Must have CARONI 17 year old

CARONI 17 year old 55%

Rum, Trinite & Tobago 70cl Ref: 19804

Compared with the 12 and 15 year olds, this 17 year old Caroni is characterised by a lighter, more subtle “petrol” character than usual. Full-bodied and generous, this Heavy Rum delights the nose with its exoticism and the gentleness of its wood. Bottled in 2015 after 17 years ageing in bourbon casks in a tropical climate, it coats the taste buds with honey and floral notes. At 55° proof, over 70% of this Caroni was lost to the angels and it seems to have reached perfect maturity.

Small Batch - Limited edition Profile: fruit (Lady Finger bananas, candied apricot). Wood (mahogany, Madagascar vanilla, cocoa beans). Phenolic (turpentine, camphor).

Read more

Definitely unavailable

€109.00
€109.00
Add to my favorite
  • Free delivery

    to € 120

  • Fast shipping

    From 2 to 5 days

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- for € 120 in France
- for € 200 in Germany,
Netherlands and Luxembourg
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : coppery amber
  • Nose : condensed, exhilarating, seductive. The oak casks have worked their magic. The delicately woody initial nose reveals Madagascar vanilla pods and cocoa beans. Fruits then emerge. First they are exotic (Lady Finger banana, mango), then they are candied (apricot, plum). Its typical Caroni phenolic character (turpentine, camphor) gives the overall nose great beauty.
  • Palate : full-bodied and generous. The palate shimmers and seduces with mellow notes of honey and florals (geranium, hyacinth, reseda). On the tongue, the cocoa found on the nose proudly accompanies home-made cane syrup that brings comfort and sweetness. Finally, with huge delicacy, fruits follow: nectarines, warm mangos and roast apples... indefatigable!
  • Overall : almost infinite. Fruit (apricot, Mirabelle plum) gently coats the taste buds. The finale reveals the creaminess of mahogany-like exotic wood, perhaps a sunaged teak terrace. The finesse of the spices (cinnamon, fresh tobacco leaves) dominates the glass right to the very last drop.
The brand

The brand

Beginning production in 1918, Caroni was the state distillery of Trinidad. It had access to its own sugar refinery that guaranteed its supply of local cane sugar. Equipped with both column stills and double distillation pot stills, until 2002 it produced “heavy rums” with an individual and noteworthy style. Only rarely producing bottlings under its own label, for a long time the distillery remained known only to a handful of connoisseurs, which gave it a mythical status further enhanced by its closure in 2002 by the Trinidad government. In 2004, the discovery of hundreds of bottles stored away in a bonded warehouse in Trinidad led to the joint purchase of the entire Caroni stock by Velier and La Maison du Whisky and to the bottling of various rare years which were then sold in limited editions and quickly gained cult status. This veritable and unique treasure lead to the production of a 12 year old Caroni. Despite its already respectable age, this completely new and historic bottling will be the last version of Caroni to be bottled so young.

Merchant

The Velier company was founded by the Chaix family in 1947. From 1953 to 1983, this small traditional company, located in the port of Gênes, specialised in the importation and distribution of wines, champagnes and spirits. In 1983, then aged 25, Luca Gargano acquired shares in Velier. Under his influence the company began specialising in the importation of exceptional spirits to be supplied to the most prestigious establishments in Italy. In the early 1990s, Luca Gargano heard rumours of a mythical, quasi-legendary stock of St James Rum that had supposedly been distilled at the end of the 19th century. Eventually he discovered proof that this stock, distilled in 1885 and bottled in 1952, did indeed exist. And in 1991, following lengthy discussions, Luca finally managed to acquire the entirety of this stock, which he then released on the Italian market. These selections of rums have since multiplied and led to the birth of exceptional ranges.

Delivery and payment

DELIVERY IN MAINLAND FRANCE AND WORLWIDE

FREE DELIVERY
on all orders from €120 and up in France Mainland
from €200 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg
PERSONALISED DELIVERY SERVICE

To your home, a collection point or "espace cityssimo".

METICULOUS, SECURE PACKAGING
logo collectorsCOLLECTORS
SPECIAL DELIVERY

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery

PAYMENT TERMS AND GUARANTEES

SECURE PAYMENT

Paypal, Paybox

TRANSFER PAYMENT

Bank Transfer

PREMIUM FIANET WESBITE
CUSTOMER SERVICE
tel : +331 80 36 90 10
Monday-Friday from 8am to 8pm
Saturday – from 9am to 8pm
See all payment methods
Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on CARONI 17 year old

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Derniers arrivages

CARONI 17 ans 55%

Rhum De Melasse, Trinite & Tobago, 70cl, Ref: 19804

Achat limité à 3 bouteilles par commande et par client. 
Dans la lignée des versions de 12 et 15 ans, ce Caroni âgé de 17 ans se distingue par son caractère « pétrolifère » plus léger et subtil que les Caroni habituels. Ample et généreux, ce Heavy Rum ravit notre nez par son exotisme et par la douceur de son boisé. Embouteillé en 2015 après 17 années passées en fûts de bourbon sous un climat tropical, il tapisse nos papilles de notes mielleuses et florales. Titrant 55 degrés, ce Caroni qui a connu une part des anges supérieure à 70%, semble avoir atteint la parfaite maturité.

