Line product peaty collection
Archive AN CNOC The Peatlands

AN CNOC The Peatlands

Single Malt, Scotland / Highlands 70cl Ref: 19647

Founded in 1984, Knockdhu distillery originally produced a peaty Speyside malt. Closed in 1983, it was then bought by Inverhouse, who re-launched production in February 1989 and renamed the dis - tillery anCnoc in 1993. More smoky than peaty, this version is also extremely malty and herbaceous. The bouquet garni of aromatic herbs on the finish is a moment of pure tasting pleasure.

Limited edition of 300 bottles for France Profile: smoke takes an authoritative hold on the aromatic palette. Notes of vanilla, cocoa beans, spices (curry) and green walnut

Read more

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : vibrant golden yellow
  • Nose : Heady, firm. Smoke takes an authoritative hold on the aromatic palette. It is surrounded by its loyal bodyguards, of spice, liquorice (pepper, clove), tiger balm and camphor. Allowed to breath, its fruity and herbaceous character becomes gradually more pronounced (melon, pear, plum, courgette, cucumber).
  • Palate : Both taut and creamy. With a wonderfully pleasant, herbaceous bitterness (cut hay, artichoke heart), the attack is particularly smoky and ashy. The midpalate oscillates between notes of vanilla, cocoa beans, spices (curry) and green walnut. The malted barley shines increasingly brightly as the tasting progresses.
  • Overall : Long, soft. The finish offers a multitude of aromatic herbs (sage, tarragon, rosemary, bay leaf, etc.). Smoke leads into malted barley. Spices (star anise, turmeric) follow in its footsteps in a striding finish. The grand finale presents notes of exotic fruit (pineapple) and saffron. Retro-nasal olfaction is vanilla-like and mineral (chalk, candied liquorice). The empty glass is unctuously malty and vegetal (artichoke hear
The brand

The brand

This distillery uses a variety of casks - butts and hogsheads in Spanish oak and barrels and hogsheads in American oak - to produce a light, but complex, whisky. Both modern and classic, An Cnoc’s official bottling stands out on the one hand for its extremely distinctive packaging - see the Peter Arckle vintages, the labels and tubes of which have been created by the artist of the same name - and on the other hand for the alcohol content which is often higher than average, as well as for its numerous dated vintages. A forward-thinking whisky with deep respect for tradition!

The distillery

Built on the Knock estate in 1892, following the discovery of several sources of very pure, fresh water springs, the Knockdhu distillery continues to produce a single malt from the two original stills. In 2000, the owners of the distillery decided to change the name of their whisky, in order to avoid any confusion with another distillery in the same area, Knockando. The distillery uses a variety of casks – Spanish oak butts and hogsheads, and American oak barrels and hogsheads – to produce a light, but complex style of whisky.

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on AN CNOC The Peatlands

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Gamme peaty collection
Archive AN CNOC Peatlands

AN CNOC Peatlands

Single Malt, Ecosse / Highlands 70cl Ref: 19647

Fondée en 1894, la distillerie Knockdhu produisait à l’origine un single malt du Speyside empreint de tourbe. Fermée en 1983, elle fut rachetée par la société Inverhouse qui redémarre la production en février 1989 et la rebaptise An noc en 1993. Plus fumée que réellement tourbée, cette version se révèle avant tout profondément maltée et herbacée. Le bouquet garni de plantes aromatiques proposé par la finale est en la matière un pur moment de bonheur gustatif.

Série limitée à 300 bouteilles pour la France Profil : avec autorité, la fumée prend possession de la palette aromatique. Notes de vanille, de fève de cacao, d’épices (curry) et de noix verte.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : jaune doré soutenu.
  • Nez : capiteux, ferme. Avec autorité, la fumée prend possession de la palette aromatique. Elle est entourée par ses gardes du corps fidèles tels que : des épices, de la réglisse (poivre, girofle), du baume du tigre et du camphre. A l’aération, il laisse progressivement la possibilité à son caractère fruité et herbacé de s’exprimer pleinement (melon, poire, prune, courgette, concombre).
  • Bouche : à la fois tendue et onctueuse. Dotée d’une très agréable amertume herbacée (foin coupé, fond d’artichaut), l’attaque en bouche se révèle particulièrement fumée et cendrée. Le milieu de bouche oscille quant à lui entre des notes de vanille, de fève de cacao, d’épices (curry) et de noix verte. L’orge maltée brille par sa présence au fur et à mesure de la dégustation.
  • Finale : longue, tendre. Elle propose toute une kyrielle de plantes aromatiques (sauge, estragon, romarin, laurier etc…). La fumée a cédé la place à l’orge maltée. Des épices (badiane, curcuma) lui emboîtent le pas dans un final qui va de l’avant. Elle se termine en apothéose sur des notes exotiques (ananas) et safranées. La rétro olfaction est vanillée et minérale (craie, zan). Le verre vide est onctueusement malté et végétal (fond d’artichaut).
La marque

La marque

Utilisant une variété de fûts différents - des butts et hogshead en chêne espagnol, et des barrels et hogshead en chêne américain - le style de whisky produit est léger mais complexe. A la fois modernes et classiques, les embouteillages officiels d'An Cnoc se distinguent d'un côté par un packaging souvent très distinctif - voir les cuvées Peter Arckle, dont les étuis ont été créés par l'artiste du même nom - et de l'autre par des degrés d'alcool souvent plus élevés que la moyenne, ainsi que par de nombreuses versions millésimées. Un whisky bien ancré dans le respect de la tradition, mais qui regarde en avant !

La distillerie

Construite sur le domaine de Knock suite à la découverte de plusieurs sources d'eau très pure en 1892, la distillerie de Knockdhu continue aujourd'hui à produire son single malt à partir des 2 alambics d'origine. En 2000 les propriétaires de la distillerie ont choisi de changer le nom de leur whisky, afin d'éviter toute confusion avec celui d'une autre distillerie dans la même région, Knockando. Utilisant une variété de fûts différents - des butts et hogshead en chêne espagnol, et des barrels et hogshead en chêne américain - le style produit est léger mais complexe.

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur AN CNOC Peatlands

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats