CARONI GUYANA 23 YO 1996 Tasting Gang

Traditional Rum – 63.5%, 70cl
Limited Edition of 4670 bottles
LMDW Exclusive

Composed of “light” and “heavy” rums, this version selected in Cognac on 12 April 2019 by 23 Caroni experts is a blend of 22 casks. It was aged until 2008 on the archipelago of Trinidad and Tobago, before continuing its maturation in Guyana between 2008 and 2019. During these 23 years, the angel’s share reached 85%. Finding perfect balance between its light and heavy rums, this Caroni reveals a palette of flavours and aromas rich in fruity, floral nuances, as well as the very unique and instantly recognizable style typical of this iconic rum.

Colour: burnished gold with copper tinges.

Description

rich, complex. From orange zest to diesel, dried fig to cashew nut, heady florals (lily, tuberose) to exotic fruits (mango, guava, persimmon) and notes of tarmac and flambéed banana, the initial nose boasts incredible depth. Allowed to breathe, cane sugar, molasses and maple syrup spread across the aromatic palette. From this point on, the medicinal character (camphor, iodine tincture) becomes continually more powerful.

unctuous and concentrated. The very beautifully vegetal (sugar cane, straw, bulrush) attack faithfully reproduces the hydrocarbon notes for which Caroni is so renowned. The very aromatic (gladiolus, geranium) mid-palate is incredibly delicate. Wild peach, lime blossom honey, fresh fig and juicy oranges bring the mouthfeel lots of freshness. Dark chocolate and the flavours of a slightly sweet Havana cigar then arrive in a grande finale.

long, softly tannic. The very rich (rum baba, sweet chestnut cake) start of the finish creates a united front with the end of the palate. Characterized by notes of hydrocarbon (sleet, petrol), with time it becomes increasingly spicy (cinnamon, clove, nutmeg). Staying close to the sugar cane, the retro-nasal olfaction is earthy and saline. Revealing notes of apricot, the empty glass also brings hot tar and smoked meat.

Buy now

CARONI GUYANA 23 ans 1996 Tasting Gang

Rhum Traditionnel – 63.5%, 70cl
Edition limitée à 4670 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Composée de « light » et de « heavy » rhums, cette version sélectionnée le 12 avril 2019 à Cognac par 23 aficionados de Caroni, est le fruit de l’assemblage de 22 fûts. Elle a vieilli jusqu’en 2008 à Trinité-et-Tobago avant de poursuivre sa maturation en Guyana entre 2008 et 2019. Durant ces vingt-trois années, la part des anges a atteint 85 %. Ayant trouvé l’équilibre parfait entre les rhums lourds et les rhums légers qui le composent, ce Caroni déploie une palette aromatique et gustative riche en nuances fruitées et florales tout en restituant pleinement le style si particulier et reconnaissable entre tous de ce rhum légendaire.

Couleur : vieil or à reflets cuivrés.

Description

riche, complexe. De zestes d’oranges en notes de gasoil, de figues sèches en noix de cajou, de fleurs capiteuses (lys, tubéreuse) en fruits exotiques (mangue, goyave, kaki) et de parfums bitumés en bananes flambées, le premier nez se révèle d’une grande profondeur. A l’aération, du sucre de canne, de la mélasse et du sirop d’érable se répandent sur la palette aromatique. A partir de maintenant, son caractère médicinal (camphre, teinture d’iode) monte sans cesse en puissance.

à la fois onctueuse et concentrée. Très joliment végétale (canne à sucre, paille, jonc), l’attaque en bouche restitue d’une manière on ne peut plus authentique les notes d’hydrocarbures qui ont fait la réputation de Caroni. Très parfumé (glaïeul, géranium), le milieu de bouche est d’une grande délicatesse. Des pêches de vigne, du miel de tilleul, des figues fraîches et des oranges juteuses apportent beaucoup de fraîcheur au toucher de bouche. Puis, du chocolat noir et des saveurs de Havane légèrement sucré arrivent en point d’orgue.

longue, tendrement tannique. Très gourmande (baba au rhum, gâteau à la châtaigne), l’entame de la finale fait corps avec la fin de bouche. A son tour marquée par des notes d’hydrocarbures (grésil, essence), elle devient avec le temps de plus en plus épicée (cannelle, girofle, muscade). Proche de la canne à sucre, la rétro-olfaction est terreuse et saline. Révélant des notes d’abricot, le verre vide évoque également le goudron chaud et la viande boucanée.

Acheter