CARONI GUYANA 23 ans 1996 Tasting Gang 63,5%

Rhum De Melasse, British Guiana, 70cl, Ref: 56484

Quantity limited to 2 bottle(s) by client.

Composed of “light” and “heavy” rums, this version selected in Cognac on 12 April 2019 by 23 Caroni experts is a blend of 22 casks. It was aged until 2008 on the archipelago of Trinidad and Tobago, before continuing its maturation in Guyana between 2008 and 2019. During these 23 years, the angel’s share reached 85%. Finding perfect balance between its light and heavy rums, this Caroni reveals a palette of flavours and aromas rich in fruity, floral nuances, as well as the very unique and instantly recognizable style typical of this iconic rum.

the complex initial nose wavers between orange zest, diesel, dried fig and exotic fruit (mango, persimmon). Allowed to breathe, cane sugar and molasses spread across the palate before more medicinal notes appear (camphor). The concentrated attack is herbaceous (straw, bulrush) and mineral (hydrocarbon). The mouthfeel on the mid-palate is incredibly delicate. The lightly tannic finish is deliciously rich (rum baba), spicy (clove) and characterized by Caroni’s iconic notes of hydrocarbon.
An LMDW exclusive

Read more

Soon available

€350.00
€350.00

  • Free delivery

    on this product

  • Protected package

    ultra-resistant packaging

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- from €130 in France
- from €250 in Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Britain
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : burnished gold with copper tinges.
  • Nose : rich, complex. From orange zest to diesel, dried fig to cashew nut, heady florals (lily, tuberose) to exotic fruits (mango, guava, persimmon) and notes of tarmac and flambéed banana, the initial nose boasts incredible depth. Allowed to breathe, cane sugar, molasses and maple syrup spread across the aromatic palette. From this point on, the medicinal character (camphor, iodine tincture) becomes continually more powerful.
  • Palate : unctuous and concentrated. The very beautifully vegetal (sugar cane, straw, bulrush) attack faithfully reproduces the hydrocarbon notes for which Caroni is so renowned. The very aromatic (gladiolus, geranium) mid-palate is incredibly delicate. Wild peach, lime blossom honey, fresh fig and juicy oranges bring the mouthfeel lots of freshness. Dark chocolate and the flavours of a slightly sweet Havana cigar then arrive in a grande finale.
  • Overall : long, softly tannic. The very rich (rum baba, sweet chestnut cake) start of the finish creates a united front with the end of the palate. Characterized by notes of hydrocarbon (sleet, petrol), with time it becomes increasingly spicy (cinnamon, clove, nutmeg). Staying close to the sugar cane, the retro-nasal olfaction is earthy and saline. Revealing notes of apricot, the empty glass also brings hot tar and smoked meat.
The brand
lazyload

The brand

Beginning production in 1918, Caroni was the state distillery of Trinidad. It had access to its own sugar refinery that guaranteed its supply of local cane sugar. Equipped with both column stills and double distillation pot stills, until 2002 it produced “heavy rums” with an individual and noteworthy style. Only rarely producing bottlings under its own label, for a long time the distillery remained known only to a handful of connoisseurs, which gave it a mythical status further enhanced by its closure in 2002 by the Trinidad government. In 2004, the discovery of hundreds of bottles stored away in a bonded warehouse in Trinidad led to the joint purchase of the entire Caroni stock by Velier and La Maison du Whisky and to the bottling of various rare years which were then sold in limited editions and quickly gained cult status. This veritable and unique treasure lead to the production of a 12 year old Caroni. Despite its already respectable age, this completely new and historic bottling will be the last version of Caroni to be bottled so young.

lazyload

Merchant

The Velier company was founded by the Chaix family in 1947. From 1953 to 1983, this small traditional company, located in the port of Gênes, specialised in the importation and distribution of wines, champagnes and spirits. In 1983, then aged 25, Luca Gargano acquired shares in Velier. Under his influence the company began specialising in the importation of exceptional spirits to be supplied to the most prestigious establishments in Italy. In the early 1990s, Luca Gargano heard rumours of a mythical, quasi-legendary stock of St James Rum that had supposedly been distilled at the end of the 19th century. Eventually he discovered proof that this stock, distilled in 1885 and bottled in 1952, did indeed exist. And in 1991, following lengthy discussions, Luca finally managed to acquire the entirety of this stock, which he then released on the Italian market. These selections of rums have since multiplied and led to the birth of exceptional ranges.

Delivery and payment

DELIVERY IN MAINLAND FRANCE AND WORLWIDE

Truck FREE DELIVERY
on all orders from €130 and up in France Mainland
from €250 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Italy, Spain, Britain, Belgium
colissimoEXPRESS DELIVERY SERVICE

To a collection point or to your home.

PackageMETICULOUS, SECURE PACKAGING
CollectorsCOLLECTORS
SPECIAL DELIVERY

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery

PAYMENT TERMS AND GUARANTEES

TabSECURE PAYMENT

Paypal, Dalenys

bankTRANSFER PAYMENT

Bank Transfer


premium

CUSTOMER SATISFACTION
Call CUSTOMER SERVICE
tel : +339 70 83 03 60
Monday-Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday – from 10am to 7pm
See all payment methods
Back to top

5 /5

Based on 1 customer reviews

  • 1
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 3
    0
  • 4
    0
  • 5
    1
Sort reviews by:

Florian B. the 03/10/2019

5/5

Top du top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Archive CARONI GUYANA 23 ans 1996 Tasting Gang

CARONI GUYANA 23 ans 1996 Tasting Gang 63,5%

Rhum De Melasse, Guyane Britannique, 70cl, Ref: 56484

Quantité limitée à 2 bouteille(s) par client.

Composée de « light » et de « heavy » rhums, cette version sélectionnée le 12 avril 2019 à Cognac par 23 aficionados de Caroni, est le fruit de l’assemblage de 22 fûts. Elle a vieilli jusqu’en 2008 à Trinité-et-Tobago avant de poursuivre sa maturation en Guyana entre 2008 et 2019. Durant ces vingt-trois années, la part des anges a atteint 85 %. Ayant trouvé l’équilibre parfait entre les rhums lourds et les rhums légers qui le composent, ce Caroni déploie une palette aromatique et gustative riche en nuances fruitées et florales tout en restituant pleinement le style si particulier et reconnaissable entre tous de ce rhum légendaire.

complexe, le premier nez oscille entre les zestes d’oranges, le gasoil, les figues sèches et les fruits exotiques (mangue, kaki). A l’aération, du sucre de canne et de la mélasse se répandent sur le palais avant qu’il ne devienne médicinal (camphre). Concentrée, l’attaque en bouche est herbacée (paille, jonc) et minérale (hydrocarbures). Le milieu de bouche possède un toucher d’une grande délicatesse. Finement tannique, la finale est délicieusement gourmande (baba au rhum), épicée (girofle) et à son tour marquée par des notes d’hydrocarbures qui ont fait la réputation de Caroni.
Rhum Traditionnel – 63.5 %, 70 cl
Une exclusivité LMDW

Lire plus

Bientôt disponible

350,00 €
350,00 €

  • Livraison offerte

    sur ce produit

  • Colis protégé

    emballage ultra-résistant

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 130 € en France métropolitaine
- dès 250 € vers l'Allemagne, la Belgique, Pays-Bas, le Luxembourg, l'Espagne, l'Italie et la Grande-Bretagne
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : vieil or à reflets cuivrés.
  • Nez : riche, complexe. De zestes d’oranges en notes de gasoil, de figues sèches en noix de cajou, de fleurs capiteuses (lys, tubéreuse) en fruits exotiques (mangue, goyave, kaki) et de parfums bitumés en bananes flambées, le premier nez se révèle d’une grande profondeur. A l’aération, du sucre de canne, de la mélasse et du sirop d’érable se répandent sur la palette aromatique. A partir de maintenant, son caractère médicinal (camphre, teinture d’iode) monte sans cesse en puissance.
  • Bouche : à la fois onctueuse et concentrée. Très joliment végétale (canne à sucre, paille, jonc), l’attaque en bouche restitue d’une manière on ne peut plus authentique les notes d’hydrocarbures qui ont fait la réputation de Caroni. Très parfumé (glaïeul, géranium), le milieu de bouche est d’une grande délicatesse. Des pêches de vigne, du miel de tilleul, des figues fraîches et des oranges juteuses apportent beaucoup de fraîcheur au toucher de bouche. Puis, du chocolat noir et des saveurs de Havane légèrement sucré arrivent en point d’orgue.
  • Finale : longue, tendrement tannique. Très gourmande (baba au rhum, gâteau à la châtaigne), l’entame de la finale fait corps avec la fin de bouche. A son tour marquée par des notes d’hydrocarbures (grésil, essence), elle devient avec le temps de plus en plus épicée (cannelle, girofle, muscade). Proche de la canne à sucre, la rétro-olfaction est terreuse et saline. Révélant des notes d’abricot, le verre vide évoque également le goudron chaud et la viande boucanée.
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Entrée en activité en 1918, Caroni était la distillerie d'état de Trinidad, disposant de sa propre sucrerie pour assurer son approvisionnement en canne à sucre locale. Équipée aussi bien d'alambics à colonnes que d'alambics à repasse, elle a élaboré jusqu'en 2002 des "heavy rums" au style remarquable et singulier. Ne produisant que rarement des embouteillages sous sa propre étiquette, la distillerie est longtemps restée l'apanage de quelques connaisseurs, lui conférant un statut mythique que sa fermeture, décidée par le gouvernement trinidadien en 2002, n'a fait qu'accentuer. En 2004, la découverte de centaines de barriques entreposées à Trinidad a donné lieu au rachat conjoint par les sociétés Velier et La Maison du Whisky de la totalité du stock de Caroni et à la mise en bouteille de quelques millésimes rares, proposés en édition limitée et devenus cultes. La richesse de ce véritable trésor, unique en son genre, permet le lancement de Caroni 12 ans, une version inédite et historique, qui malgré son âge déjà respectable, sera la dernière expression de Caroni à être embouteillée aussi jeune.

lazyload

Négociant

C’est en 1947 que la société Velier est fondée par la famille Chaix. De 1953 à 1983, cette petite société traditionnelle située dans le port de Gênes se spécialise dans l’importation et la distribution de vins, de champagnes et de spiritueux. En 1983, alors âgé de 25 ans, Luca Gargano acquiert des parts de Velier. Sous son impulsion, la société se spécialise dans l’importation de spiritueux d’exception afin d’approvisionner les plus prestigieux établissements italiens. Au début des années 90, Luca Gargano entend parler d’un stock mythique, quasi légendaire, de rhum St James qui aurait été distillé à la fin du 19e siècle. Une rencontre lui permet d’obtenir la preuve de l’existence de ce stock qui fut distillé en 1885 et embouteillé en 1952. En 1991, Luca obtient, au terme de longues discussions, l’intégralité de ce stock qu’il commercialise sur le marché italien. Depuis, ses sélections de rhums se sont multipliées pour donner naissance à des gammes exceptionnelles.

Haut de page
Voir l'attestation de confiance
  • Pour plus d'informations sur les caractéristiques du contrôle des avis et la possibilité de contacter l'auteur de l'avis, merci de consulter nos CGU.
  • Aucune contrepartie n'a été fournie en échange des avis.
  • Les avis sont publiés et conservés pendant une durée de cinq ans.
  • Les avis ne sont pas modifiables : si un client souhaite modifier son avis, il doit contacter Avis Verifiés afin de supprimer l'avis existant, et en publier un nouveau.
  • Les motifs de suppression des avis sont disponibles ici.

5 /5

Calculé à partir de 2 avis client(s)

  • 1
    0
  • 2
    0
  • 3
    0
  • 4
    0
  • 5
    2
Trier l'affichage des avis :

Dino E. publié le 30/10/2019 suite à une commande du 09/10/2019

5/5

Incredible Stuff!

Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui 0 Non 0

Florian B. publié le 11/10/2019 suite à une commande du 24/09/2019

5/5

Top du top

Cet avis vous a-t-il été utile ? Oui 0 Non 0

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats