GLENBURGIE 12 YO 2007

Speyside Single Malt – 63.6%, 70cl
Single Cask #900077 – First Fill Sherry Butt
Limited Edition of 595 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

In 1927 Glenburgie was the first Scottish distillery to be run by a woman, Margaret Nicol, who stayed at the helm until 1959. An unusual feature of Glenburgie are its wash stills, which are surprisingly smaller than the spirit stills, with a respective capacity of 11,750 litres and 15,000 litres. When you taste this version for the first time, the emotion it inspires is literally palpable! Making discretion a virtue, tasters are given the pleasure of adventuring with complete freedom through a luxurious universe where time stands still. It is quite natural then that this timeless version has joined our 20 Rue d’Anjou Collection.

Colour: burnished gold with copper tinges.

Description

subtle, complex. With incredible elegance, the first nose is at once honeyed (heather, beeswax), marvellously malty, medicinal (camphor), fruity (apricot), exotic (mango) and spicy (black peppercorn). Allowed to breathe, the wood takes on a rare nobility (lime blossom, pine). Next, heady florals (iris, lily) and new fruits (pear, caramelized apple) arrive to enrich an aromatic palette that has many more secrets to reveal.

lively, vigorous. Singing from the same hymn sheet, the palate shares with the nose the same stately character and the same desire to reveal its secrets slowly. Gradually, juicy oranges spread their tangy juice across the palate. Next, salted butter caramel, fresh walnut and grated ginger invade the slender and very ethereal mid-palate. The end of the palate develops a more tertiary (moss, mushroom) and chocolate register.

long, silky. Thin skin tannins (grape) delicately contract the taste buds. This allows full expression of candied ginger, crème brûlée and stewed apple notes. On the retro-nasal olfaction, malted barley makes a thunderous return, perfectly integrating the labyrinth-like flavour palette. Rich in dried extracts, the empty glass invites us to briskly leave on another adventure to discover new flavours and aromas.

Acheter

GLENBURGIE 12 ANS 2007

Speyside Single Malt – 63.6%, 70cl
Single Cask #900077 – First Fill Sherry Butt
Edition limitée à 595 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

En 1927, Glenburgie fut la première distillerie écossaise à être dirigée par une femme, Margaret Nicol et ce jusqu’en 1959. L’une des particularités de Glenburgie concerne ses alambics de première distillation (wash stills) qui sont étonnamment plus petits que ceux de seconde distillation (spirit stills), respectivement 11 750 litres et 15 000 litres. Lorsque l’on déguste pour la première fois cette version, l’émotion qu’elle suscite est palpable. Érigeant la discrétion au rang de vertu, elle laisse au dégustateur le plaisir de s’aventurer en toute liberté dans un univers luxuriant à l’intérieur duquel le temps a suspendu son vol. Intemporelle, elle a naturellement intégré notre Collection « 20 rue d’Anjou ».

Couleur : vieil or à reflets cuivrés

Description

subtil, complexe. D’une très grande élégance, le premier nez est à la fois miellé (bruyère, cire d’abeille), merveilleusement malté, médicinal (camphre), fruité (abricot), exotique (mangue) et épicé (poivre noir). A l’aération, son boisé prend une dimension d’une rare noblesse (tilleul, pin). Puis, des fleurs capiteuses (iris, lys) et de nouveaux fruits (poire, pomme caramélisée) viennent enrichir une palette aromatique qui est très loin d’avoir livré tous ses secrets.

vive, nerveuse. Au diapason, l’attaque en bouche partage avec le nez le même caractère altier et le même désir de ne pas se livrer immédiatement. Progressivement, des oranges juteuses répandent leur jus acidulé tout autour du palais. Puis, du caramel au beurre salé, des noix fraîches et du gingembre râpé investissent un milieu de bouche longiligne et très aérien. L’arrière-bouche évolue vers un registre plus tertiaire (mousse, champignons) et chocolaté.

longue, duveteuse. De fins tannins de peau (raisin) resserrent avec délicatesse les papilles. Cela permet à des notes de gingembre confit, de crème brûlée et de pommes cuites de s’exprimer pleinement. En rétro-olfaction, l’orge maltée effectue un retour fracassant tout en s’intégrant parfaitement dans l’écheveau de la palette gustative. Riche en extraits secs, le verre vide nous invite à repartir d’un pas alerte à la découverte de nouveaux parfums et de nouvelles saveurs.

Acheter