CHRISTIAN DROUIN Tokay 2000 Pays d’Auge

Calvados – 50%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 60 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

It was in 1979, when stocks were deemed sufficiently large, that the first Christian Drouin Calvados were released for sale. In 1990, the distillery’s activities were transferred to a stud farm in Coudray-Rabut which eventually became the Coeur de Lion estate. Aged in ex-Tokay casks, this truly remarkable version has, over almost 20 years, patiently accumulated all of the flavours and aromas of this highly prized Hungarian sweet wine in order to further assert its eternally hopeful Normand identity. Thus, from start to finish, apple sets the pace of the tasting!

Colour: topaz with subtle amber glints.

Description

refined, smooth. On the first nose, a refined honey liqueur underscoring the Tokay’s influence and notes of juicy apple are separated by a path peppered with mustard grain and aromas of aged cider. Allowed to breathe, florals (gillyflower, camelia), precious wood and white mint accentuate the heady character. Next, spices (ginger, cinnamon), vanilla and coffee bring lots of harmony and tone to the aromatic palette.

full-bodied, concentrated. At once herbaceous (moss), resinous (pine) and medicinal (cough sweets), the attack reveals freshly cut slices of apple. On the mid-palate, nuts (walnut, almond) rival notes of flowering geranium and lime blossom in intensity. With time, cocoa powder, bourbon vanilla and delicious apple jelly flavours are allowed complete freedom of expression on the extremely generous (apple turnover) end of the palate.

long, silky. With a freshness that evokes abundant notes of sweet pastry (Normandy apple tart, clafoutis), the start of the finish also reveals mint tea flavours. Soon after, the Tokay once again leaves its mark on the silky and lightly tannic end of the palate. The very sunny retro-nasal olfaction reveals notes of gentian root, ginger and candied apple. The empty glass is vegetal (pipe tobacco), heady (iris butter) and praline.

Buy now

CHRISTIAN DROUIN Tokay 2000 Pays d’Auge

Calvados – 50%, 70cl
Edition limitée à 60 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

C’est en 1979, une fois les stocks jugés suffisamment importants, que les Calvados de la Maison Christian Drouin furent commercialisés pour la première fois. En 1990, les activités de la distillerie ont été transférées dans un haras situé à Coudray- Rabut qui deviendra par la suite le Domaine Cœur de Lion. Vieillie en fût ayant contenu un vin de Tokay, cette version absolument remarquable a pendant près de vingt ans patiemment emmagasiné tous les parfums et toutes les saveurs de ce vin liquoreux hongrois extrêmement réputé pour mieux revendiquer une identité normande chevillée au corps. Ainsi, présente de bout en bout, la pomme rythme le cours de la dégustation !

Couleur : topaze à reflets légèrement ambrés.

Description

fin, onctueux. Au premier nez, une fine liqueur miellée qui souligne l’influence du vin de Tokay ainsi que des notes de pomme juteuses sont séparées par un chemin parsemé de graines de moutarde et de parfums de cidre vieux. À l’aération, des arômes de fleurs (giroflée, camélia), de bois précieux et de menthe blanche accentuent son caractère capiteux. Puis, des épices (gingembre, cannelle), de la vanille et du café procurent beaucoup d’harmonie et de vivacité à la palette aromatique.

ample, concentrée. À la fois herbacée (mousse), résineuse (pin) et médicinale (bonbon pour la toux), l’attaque en bouche met en scène des quartiers de pomme venant tout juste d’être coupés. En milieu de bouche, des fruits secs (noix, amande) rivalisent d’intensité avec des notes de géranium en fleurs et de tilleul. Avec le temps, de la poudre de cacao, de la vanille-bourbon et des saveurs délicieuses de gelée de pomme font régner un vent de liberté à une fin de bouche extrêmement friande (chausson aux pommes).

longue, soyeuse. À son tour très pâtissière (tarte normande, clafoutis) par sa fraîcheur, l’entame de la finale évoque également un thé à la menthe. Peu après, le vin de Tokay marque à nouveau de son empreinte une arrière-bouche duveteuse et délicatement tannique. Très solaire, la rétro-olfaction révèle des notes de racine de gentiane, de gingembre et de pommes confites. Le verre vide est végétal (tabac à pipe), capiteux (concrète d’iris) et praliné.

Acheter