Archive CRAIGELLACHIE 18 ans 1999 American Oak LMDW Cellar Book

CRAIGELLACHIE 18 ans 1999 American Oak LMDW Cellar Book 54,1%

Single Malt Whisky, Scotland / Speyside, 70cl, Ref: 53559

Quantity limited to 3 bottle(s) by client.

Expanded in 1965, the Craigellachie distillery produces a Single Malt renowned for its power. Bottled at cask strength, this version is no exception to the rule - quite the contrary. Indeed, whether on the nose, the palate or the finish, it begins every time by expressing its no-holds-barred mineral firmness. Always following the same ritual, it then refines its expression and becomes in turn herbaceous, malty, floral, exotic and even slightly earthy. In a surprising and, to say the least, original manner, the nose is like a gin, as though pushing back the effects of time.

Profile: the firm, concentrated nose is at first fruity, floral and spicy. It then softens, becoming vegetal and vanilla. The rich palate is just as persuasive as the nose. The fruit has taken on exotic notes. The mid-palate is mentholated and liquorice. With the same power, the finish is deeply malty, floral (lavender) and fruity (Mirabelle plum). Gradually it becomes earthy and camphoric.

Single Cask no. 302656
Limited edition of 174 bottles
Exclusive to LMDW

Rated 91/100 by Serge Valentin on "whiskyfun.com"

Read more

See more products from CRAIGELLACHIE

See all products: Official Bottler

Definitely unavailable

€389.00
€389.00
  • Free delivery

    on this product

  • Protected package

    ultra-resistant packaging

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- from €130 in France
- from €250 in Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Britain
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : deep gold.
  • Nose : firm, powerful. The very concentrated initial nose is characterised by notes of dried fruit, heady florals (iris), white fruit (peach, apple) and strong spices (ginger, clove), all closely intertwined. This very dense olfactory opening lingers for a long time. Then, it moves into a simultaneously vegetal (barley, fern), vanilla and buttery register.
  • Palate : rich, full of energy. Just as persuasive as the initial nose, the attack reveals a strong personality. Initially very floral (mimosa, broom), it then develops into particularly exotic and juicy fruits (pineapple, mango). The very fresh mid-palate is mentholated and slightly camphoric. With time, smooth tannins tighten the palate. Gradually, it becomes liquoricey and delicately woody (oak).
  • Overall : long, concentrated. With just as much firmness, the finish becomes incredibly malty, like biting into barley grains straight from the malting floor. Floral perfumes (violet, lavender) and ripe fruit (Mirabelle plum, pear) add lots of nuance to the very end of the palate. It then lingers with notes of damp earth and camphor.
The brand
lazyload

The brand

Taken over by John Dewars & Sons (Bacardi) in 1998, Craigellachie has a highly exclusive following and was founded in 1891 by a very interesting character indeed: Peter Mackie. The creator of the international commercial success, the White Horse blend, Peter was one of the five Barons of the whisky industry, one of the famous “Big Five”. His uncle, from whom he would later inherit, was none other than James Logan Mackie, the owner of the Lagavulin distillery on the Isle of Islay.

Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Archive CRAIGELLACHIE 18 ans 1999 American Oak LMDW Cellar Book

CRAIGELLACHIE 18 ans 1999 American Oak LMDW Cellar Book 54,1%

Single Malt Whisky, Ecosse / Speyside, 70cl, Ref: 53559

Quantité limitée à 3 bouteille(s) par client.

Agrandie en 1965, la distillerie Craigellachie élabore un single malt réputé pour sa puissance. Embouteillée à son degré naturel, cette version n’échappe pas à la règle, bien au contraire. En effet, que ce soit au nez, en bouche ou en finale, elle commence à chaque fois par se montrer d’une fermeté minérale sans concession. Toujours selon le même rite, elle affine ensuite son propos et devient tour à tour herbacée, maltée, fleurie, exotique et même légèrement terreuse. De manière inattendue et pour le moins originale, elle évoque un gin, sur le plan olfactif, un peu comme si elle repoussait les assauts du temps.

Profil : ferme, concentré, le nez est tout d’abord fruité, floral et épicé. S’adoucissant, il devient verdoyant et vanillé. Riche, la bouche est toute aussi persuasive que le nez. Son fruité a pris des tonalités exotiques. Le milieu de bouche est mentholé et réglissé. Avec la même puissance, la finale est profondément maltée, florale (lavande) et fruitée (mirabelle). Elle devient au fur et à mesure terreuse et camphrée.

Single Cask n°302656
Edition limitée à 174 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Noté 91/100 par Serge Valentin sur "whiskyfun.com"

Lire plus

Plus d'articles de CRAIGELLACHIE

Tous les articles : Embouteilleur Officiel

Rupture définitive

389,00 €
389,00 €
  • Livraison offerte

    sur ce produit

  • Colis protégé

    emballage ultra-résistant

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 130 € en France métropolitaine
- dès 250 € vers l'Allemagne, la Belgique, Pays-Bas, le Luxembourg, l'Espagne, l'Italie et la Grande-Bretagne
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : or soutenu.
  • Nez : puissant, ferme. Très concentré, le premier nez est marqué par des notes de fruits secs, de fleurs capiteuses (iris), de fruits blancs (pêche, pomme) et d’épices fortes (gingembre, girofle) intimement liées les unes aux autres. Cette entame olfactive très dense se poursuit pendant longtemps. Puis, verdoyant (orge, fougère), il devient en même temps vanillé et beurré.
  • Bouche : riche, pleine d’allant. Toute aussi persuasive que le premier nez, l’attaque en bouche fait preuve d’une personnalité bien trempée. Tout d’abord très fleurie (mimosa, genêt), elle évolue ensuite vers un fruité particulièrement exotique et juteux (ananas, mangue). Très frais, le milieu de bouche est mentholé et même légèrement camphré. Avec le temps, de suaves tannins de peau rétrécissent le palais. Elle devient au fur et à mesure réglissée et finement boisée (chêne).
  • Finale : concentrée, longue. Avec toujours autant de fermeté, elle se révèle remarquablement maltée et procure la sensation de croquer des grains d’orge à l’intérieur même d’une aire de maltage. Des parfums floraux (violette, lavande) et des fruits mûrs (mirabelle, poire) procurent beaucoup de nuances à la toute fin de bouche. Celle-ci se prolonge sur des notes de terre légèrement humide et sur le camphre.
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Distillerie ô combien confidentielle, devenue la propriété de John Dewars & Sons (Bacardi) depuis 1998, Craigellachie fut fondée en 1891 par un personnage haut en couleur : Peter Mackie. Créateur du succès commercial international, le blend White Horse, Peter fut l’un des cinq Barons de l’industrie du whisky, l’un des fameux « Big Five ». Son oncle dont il héritera plus tard, n’est autre que James Logan Mackie, propriétaire de la distillerie Lagavulin sur l’île d’Islay.

Haut de page

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats