Tequila, with sotol and mezcal, is a member of the Mexican family of agave-based spirits. Granted protected designation of origin in 1977, which limits its production to five Mexican states, Tequila, unlike mezcal and sotol, is only made from one type of agave, the famous blue agave (or agave tequilana F.A.C. Weber). Originally tequila was a colourless spirit that was consumed without ageing, but it also exists in aged versions, which were developed in the 1980s to compete with the influx of foreign barrel-aged ‘brown spirits’. These versions have come to be much appreciated by connoisseurs.

32 Items

Grid List

Set Ascending Direction
  1. 1
  2. 2