Archive CARONI 20 ans Batch #1

CARONI 20 ans Batch #1 53,7%

Rhum De Melasse, Trinidad & Tobago, 50cl, Ref: 55648

Caroni Distillery Batch #1 is a rum from the increasingly rare and famous Caroni Distillery. The distillery closed its doors in 2002 and now stocks are very low: a rare taste of history – once it’s gone it’s gone! This batch was distilled in 1998 from the Caroni heavy-style rum, and in 2017 the rum was transferred into ex-rum casks, totaling 20 years of careful aging. The label depicts the distillery as it stands today on the island, run down and abandoned, but surrounded by the canes that used to fuel the distillery. A limited edition.

Read more

See more products from CARONI

See all products: Maverick Drinks

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : Autumn Yellow
  • Nose : almonds, hazelnut and cocoa are first, developing into a bouquet of baked bananas
  • Palate : Sweet tobacco, rich molasses, smoky oak, and buttery biscuits
  • Overall : Charged in rich molasses and tappers off into a supple sweet flavourful finish of tropical fruits
The brand
lazyload

The brand

Beginning production in 1918, Caroni was the state distillery of Trinidad. It had access to its own sugar refinery that guaranteed its supply of local cane sugar. Equipped with both column stills and double distillation pot stills, until 2002 it produced “heavy rums” with an individual and noteworthy style. Only rarely producing bottlings under its own label, for a long time the distillery remained known only to a handful of connoisseurs, which gave it a mythical status further enhanced by its closure in 2002 by the Trinidad government. In 2004, the discovery of hundreds of bottles stored away in a bonded warehouse in Trinidad led to the joint purchase of the entire Caroni stock by Velier and La Maison du Whisky and to the bottling of various rare years which were then sold in limited editions and quickly gained cult status. This veritable and unique treasure lead to the production of a 12 year old Caroni. Despite its already respectable age, this completely new and historic bottling will be the last version of Caroni to be bottled so young.

lazyload

Merchant

Established in 2013, Maverick Drinks represents a number of producers from the US and Europe, focusing on craft spirits because consumers are increasingly looking for products with provenance, authenticity, and craftsmanship they admire.
Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Archive CARONI 20 ans Batch #1

CARONI 20 ans Batch #1 53,7%

Rhum De Melasse, Trinite & Tobago, 50cl, Ref: 55648

Caroni Distillery Batch #1 est un rhum de plus en plus difficile à obtenir de la désormais célèbre distillerie Caroni. La distillerie a fermé ses portes en 2002 et les stocks sont maintenant très bas: un goût de l’histoire - une fois partie, il n’y en aura plus ! Ce lot a été distillé en 1998 à partir dans le style lourd de Caroni et, en 2017, le rhum a été transféré dans des ex-fûts de rum, totalisant 20 ans de vieillissement minutieux. L'étiquette dépicte la distillerie telle qu'elle se présente aujourd'hui sur l'île, délabrée et abandonnée, mais entourée des cannes qui alimentaient jadis la distillerie. Edition limitée.

Lire plus

Plus d'articles de CARONI

Tous les articles : Maverick Drinks

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : jaune automnal
  • Nez : les amandes, les noisettes et le cacao se développent en un bouquet de bananes cuites.
  • Bouche : tabac, sucre, mélasse riche, chêne fumé et biscuits au beurre
  • Finale : chargée avec une mélasse riche, se prolongeant en une finale douce et savoureuse de fruits exotiques
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Entrée en activité en 1918, Caroni était la distillerie d'état de Trinidad, disposant de sa propre sucrerie pour assurer son approvisionnement en canne à sucre locale. Équipée aussi bien d'alambics à colonnes que d'alambics à repasse, elle a élaboré jusqu'en 2002 des "heavy rums" au style remarquable et singulier. Ne produisant que rarement des embouteillages sous sa propre étiquette, la distillerie est longtemps restée l'apanage de quelques connaisseurs, lui conférant un statut mythique que sa fermeture, décidée par le gouvernement trinidadien en 2002, n'a fait qu'accentuer. En 2004, la découverte de centaines de barriques entreposées à Trinidad a donné lieu au rachat conjoint par les sociétés Velier et La Maison du Whisky de la totalité du stock de Caroni et à la mise en bouteille de quelques millésimes rares, proposés en édition limitée et devenus cultes. La richesse de ce véritable trésor, unique en son genre, permet le lancement de Caroni 12 ans, une version inédite et historique, qui malgré son âge déjà respectable, sera la dernière expression de Caroni à être embouteillée aussi jeune.

lazyload

Négociant

Fondé en 2013, Maverick Drinks est un négociant britannique représentant des marques européennes et américaines, qui privilégie les spiritueux de production artisanale. Parmi leurs marques : FEW Spirits, New York Distilling Company, That Boutique-y Whisky Company,…
Haut de page

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats