Archive CARONI 23 ans 1994 Guyana Full Proof Sans Etui

CARONI 23 ans 1994 Guyana Full Proof Sans Etui 59%

Rhum De Melasse, Trinidad & Tobago, 70cl, Ref: 53119

With exceptional telluric power, this venerable 23-year- old is guaranteed to leave you lost for words! Caroni to the tip of its toes, it is a stunning example of just how well this unique rum ages. The hydrocarbon notes that continually gain in power are, to say the least, an incredible testament to this. Its fruity register has also considerably developed over time, notably allowing strawberry and raspberry to appear in an aromatic and gustatory palette that burgeons with exoticism.

Profile: the rich initial nose reveals notes of hydrocarbon, tarmac, camphor and cane sugar. Allowed to breathe, it becomes exotic (mango) and spicy (ginger). The heady attack perfectly reproduces the initial nose. The mid-palate is floral (geranium) and fruity (Mirabelle plum). Notes of salted butter caramel. Marked by red fruit, the luxurious finish falls in line with the nose and palate.

Read more

See more products from CARONI

See all products: Velier

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : mahogany with coppery glints.
  • Nose : rich, lush. Notes of hydrocarbon, tarmac, diesel, sleet, other more medicinal notes (balm, camphor), molasses, cane sugar, balsamic vinegar... these are just some of the immediate offerings of the initial nose. Allowed to breathe, oranges and mangos highlight the fruity side of its character. Once this interlude has concluded, it lingers with notes of beeswax, liquorice stick, grated ginger, asphalt and rubber.
  • Palate : full-bodied, heady. Like the nose, notes of hydrocarbon initially clamber their way through the start of the palate. On the mid-palate, heady florals (geranium, tuberose) fill the atmosphere whilst a thin layer of salted butter caramel covers the palate. Stewed fruit (Mirabelle plum, apple, greengage plum) brings lots of freshness and creaminess to the end of the palate.
  • Overall : long, luxurious. The notes of hydrocarbon have lost none of their intensity - quite the contrary. And yet, free rein is given to red (strawberry, raspberry) and exotic fruits (pomegranate, persimmon). The retro-nasal olfaction evokes sugar cane, cane sugar and molasses. Artichoke heart notes that verge on agave. The empty glass is oily (olive), liquorice (zan liquorice sweets), empyreumatic (burnt wood) and spicy (cinnamon, nutmeg).
The brand
lazyload

The brand

Beginning production in 1918, Caroni was the state distillery of Trinidad. It had access to its own sugar refinery that guaranteed its supply of local cane sugar. Equipped with both column stills and double distillation pot stills, until 2002 it produced “heavy rums” with an individual and noteworthy style. Only rarely producing bottlings under its own label, for a long time the distillery remained known only to a handful of connoisseurs, which gave it a mythical status further enhanced by its closure in 2002 by the Trinidad government. In 2004, the discovery of hundreds of bottles stored away in a bonded warehouse in Trinidad led to the joint purchase of the entire Caroni stock by Velier and La Maison du Whisky and to the bottling of various rare years which were then sold in limited editions and quickly gained cult status. This veritable and unique treasure lead to the production of a 12 year old Caroni. Despite its already respectable age, this completely new and historic bottling will be the last version of Caroni to be bottled so young.

lazyload

Merchant

The Velier company was founded by the Chaix family in 1947. From 1953 to 1983, this small traditional company, located in the port of Gênes, specialised in the importation and distribution of wines, champagnes and spirits. In 1983, then aged 25, Luca Gargano acquired shares in Velier. Under his influence the company began specialising in the importation of exceptional spirits to be supplied to the most prestigious establishments in Italy. In the early 1990s, Luca Gargano heard rumours of a mythical, quasi-legendary stock of St James Rum that had supposedly been distilled at the end of the 19th century. Eventually he discovered proof that this stock, distilled in 1885 and bottled in 1952, did indeed exist. And in 1991, following lengthy discussions, Luca finally managed to acquire the entirety of this stock, which he then released on the Italian market. These selections of rums have since multiplied and led to the birth of exceptional ranges.

Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Archive CARONI 23 ans 1994 Guyana Full Proof Sans Etui

CARONI 23 ans 1994 Guyana Full Proof Sans Etui 59%

Rhum De Melasse, Trinite & Tobago, 70cl, Ref: 53119

D’une puissance tellurique hors du commun, cette vénérable version âgée de 23 ans laisse pantois ! Caroni jusqu’au bout des ongles, elle démontre avec éclat combien ce rhum si singulier sait remarquablement bien vieillir. Les notes d’hydrocarbure qui ne cessent de monter en puissance en sont un témoignage pour le moins spectaculaire. Par ailleurs, avec le temps, son registre fruité s’est considérablement étoffé laissant apparaître notamment des fraises et des framboises dans une palette aromatique et gustative débordante d’exotisme.

Profil : riche, le premier nez dévoile des notes d’hydrocarbure, de bitume, de camphre et de sucre de canne. À l’aération, il devient exotique (mangue) et épicé (gingembre). Capiteuse, l’attaque en bouche reprend à la virgule près le premier nez. Le milieu de bouche est floral (géranium), fruité (mirabelle). Note de caramel au beurre salé. Marquée par les fruits rouges, la finale luxuriante se met à l’unisson du nez et de la bouche.

Lire plus

Plus d'articles de CARONI

Tous les articles : Velier

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : acajou à reflets cuivrés.
  • Nez : riche, plantureux. Des notes d’hydrocarbure, de bitume, de gasoil, de grésil, d’autres plus médicinales (baume, camphre), de la mélasse, du sucre de canne, un vinaigre balsamique… voilà ce que propose d’emblée le premier nez. A l’aération, des oranges et des mangues mettent en exergue le côté très fruité de son caractère. Cet intermède passé, il se prolonge sur des notes de cire d’abeille, de bâton de réglisse, de gingembre râpé, d’asphalte et de caoutchouc.
  • Bouche : ample, capiteuse. À l’instar du nez, dans un premier temps, les mêmes notes d’hydrocarbure renversent tout sur leur passage. En milieu de bouche, des fleurs capiteuses (géranium, tubéreuse) embaument l’atmosphère tandis qu’une fine couche ce caramel au beurre salé tapisse le palais. Des fruits compotés (mirabelle, pomme, reine-claude) procurent beaucoup d’onctuosité et de fraîcheur à la fin de bouche.
  • Finale : longue, luxuriante. Les notes d’hydrocarbure n’ont rien perdu en intensité, bien au contraire. Pour autant, elles laissent le champ libre à des fruits rouges (fraise, framboise) et exotiques (grenade, kaki). La rétro olfaction évoque la canne à sucre, le sucre de canne et la mélasse. Note de fond d’artichaut presque d’agave. Le verre vide est huileux (olive), réglissé (zan), empyreumatique (bois brûlé) et épicé (cannelle, muscade).
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Entrée en activité en 1918, Caroni était la distillerie d'état de Trinidad, disposant de sa propre sucrerie pour assurer son approvisionnement en canne à sucre locale. Équipée aussi bien d'alambics à colonnes que d'alambics à repasse, elle a élaboré jusqu'en 2002 des "heavy rums" au style remarquable et singulier. Ne produisant que rarement des embouteillages sous sa propre étiquette, la distillerie est longtemps restée l'apanage de quelques connaisseurs, lui conférant un statut mythique que sa fermeture, décidée par le gouvernement trinidadien en 2002, n'a fait qu'accentuer. En 2004, la découverte de centaines de barriques entreposées à Trinidad a donné lieu au rachat conjoint par les sociétés Velier et La Maison du Whisky de la totalité du stock de Caroni et à la mise en bouteille de quelques millésimes rares, proposés en édition limitée et devenus cultes. La richesse de ce véritable trésor, unique en son genre, permet le lancement de Caroni 12 ans, une version inédite et historique, qui malgré son âge déjà respectable, sera la dernière expression de Caroni à être embouteillée aussi jeune.

lazyload

Négociant

C’est en 1947 que la société Velier est fondée par la famille Chaix. De 1953 à 1983, cette petite société traditionnelle située dans le port de Gênes se spécialise dans l’importation et la distribution de vins, de champagnes et de spiritueux. En 1983, alors âgé de 25 ans, Luca Gargano acquiert des parts de Velier. Sous son impulsion, la société se spécialise dans l’importation de spiritueux d’exception afin d’approvisionner les plus prestigieux établissements italiens. Au début des années 90, Luca Gargano entend parler d’un stock mythique, quasi légendaire, de rhum St James qui aurait été distillé à la fin du 19e siècle. Une rencontre lui permet d’obtenir la preuve de l’existence de ce stock qui fut distillé en 1885 et embouteillé en 1952. En 1991, Luca obtient, au terme de longues discussions, l’intégralité de ce stock qu’il commercialise sur le marché italien. Depuis, ses sélections de rhums se sont multipliées pour donner naissance à des gammes exceptionnelles.

Haut de page

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats