Line product Old Particular
Archive CAOL ILA 18 YEAR OLD 1997


Single Malt, Scotland / Islay 70cl Ref: 18974

Fred Laing is very good at finding the very best Islay whisky. For those who were able to taste it, the 1997 Laphroaig 16 Year Old from our 2014 Collection will remain engraved in their memories. This year, Fred has chosen to concentrate on Caol Ila and has selected a particularly original version that takes you off the beaten track. A perfect expression of the Caol Ila style is the crucial factor here. Outstanding.

Single cask #12528 - DL10202 - Refill Hogshead Limited edition of 268 bottles Exclusive to LMDW Profile: creamy, fruity and smoky. Aromas of coconut, ripe fruit (pear, apple, Mirabelle plums) and candied fruit (lemon, orange). Peaty, spicy (cinnamon, saffron) and camphoric notes.

Read more

This bottle is no longer available


However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.


Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website and selected wine retail shops in France.


Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : vibrant gold.
  • Nose : clean, fresh. The initial delicate nose unveils coconut steeped in peat and smoke. Develops notes of fresh gentian and tiger balm. The grand finale is then performed by ripe fruit (pear, apple) with spices (cinnamon, saffron) and white flowers.
  • Palate : simultaneously lively and creamy. The attack is fruity (Mirabelle plum) and reminiscent of cigar smoke. Candied citrus fruits (lemon, orange) then confirm the palate’s intensely fruity character. Becomes increasingly liquoricey and saline. A handful of aromatic plants (vervain, sage), as well as acacia honey offer a refreshing note to the end of the palate.
  • Overall : mellow, milky. Coconut comes back with a vengeance. Rich and oily notes of peat are then followed by notes of fermenting vanilla and barley. Typically Caol Ila, it becomes smokier and increasingly iodine. The retro-olfaction is spicy (saffron) and creamy (almond milk). The empty glass is mentholated and liquoricey.
The brand

The brand

As well as reflecting its smoky, malted barley, Caol Ila is also oily and peaty, with marine and vegetable notes. Its recent official bottlings, which are particularly expressive, have an intense smoky and peaty character with a good balance of saltiness and sweetness. Superb versions of this single malt have also been released by independent bottlers Gordon MacPhail & Signatory Vintage. Caol Ila’s stills, which are large and onion-shaped, have a strong influence on this single malt and give it a fairly light and delicate character. Find out more


Established in Glasgow in 1948 by Fred Douglas Laing, the Douglas Lang company has, in recent years, made numerous changes to its structure. Fred Laing’s movement to the head of the company has contributed towards the business’s sound reputation. Known throughout the industry for the quality and variety of its cask selection (Douglas Laing still has casks from the most prestigious distilleries: Glenfarclas, Talisker, Ardbeg, etc.), the company has expanded its already rich range that includes historic selections such as Double Barrel, Premier Barrel and Director’s Cut, with two new collections guaranteed to please connoisseurs: Single Minded and Old Particular.

The line

Launched in October 2013, Old Particular Single Cask is a series of single malts that have been individually selected from the best producers across all regions of Scotland. It is ‘particular’ in that it offers authentic whiskies, without chill filtering or the addition of colouring, which give them a richer aromatic profile due to the fatty acids and enzymes that are naturally present after distillation. Exceptionally, Douglas Laing is offering single casks at 48.4% for whiskies up to the age of 18 years-old and 51.5% for malt whiskies that have been aged for 19 years, all presented in an elegant box worthy of the finest Scottish single malts.

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on CAOL ILA 18 YEAR OLD 1997

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Gamme Old Particular
Archive CAOL ILA 18 ans 1997

CAOL ILA 18 ans 1997

Single Malt, Ecosse / Islay 70cl Ref: 18974

Fred Laing a le don de dénicher des Islays de toute beauté. Le Laphroaig 16 ans distillé en 1997 de notre Collection 2014 est ainsi resté gravé dans les mémoires de ceux qui l’ont dégusté. Cette année, Fred a mis le cap sur Caol Ila et nous propose une version particulièrement originale, qui n’hésite pas à prendre des chemins inhabituels. Au final, le style Caol Ila est parfaitement restitué, et c’est bien là l’essentiel. Superbe.

Single cask #12528 - DL10202 - Refill Hogshead Édition limitée à 268 bouteilles Une Exclusivité LMDW Profil : onctueux, fruité et fumé. Arômes de noix de coco, de fruits mûrs (poire, pomme, mirabelle) et de fruits confits (citron, orange). Notes tourbées, épicées (cannelle, safran) et camphrées.

Lire plus

Saveurs

  • Boisé
  • Epicé
  • Floral
  • Fruité
  • Tourbé
  • Iodé

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : or vif.
  • Nez : net, frais. Un premier nez délicat dévoile des noix de coco imprégnées de tourbe et de fumée. Il s’ouvre sur des notes de gentiane et de baume du tigre. Puis, accompagnés d’épices (cannelle, safran) et de fleurs blanches, des fruits mûrs (poire, pomme) arrivent en point d’orgue.
  • Bouche : à la fois vive et onctueuse. Tout en évoquant la fumée d’un cigare, son attaque se révèle fruitée (mirabelle). Dans la foulée, des agrumes confits (citron, orange) confirment le caractère intensément fruité de la bouche. Au fur et à mesure, elle devient réglissée et saline. Quelques plantes aromatiques (verveine, sauge) ainsi que du miel d’acacia rafraîchissent la fin de bouche.
  • Finale : douce, laiteuse. La noix de coco effectue un retour remarqué. Puis, des notes de vanille et d’orge en cours de fermentation précèdent une tourbe grasse et huileuse. Très Caol Ila, elle évolue vers plus de fumée et d’iode. La rétro-olfaction est épicée (safran) et crémeuse (lait d’amande). Le verre vide est mentholé et réglissé.
La marque

La marque

Proche de l'orge maltée fumée, Caol Ila se révèle également marin, végétal, huileux et tourbé. Les récents embouteillages officiels, particulièrement expressifs, possèdent un caractère tourbé et fumé intense ainsi qu'un bel équilibre sucré/salé. Les embouteilleurs indépendants, Gordon & MacPhail et Signatory Vintage proposent également de magnifiques versions de ce single malt. Les alambics de la distillerie Caol Ila, de grande taille et en forme d'oignon expliquent en grande partie le caractère plutôt léger et très fin de ce single malt. En savoir plus

Négociant

Etablie à Glasgow en 1948 par Fred Douglas Laing, la société Douglas Laing a opéré ces dernières années plusieurs transformations au sein de sa structure. Avec le passage de Fred Laing à la tête de la société, la réputation de la maison se solidifie davantage. Connue dans toute l’industrie du négoce pour la qualité et la variété de la sélection (Douglas Laing dispose encore de fûts des distilleries les plus prestigieuses : Glenfarclas, Talisker, Ardbeg…), elle étoffe sa gamme déjà riche de séries historiques comme Double Barrel, Premier Barrel ou Director's Cut, avec deux nouvelles collections garanties de plaire aux connaisseurs : Single Minded et Old Particular.

Gamme

Old Particular Single Cask est la série lancée en Octobre 2013 de single malts sélectionnés individuellement auprès des meilleurs producteurs et sur l’ensemble du territoire écossais. Elle a la particularité d’offrir un whisky authentique, sans filtration à froid ni ajout de colorant, donnant l’opportunité aux acides gras et aux enzymes présents naturellement en fin de distillation d’enrichir son profil aromatique. Exceptionnellement, Douglas Laing propose ses single casks à 48,4% pour les whiskies allant jusqu’à 18 ans d’âge et 51,5% pour les malts vieillis pendant une période de 19 ans, le tout étant présenté dans une élégante boîte digne des plus grands single malts écossais.

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur CAOL ILA 18 ans 1997

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats