ROYAL BRACKLA 11 YO 2008

Highland Single Malt – 46%, 70cl
Single Cask #305112 – First Fill Bourbon Barrel
Limited Edition of 170 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

After being rebuilt in 1897 and fully renovated between 1964 and 1966, the same period in which its malting floors were closed, Royal Brackla doubled its production capacity in 1970. After then being mothballed between 1985 and 1991, it once again underwent major renovation in 1997. Superbly malty, floral and fruity – to name just a few of its many charming attributes – this bottling wonderfully reproduces the sunny and radiant style of this niche single malt. Even better, it immediately takes us to the heart of the lush countryside surrounding the distillery.

Colour: pale gold.

Description

refined, ethereal. Moving from white florals (lily of the valley, lilac) to vanilla notes, and from fresh fruit (pear, apple) to herbaceous sequences (cut hay, lucerne), the first nose is remarkably refreshing. Revealing gentle liquorice and spice (pepper), it becomes increasingly medicinal (ointment) once allowed to breathe. Malted barley then gradually takes the reins with resplendent honey (acacia), vegetal (verbena) and herbal (green tea) tones. Spectacular!

clean, sharp. Continuing the tasting with the same syrupy and herbaceous notes found on the nose, the attack is mature and serene. Next, nuts (almond, walnut) and coconut milk bring lots of consistency and juiciness to the mid-palate. The incredibly lush end of the palate takes us across countryside fields to breathe in harvest-time aromas (straw, cut grass). A handful of citrus fruits (lemon, grapefruit) also appear to titillate the taste buds.

long, balanced. The aquatic and floral start of the finish reveals notes of water lily and yellow iris bloom as grains of salt fill the palate. The sweet bitterness of malted barley, courgette flower and Calisson d’Aix then literally transcend the very end of the palate. The retro-nasal olfaction is a real sweet treat, inviting us to bite into very ripe fruits (pear, peach). The empty glass is warm, sunny and spicy (ginger, cinnamon).

Buy now

ROYAL BRACKLA 11 ANS 2008

Highland Single Malt – 46%, 70cl
Single Cask #305112 – First Fill Bourbon Barrel
Edition limitée à 170 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Reconstruite en 1897 puis entièrement rénovée entre 1964 et 1966, date à laquelle ses aires de maltage furent fermées, Royal Brackla doubla sa capacité de production en 1970. Mise en sommeil entre 1985 et 1991, elle a de nouveau fait l’objet d’importants travaux de rénovation en 1997. Superbement maltée, fleurie et fruitée, entre autres charmes, cette version restitue à merveille le style épanoui et solaire de ce single malt confidentiel. Mieux, elle nous transporte dès les premiers instants en plein cœur des paysages verdoyants qui entourent la distillerie.

Couleur : or pâle.

Description

fin, aérien. De fleurs blanches (muguet, lilas) en notes vanillées, de fruits frais (poire, pomme) en séquences herbacées (foin coupé, luzerne), le premier nez est remarquable de fraîcheur. Tendrement réglissé et épicé (poivre), à l’aération, il devient de plus en plus médicinal (baume). Puis, au fur et à mesure, l’orge maltée prend l’ascendant et resplendit de tonalités miellées (acacia), végétales (verveine) et infusées (thé vert). Superbe.

nette, tranchante. Reprenant le fil de la dégustation sur les mêmes notes liquoreuses et herbacées, l’attaque en bouche fait preuve de maturité et de sérénité. Puis, des fruits secs (amande, noix) et du lait de coco procurent beaucoup de consistance et de jus au milieu de bouche. Remarquablement verdoyante, la fin de bouche nous amène à travers champs respirer des parfums de moisson (paille, herbe coupée). Quelques agrumes (citron, pamplemousse) viennent également titiller les papilles.

longue, équilibrée. Aquatique et florale, l’entame de la finale révèle des notes de fleurs de nénuphar et d’iris d’eau tandis que simultanément, quelques grains de sel recouvrent le palais. Dans un second temps, la douce amertume de l’orge maltée, des fleurs de courgette ainsi que des calissons d’Aix transcendent littéralement la toute fin de bouche. Véritable gourmandise, la rétro-olfaction nous invite à croquer à pleine dents des fruits très mûrs (poire, pêche). Le verre vide est à la fois chaleureux, ensoleillé et épicé (gingembre, cannelle).

Acheter