Small Batch – Série limitée Profil : fruits (banane frécinette, abricot confit). Bois (acajou, vanille de Madagascar, fèves de cacao). Phénolique (térébenthine, camphre).

Lire plus
Plus d'articles de Caroni Tous les articles : Velier

Bientôt disponible

109,00 €
109,00 €

Ajouter à mes préférés
  • Livraison offerte

    dès 120 € d'achats

  • Envoi Rapide

    entre 3 et 5 jours

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
- dès 200€ vers l'Allemagne, Pays-Bas
et Luxembourg
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : ambre cuivré
  • Nez : condensé, exaltant, séduisant. La magie du fût de chêne a opéré. Le premier nez, finement boisé, révèle gousses de vanille de Madagascar et fèves de cacao. Dans un second temps, surgissent les fruits. D’abord exotiques (banane frécinette, mangue) puis confits (abricot, prune). Le caractère phénolique (térébenthine, camphre) typique des Caroni enjolive le tout.
  • Bouche : ample et généreuse. Le palais est chatoyé et séduit par de douces notes miellées et florales (géranium, jacinthe, réséda). Sur la langue, le cacao présent au nez accompagne fièrement un sirop de canne maison qui nous apporte confort et douceur. Enfin, c’est tout en délicatesse que les fruits se succèdent : nectarines, mangues tièdes et pommes au four. Inlassable !
  • Finale : presque infinie. Les fruits (abricot, mirabelle) tapissant tendrement les papilles. La finale joue l’onctuosité du bois exotique de type acajou, non loin d’une terrasse en teck dorée au soleil. La finesse des épices (cannelle, feuilles de tabac fraîches) subjugue le verre jusqu’à la dernière goutte.
La marque

La marque

Entrée en activité en 1918, Caroni était la distillerie d'état de Trinidad, disposant de sa propre sucrerie pour assurer son approvisionnement en canne à sucre locale. Équipée aussi bien d'alambics à colonnes que d'alambics à repasse, elle a élaboré jusqu'en 2002 des "heavy rums" au style remarquable et singulier. Ne produisant que rarement des embouteillages sous sa propre étiquette, la distillerie est longtemps restée l'apanage de quelques connaisseurs, lui conférant un statut mythique que sa fermeture, décidée par le gouvernement trinidadien en 2002, n'a fait qu'accentuer. En 2004, la découverte de centaines de barriques entreposées à Trinidad a donné lieu au rachat conjoint par les sociétés Velier et La Maison du Whisky de la totalité du stock de Caroni et à la mise en bouteille de quelques millésimes rares, proposés en édition limitée et devenus cultes. La richesse de ce véritable trésor, unique en son genre, permet le lancement de Caroni 12 ans, une version inédite et historique, qui malgré son âge déjà respectable, sera la dernière expression de Caroni à être embouteillée aussi jeune.

Négociant

C’est en 1947 que la société Velier est fondée par la famille Chaix. De 1953 à 1983, cette petite société traditionnelle située dans le port de Gênes se spécialise dans l’importation et la distribution de vins, de champagnes et de spiritueux. En 1983, alors âgé de 25 ans, Luca Gargano acquiert des parts de Velier. Sous son impulsion, la société se spécialise dans l’importation de spiritueux d’exception afin d’approvisionner les plus prestigieux établissements italiens. Au début des années 90, Luca Gargano entend parler d’un stock mythique, quasi légendaire, de rhum St James qui aurait été distillé à la fin du 19e siècle. Une rencontre lui permet d’obtenir la preuve de l’existence de ce stock qui fut distillé en 1885 et embouteillé en 1952. En 1991, Luca obtient, au terme de longues discussions, l’intégralité de ce stock qu’il commercialise sur le marché italien. Depuis, ses sélections de rhums se sont multipliées pour donner naissance à des gammes exceptionnelles.

Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

Livraison LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
dès 200€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas et Luxembourg
ColissimoLIVRAISON SUR MESURE

A domicile, en point relais ou en bureau de poste.

PackageEMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

CardsPAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Paybox

TransfertPAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer

Premium SITE PREMIUM FIANET
Service après venteSERVICE CLIENT
tel : 01 80 36 90 10
lundi au vendredi - de 8h à 20h
samedi - de 9h à 20h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur CARONI 17 ans

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats