Line product Rare Old
Archive BRORA 1982

BRORA 1982

Single Malt, Scotland / Highlands 70cl Ref: 19667

This 1982 distillation, from the sadly now silent Highland Brora distillery, was bottled in 2015 for the fantastic Gordon & MacPhail Rare Old series.

Read more

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

    No comment
The brand

The brand

Built in 1819 by the Marchioness of Stafford, the Brora distillery is known for its peated whisky, similar to the Isle of Islay style. Following an unexpected drought on the Isle of Islay in the summer of 1969, a shortage of peated whisky slowed down the production of blended whisky for a number of distilleries. So Brora decided to supply the distilleries in question with their quality peated whisky whose production costs were lower than those from the Islay distilleries. In the eighties overproduction lead to the permanent closure of some thirty Scottish distilleries including Brora. In 2014 the one-off sale of 160 official-version bottles of a 40 year-old, 59.1% Brora provided a unique opportunity to preserve a rare testimony of one of the legendary ‘lost distilleries’

Merchant

This independent bottler is without a doubt one of the most highly acclaimed in Scotland. It stands out, not for its age (though it is the oldest independent bottler in Scotland), but for its complete mastery of cask ageing. Gordon & MacPhail is the only bottler to have its own casks - carefully chosen for the purpose - filled by the distilleries themselves, instead of simply buying the ones suggested to them by the latter. This allows it to determine, in advance and with great precision, exactly how many years a whisky will need to reach ideal maturation.

The line

Created in 1999, this range is devoted to very old, very rare whiskies, some of which will never again be available (in particular those from the St Magdalene and Port Ellen distilleries). These are, of course, single malts of the highest quality, bottled in ultra-small batches, mostly at 46% ABV, but sometimes at 43% or 40% in the case of whiskies for which the ‘angel’s share’ was particularly generous.

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on BRORA 1982

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Gamme Rare Old
Archive BRORA 1982

BRORA 1982

Single Malt, Ecosse / Highlands 70cl Ref: 19667

Ce millésime 1982 de la bien regretté distillerie Brora, aujourd'hui fermé, a été embouteillé en 2015 dans fantastique gamme Rare Old de Gordon & MacPhail.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

    Aucun commentaire disponible
La marque

La marque

Construite en 1819 par la Marquise de Stafford, la distillerie Brora est réputée pour son whisky tourbé proche du style de l’île d’Islay. Suite à une sécheresse inattendue sur l’île d’Islay durant l’été 1969, une pénurie de whisky tourbé ralentit la production de blends pour de nombreuses distilleries. La distillerie Brora est alors choisie pour approvisionner les distilleries en difficulté grâce à la qualité de son whisky tourbé et de ses coûts de production inférieurs à ceux des distilleries d’Islay. Dans les années 80, une situation de surproduction conduit à la fermeture définitive d’une trentaine de distilleries écossaises, dont Brora. En 2014, la mise en vente exceptionnelle d’une version officielle de 160 bouteilles Brora 40 ans 59,1% offre l’opportunité exceptionnelle de conserver un témoignage rarissime d’une des mythiques « lost distilleries ».

Négociant

Cette maison de négoce est sans aucune doute l’une des plus réputées en Ecosse. Ce qui la distingue des autres ce n’est pas son âge (elle est la plus ancienne), mais sa maitrise totale du vieillissement en fût. Gordon & MacPhail est la seule maison à faire remplir ses propres fûts – choisis soigneusement à cette fin – par les distilleries elles-mêmes, plutôt que de tout simplement acheter ce que leur proposent ces derniers. Ceci leur permet de déterminer à l’avance, et avec beaucoup de précision, combien d’années nécessitera la maturation idéale de tel ou tel whisky. En savoir plus

Gamme

Créée en 1999, cette gamme est consacrée aux whiskies très âgés et tout ausssi rares, dont certains ne seront plus jamais disponibles (en particulier ceux des distilleries de St Magdalene et de Port Ellen). Ce sont également, bien entendu, des single malts de la plus haute qualité, mis en bouteille dans des séries ultra-limitées, la plupart du temps à 46%, mais parfois à 43% ou 40% quand il s'agit de whiskies dont la part des anges a été particulièrement généreuse.

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur BRORA 1982

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats