20h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur PORT ELLEN 1980

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats