GUYANA 16 YO 2003 Diamond Rum

Traditional Rum – 47.7%, 70cl
Single Cask #63 – Bourbon Barrel
Limited Edition of 237 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

On 26 May 1966, British Guiana gained its independence as part of the Commonwealth under the name Guyana. In 1975, for political reasons, all of the Demerara region’s distilleries were grouped together in a single production unit known as Diamond. It produces both very light rums and heavy pot still rums. With no fear of breaking from convention, this version boasts a remarkably well-balanced collection of flavours, and at times ventures far outside the boundaries of its native land, even evoking a single malt produced by a now-closed distillery in the south of Scotland.

Colour: straw yellow.

Description

powerful yet unctuous. Very interesting and unexpected notes of pineapple and acacia honey begin by punctuating the very seductive first nose. Allowed to breathe, it becomes spicy and medicinal (camphor, cinnamon, ointment, grey pepper). Delicately herbaceous (lichen, sugar cane), it then lingers with notes of sweet almond. Gradually, rubber breaks through to the surface of the aromatic palette.

original, beautifully sculpted. The attack is first rich (flan, vanilla pod) before becoming fruity (lemon, candied pear). On the mid-palate, coconut milk and cane sugar roll their syrupy flavours across a bed of straw. Next, confidently taking the reins, liquorice, orange zest and salted butter caramel bring lots of length to the end of the palate.

long, silky. Lots of citrus fruits (lemon, grapefruit, orange) bring rhythm and energy to the start of the finish. With a handful of herbaceous, fruity and medicinal notes, it evokes a Lowland single malt. Little by little, dried banana and bourbon vanilla bring us to rum territory. The retro-nasal olfaction wavers between candied citrus fruit and exotic fruit (mango, pineapple). The empty glass hesitates between malted barley and cane sugar.

Buy now

GUYANA 16 ans 2003 Diamond Rum

Rhum Traditionnel – 47.7%, 70cl
Single Cask #63 – Bourbon Barrel
Edition limitée à 237 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Le 26 mai 1966, la Guyane Britannique est devenue indépendante dans le cadre du Commonwealth sous le nom de Guyana. En 1975, pour des raisons politiques, toutes les distilleries de la région du Demerara furent regroupées en une seule unité de production : Diamond. Celle-ci élabore aussi bien des very light rums que des heavy pot still rums. N’hésitant pas à bousculer les conventions, cette version remarquablement équilibrée sur le plan gustatif s’aventure par instants bien loin de sa terre natale au point d’évoquer un single malt élaboré par une distillerie fermée du Sud de l’Ecosse.

Couleur : jaune paille.

Description

à la fois puissant et onctueux. Tout d’abord, de très intéressantes et inattendues notes d’ananas et de miel d’acacia jalonnent un premier nez particulièrement séducteur. A l’aération, il devient épicé/médicinal (camphre, cannelle, baume, poivre gris). Finement herbacé (lichen, canne à sucre), il se prolonge ensuite sur des notes d’amande douce. Progressivement, du caoutchouc fait irruption à la surface de la palette aromatique.

originale, très joliment dessinée. Dans un premier temps, l’attaque en bouche est gourmande (flan, gousses de vanille) avant de devenir fruitée (citron, poire confite). En milieu de bouche du lait de coco et du sucre de canne déroulent leurs saveurs liquoreuses sur un lit de paille. Puis, prenant un relais appuyé, de la réglisse, des zestes d’oranges et du caramel au beurre salé procurent beaucoup de longueur à la fin de bouche.

longue, soyeuse. De nombreux agrumes (citron, pamplemousse, orange) apportent du rythme et du dynamisme à l’entame de la finale. Par certaines notes herbacées, fruitées et médicinales, elle évoque un single malt de la région des Lowlands. Peu à peu, des bananes séchées et de la vanille-bourbon nous ramène en territoire « rhumesque ». La rétro-olfaction oscille entre les agrumes confits et les fruits exotiques (mangue, ananas). Le verre vide hésite entre orge maltée et sucre de canne.

Acheter