STRATHISLA 16 YO 1973

Speyside Single Malt – 62.3%, 75cl

An oh-so rare version distilled in 1973 and bottled in 1989 by the independent bottler Gordon & MacPhail for the Italian importer Sestante. The incredible 62.3% ABV pays tribute to a period in the history of scotch whisky in which new make spirits were sometimes casked at the degree at which they left the still without the addition of water. Add to this an uncompromising maturation and you will find an unbridled, uncontrollable Strathisla, more Mr Hyde than Dr Jekyll.

Colour: amber with coppery glints

Description

lively, opulent, deeply generous. The nose’s intense fruit evokes the colour crimson. But this first nose is just a ploy and instead of plunging us into the scorching heat of August, it reveals a muted and downy atmosphere, like an early winter’s morning. Blood orange, red grape, Morello cherry and Agen prune appear in juice form. With all this red, it’s clear that Father Christmas is on his way. Rich patisserie notes of Breton cake or marzipan punctua- ted by bourbon vanilla and caramel make this bottling completely irresistible. The nose is infinitely inviting! And, whilst it evokes oak in its most tender form, make no mistake, we are truly in the heart of winter – with incredibly delicate minerality as proof. An unequivocal style, the very signature of “old-style” sherry casks, is confirmed by the omnipresence of a sulphur note which, like a strong tether, gives the nose bite and flair.

such sweetness and vivacity! Oily and silky, it is generous and elegant all at once. An ode to oak: Brassens and La Fontaine, make no mistake. This rich and cheerful character is nonetheless quickly challenged by star anise and fennel. A swell of black liquorice, zan liquorice sweets and cutch sweep away the initial roundness. Oak struggles to temper an exacerbated mineral tem- perament without giving in to excess or bitterness, with the aim of re-establishing a semblance of balance. Yin and yang, Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde. Finally, leather arrives in a climax and seems to work in harmony with the other elements.

sombre, dark, the colour of anthracite. For a short time the finish finds refuge in a church, or perhaps a cave. It wanders at night through the undergrowth along a wet and tarry path to finally catch a glimpse of the first signs of civilization, with its scents of peat smoke and cold embers. A path undoubtedly trodden by An- derson and the Grimm brothers before it. Long after, it becomes more forthcoming and makes a subtle reference to the initial red fruit.

Buy now

STRATHISLA 16 ans 1973

Speyside Single Malt – 62.3%, 75cl

Une version ô combien rare, distillée en 1973 et mise en bouteille en 1989 par le négociant Gordon & MacPhail pour l’importateur italien Sestante. À noter, le spectaculaire degré d’alcool, 62,3%, témoin d’une période de l’histoire du whisky écossais où les new spirits pouvaient être mis en barrique au degré de sortie d’alambic, sans aucune dilution préalable. Ajoutez à cela une maturation sans compromis et vous obtiendrez un Strathisla débridé et incontrô- lable, plutôt Mr Hyde que Docteur Jekyll.

Couleur : ambre à reflets or

UGS : 107 Catégories : , , , , ,

Description

vif, opulent, foncièrement généreux. Son fruité intense évoque la couleur rouge carmin. Mais ce premier nez est un leurre et plutôt que de nous faire replonger dans la chaleur écrasante d’un mois d’août, il exprime une atmosphère feutrée et cotonneuse, à l’image d’un petit matin d’hiver. L’orange sanguine, le raisin rouge, la griotte et le pruneau d’Agen sont en jus. Avec tout ce rouge, c’est certain, Santa n’est plus très loin. Des notes pâtissières et gourmandes de pavé Breton ou de pâte d’amande ponctuées de vanille bourbon et de caramel le rendent irrésistible. Ce nez est véritablement à cro- quer ! Et s’il évoque le chêne dans tout ce qu’il y a de plus tendre, il ne faut pas s’y méprendre, nous sommes bel et bien en hiver : pour preuve, cette minéralité à fleur de peau. Un style sans équivoque, la signature même des maturations en fûts de sherry « à l’ancienne » que vient confirmer l’omniprésence d’une note soufrée qui, tel un carcan, donne à ce nez de la tenue et du chien.

quelle douceur, quelle vivacité ! Grasse et soyeuse, elle se révèle généreuse et élégante à la fois. Une ode au chêne : Brassens et La Fontaine ne s’y tromperaient pas. Son caractère gourmand et enjoué est pourtant rapidement mis à mal par l’anis étoilée et le fenouil. Une déferlante de réglisse noire, de zan et de cachou balaye cette rondeur initiale. Un tempérament minéral exa- cerbé que vient difficilement tempérer le chêne, qui, sans jamais se laisser aller à l’excès ni à l’amertume, tente de rétablir un cer- tain équilibre. Le yin et le yang, Docteur Jekyll et Mr Hyde. Le cuir, finalement, se pose en point d’orgue et semble faire consensus.

sombre, ténébreuse, sa couleur est l’anthracite. Un court instant, elle vient trouver refuge au sein d’une église, à moins que ce ne soit une cave. Elle ère à la nuit tombée dans un sous-bois, puis retrouve son chemin sur une route humide et goudronnée pour enfin entrevoir les premiers signes de la civilisation avec ses parfums de feu de tourbe et de cendres froides. Les frères Grimm et Andersen sont passés par là. Longtemps après, elle devient plus avenante et fait un furtif clin d’œil au fruit rouge initial.

Acheter