Archive GLEN GRANT 51 ANS 1965 LMDW Cellar Book G&M

GLEN GRANT 51 ANS 1965 LMDW Cellar Book G&M 43,6%

Single Malt Whisky, Scotland / Speyside, 70cl, Ref: 53665

Like a theatre piece packed with plot twists, the three acts that mark the aromatic and gustatory palette of this venerable bottling unfold without the slightest hint of an interval. Full of inspiration and keeping us on tenterhooks right to the end, it stages a Glen Grant that is in turn sensual, exotic, medicinal, oxidative, crunchy, juicy, generous, concentrated radiant, floral, nobly spiced, heady, classic, spiritual and contemplative.

Profile: complex, the initial nose is unctuous, fruity, chocolatey and spiced. Allowed to breathe, it becomes increasingly exotic (passion fruit, persimmon), floral (lime blossom) and medicinal. The incredibly juicy attack is also slightly acidic. It gradually moves into notes of dessert (buttered toast) and vanilla. The finish is honeyed, nobly spiced (saffron) and balsamic. Notes of incense add a spiritual touch.

Single Cask no. – First Fill Sherry Butt

Limited edition of 19 bottles

Exclusive to LMDW

Read more

See more products from GLEN GRANT

See all products: Gordon & MacPhail

Definitely unavailable

€1,690.00
€1,690.00
  • Free delivery

    on this product

  • Protected package

    ultra-resistant packaging

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- from €130 in France
- from €250 in Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Britain
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : mahogany with bronze hues.
  • Nose : rich, complex. The initial nose expresses sensual notes of walnut husk, emery paper, blackcurrant, dark chocolate, fresh fig and curry. Full of exoticism (persimmon, passion fruit, banana), it develops into roasted (coffee, tobacco), floral (lime blossom, tuberose), liquorice and medicinal (camphor, benzoin resin) notes. Increasingly oxidative, it returns to the aromas of strawberry jam, cherries in brandy straight from the jar and crème brûlée.
  • Palate : generous, fresh. The attack is like biting into cherries in brandy. A deliciously tangy juice escapes, as their skins smoothly envelop the palate. Far from being finished, the mid-palate evokes strawberry jam toasts that burst with flavour. The radiant end of the palate is full of vanilla, floral and vegetal (absinthe) notes.
  • Overall : soft, silky. The finish has lots of bite, releasing an abundance of sublime honeys (lime blossom, pine, heather), noble spices (saffron), dried fruit (fig, date) and even heady florals (geranium). The retro-nasal olfaction wavers between exoticism (plantain), balsamic freshness (sherry vinegar, Vosges bonbons) and classicism (malted barley). With huge spirituality (incense, old rose), the empty glass is an invitation to meditate and reflect on the passing time.
The brand
lazyload

The brand

Founded in 1840, Glen Grant for a long time remained the property of the Chivas Brothers group (Pernod Ricard), before winding up in the hands of the Campari group in 2005. Mainly matured in ex-bourbon casks and bottled as a five and ten year old, Glen Grant is a little known single malt, considering the production capacity of its distillery. Producing almost six million litres of pure spirit every year, Glen Grant has the fourth highest capacity in Scotland after Roseisle, Glenfiddich and Macallan. It’s known best amongst single malt amateurs for its first-fill sherry casks released by the independent bottler Gordon & MacPhail.

lazyload

Merchant

This independent bottler is without a doubt one of the most highly acclaimed in Scotland. It stands out, not for its age (though it is the oldest independent bottler in Scotland), but for its complete mastery of cask ageing. Gordon & MacPhail is the only bottler to have its own casks - carefully chosen for the purpose - filled by the distilleries themselves, instead of simply buying the ones suggested to them by the latter. This allows it to determine, in advance and with great precision, exactly how many years a whisky will need to reach ideal maturation.

The line

The Book of Kells is a range by Scottish whisky specialists Gordon & MacPhail, which brings together its best whiskies and, since the 1970s, has generally been reserved for exclusive bottlings for a few long-standing customers, such as LMDW. The label of each bottle features a reproduction of an illumination from the famous 8th century manuscript, the Book of Kells. The illumination shows two people, ‘the Dram Takers”, sharing a glass. Hence the reason why the range is often referred to as the Dram Takers.

Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Archive GLEN GRANT 51 ANS 1965 LMDW Cellar Book G&M

GLEN GRANT 51 ANS 1965 LMDW Cellar Book G&M 43,6%

Single Malt Whisky, Ecosse / Speyside, 70cl, Ref: 53665

À la manière d’une pièce de théâtre aux multiples rebondissements, les trois séquences qui rythment la palette aromatique et gustative de cette vénérable version enchatonnent sans relâche. Pleine d’inspiration et tenant en haleine le dégustateur jusqu’à la dernière réplique, elle met en scène un Glen Grant tour à tour sensuel, exotique, médicinal, oxydatif, croquant, juteux, gourmand, concentré, resplendissant, fleuri, noblement épicé, capiteux, classique, spirituel et contemplatif.

Profil : complexe, le premier nez est onctueux, fruité, chocolaté et épicé. À l’aération, il devient de plus en plus exotique (passion, kaki), floral (tilleul) et médicinal. Juteuse à souhait, l’attaque en bouche est légèrement acidulée. Au fur et à mesure, elle devient gourmande (tartine) et vanillée. La finale est miellée, noblement épicée (safran) et balsamique. Des notes d’encens ajoutent une touche spirituelle.

Single Cask n° – First Fill Sherry Butt

Série limitée à 19 bouteilles

Une exclusivité LMDW

Lire plus

Plus d'articles de GLEN GRANT

Tous les articles : Gordon & MacPhail

Rupture définitive

1 690,00 €
1 690,00 €
  • Livraison offerte

    sur ce produit

  • Colis protégé

    emballage ultra-résistant

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 130 € en France métropolitaine
- dès 250 € vers l'Allemagne, la Belgique, Pays-Bas, le Luxembourg, l'Espagne, l'Italie et la Grande-Bretagne
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : acajou à reflets bronze.
  • Nez : riche, complexe. Le premier nez propose de sensuelles notes de brou de noix, de toile émeri, de cassis, de chocolat noir, de figues fraîches et de curry. Plein d’exotisme (kaki, passion, banane), il évolue vers un registre torréfié (café, tabac), floral (tilleul, tubéreuse), réglissé et médicinal (camphre, benjoin). De plus en plus oxydatif, il restitue des parfums de confiture de fraise, de cerises à l’eau-de- vie à peine sorties de leur bocal et de crème brûlée.
  • Bouche : fraîche, gourmande. L’attaque en bouche nous fait littéralement croquer dans les cerises à l’eau de vie. Un jus délicieusement acidulé s’en échappe tandis que leurs peaux enrobent avec suavité le palais. Loin d’être rassasié, le milieu de bouche évoque une tartine beurrée sur laquelle on étale une confiture de fraise d’une incroyable concentration. Resplendissante, la fin de bouche est vanillée, fleurie et végétale (absinthe).
  • Finale : duveteuse, soyeuse. Elle possède beaucoup de mâche et dispense à profusion des miels sublimes (tilleul, sapin, bruyère), des épices nobles (safran), des fruits secs (figue, datte) ou encore des fleurs capiteuses (géranium). La rétro olfaction oscille entre exotisme (banane plantain), fraîcheur balsamique (vinaigre de xérès, bonbon des Vosges) et classicisme (orge maltée). D’une grande spiritualité (encens, rose ancienne), le verre vide invite à la méditation et à la réflexion sur le temps qui passe.
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Fondée en 1840 Glen Grant est longtemps restée la propriété du groupe Chivas Brothers (Pernod Ricard) avant de tomber en 2005 dans l’escarcelle du groupe Campari. Principalement élevé en fûts de bourbon et mis en bouteille en tant que 5 ans ou 10 ans, Glen Grant est un single malt méconnu au regard de la capacité de production de sa distillerie. Avec prés de 6 millions de litres d’alcool pur par ans, Glen Grant se place en quatrième position après Roseisle, Glenfiddich et Macallan. Elle est surtout connue auprès des amateurs de single malts pour ses versions élevées en fûts de sherry de premier remplissage du négociant Gordon & MacPhail.

lazyload

Négociant

Fondée en 1895, Gordon & MacPhail est sans aucun doute l'un des embouteilleurs indépendants les plus réputés d'Ecosse. Ce qui le distingue des autres, ce n’est ni son âge, ni son emplacement privilégié au cœur du Speyside, mais sa maîtrise totale de la maturation. Seul éleveur-embouteilleur à faire remplir, au sein même des distilleries, ses propres fûts soigneusement sélectionnés, Gordon & MacPhail poursuit depuis plus de 120 ans sa recherche de l'excellence dans l'art de vieillir le whisky. 


lazyload

Gamme

Book of Kells est une gamme du négociant écossais Gordon & MacPhail regroupant ses meilleurs whiskies et, depuis les années 70, réservée généralement aux embouteillages exclusifs de quelques grands clients historiques, LMDW par exemple. La reproduction d'une enluminure figurant dans le célèbre Livre de Kells ("Book of Kells" en anglais), un manuscrit qui date de la fin du 8ème siècle, orne l’étiquette de chaque bouteille de deux personnages qui partagent un verre. Ces derniers sont également surnommés les "Dram Takers" ("Buveurs d'un Verre"). C'est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que l’on appelle souvent cette gamme "Dram Takers".

Haut de page

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats