CAOL ILA 2010 The Suspects Chess Investigation Series French Connections 58%

Single Malt Whisky, Scotland / Islay, 70cl, Ref: 57894

Quantity limited to 2 bottle(s) by client.

An LMDW exclusive. Off the coast of Scotland, a ferry pierces the shimmering reflections of the Islay strait. Behind a shroud of white sea spray, we glimpse the outline of the white walls of the Caol Ila distillery. The fifth chapter in the Chess Investigation collection, created by La Maison du Whisky last spring, The Suspects presents a Caol Ila finished in a cask previously containing a Ballechin which had been aged in a Sauternes barrel. Bottled at cask strength, this extremely nuanced version reveals a peat which, like a knight moving freely across a chess board, travels constantly along, up and across a palette of flavours and aromas that is also stately, superbly honey, floral, chocolate and surprisingly fruity (raspberry, red currant).

Profile: the powerful first nose is peaty and smoky. Next, citrus fruit (lemon), cut hay, juicy pear and dark chocolate play the troublemaker. Allowed to breathe, peat takes the upper hand. It is oily, iodine, salty and medicinal (camphor). The very ashy attack is also chocolaty and marine (seaweed). On the mid-palate, almond milk and fresh walnut delicately cover the taste buds. It becomes honeyed (lavender). The heady start of the finish reveals an oily, mineral (schist) and fruity (raspberry, coconut) peat. Gradually, strong spices (clove, nutmeg) and ginger soak into whole blocks of peat.

Read more

See more products from CAOL ILA

See all products: Signatory Vintage

Definitely unavailable

€95.00
€95.00
  • Free delivery

    from €130

  • Protected package

    ultra-resistant packaging

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- from €130 in France
- from €250 in Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Britain
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : burnished gold with green hues.
  • Nose : powerful, lively. On the first nose, peat and smoke embark upon a Homeric duel. Candied lemon, cut hay, pear and dark chocolate act as particularly inspired troublemakers. Allowed to breathe, peat takes the upper hand. It is oily, iodine, salty and medicinal (ointment, camphor). Next, superb lemon and floral aromas (carnation, lily) flood the air. Finally, not to be outdone, peat once again takes the upper hand.
  • Palate : full, rich. The very ashy attack is also unctuously chocolate and marine (seaweed). On the mid-palate, almond milk and fresh walnut very gently cover the taste buds. Honey flavours (rose, lavender, heather) fragrance the end of the palate. This very interesting sequence of flavours and aromas showcases both Caol Ila and Ballechin. The image of a peat field home to white and yellow flowers (dandelion) is more appropriate than ever.
  • Overall : long, heady. At the start of the finish, notes of agave and a fresh and oily peat underscore the profoundly mineral character of the flavour palette (schist, slate). Gradually, red fruits (raspberry, red currant) and coconut milk bring lots of freshness to the very end of the palate. On the retro-nasal olfaction, strong spices (clove, nutmeg) and candied ginger soak into whole blocks of freshly cut, damp peat. The empty glass is intensely smoky (powerful Havana cigar), iodine (tincture), musky and camphoric.
The brand
lazyload

The brand

As well as reflecting its smoky, malted barley, Caol Ila is also oily and peaty, with marine and vegetable notes. Its recent official bottlings, which are particularly expressive, have an intense smoky and peaty character with a good balance of saltiness and sweetness. Superb versions of this single malt have also been released by independent bottlers Gordon MacPhail & Signatory Vintage. Caol Ila’s stills, which are large and onion-shaped, have a strong influence on this single malt and give it a fairly light and delicate character. Find out more

lazyload

Merchant

Although the independent bottler Signatory Vintage cannot claim to be one of the oldest in Scotland, it has managed to build up an extremely solid reputation amongst the great malt connoisseurs. The creator of the famous range The Prestonfield and many other well-known ranges, it is best known for its un-chillfiltered and cask strength bottlings that offer amateurs the chance to enjoy their whisky in its most natural form. It was also one of the first independent bottlers to acquire a distillery and now offers a growing number of expressions of one of the most artisan single malts available.

Delivery and payment

DELIVERY IN MAINLAND FRANCE AND WORLWIDE

Truck FREE DELIVERY
on all orders from €130 and up in France Mainland
from €250 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Italy, Spain, Britain, Belgium
colissimoEXPRESS DELIVERY SERVICE

To a collection point or to your home.

PackageMETICULOUS, SECURE PACKAGING
CollectorsCOLLECTORS
SPECIAL DELIVERY

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery

PAYMENT TERMS AND GUARANTEES

TabSECURE PAYMENT

Paypal, Dalenys

bankTRANSFER PAYMENT

Bank Transfer


premium

CUSTOMER SATISFACTION
Call CUSTOMER SERVICE
tel : +339 70 83 03 60
Monday-Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday – from 10am to 7pm
See all payment methods
Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

CAOL ILA 2010 The Suspects Chess Investigation Series French Connections 58%

Single Malt Whisky, Ecosse / Islay, 70cl, Ref: 57894

Quantité limitée à 2 bouteille(s) par client.

Une exclusivité LMDW. Au large des côtes écossaises, un ferry perce les reflets moirés du détroit d’Islay. Derrière un rideau de brume blanc s’esquissent les murs tout aussi blancs de la distillerie Caol Ila. Cinquième chapitre de la collection « Chess Investigation » créée au printemps dernier par La Maison du Whisky, The Suspects met en scène un Caol Ila affiné dans un fût ayant contenu un Ballechin vieilli en fût de Sauternes. Embouteillée à son degré naturel, cette version extrêmement nuancée dévoile une tourbe qui, à la manière du cavalier qui se déplace librement sur l’échiquier, arpente sans cesse en long, en large et en travers une palette aromatique et gustative par ailleurs altière, superbement miellée, florale, chocolatée et étonnement fruitée (framboise, groseille).

Profil : puissant, le premier nez est à la fois tourbé et fumé. Puis, des agrumes (citron), du foin coupé, des poires juteuses et du chocolat noir jouent les troubles fêtes. À l’aération, la tourbe prend le dessus, elle est huileuse, iodée, saline et médicinale (camphre). Très cendrée, l’attaque en bouche est également chocolatée et marine (algues). En milieu de bouche, du lait d’amande et des noix fraîches recouvrent délicatement les papilles. Elle devient miellée (lavande). Capiteuse, l’entame de la finale révèle une tourbe huileuse, minérale (schiste) et fruitée (framboise, coco). Au fur et à mesure, des épices fortes (girofle, muscade) et du gingembre imprègnent des blocs entiers de tourbe.

Lire plus

Plus d'articles de CAOL ILA

Tous les articles : Signatory Vintage

Rupture définitive

95,00 €
95,00 €
  • Livraison offerte

    dès 130 € d'achats

  • Colis protégé

    emballage ultra-résistant

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 130 € en France métropolitaine
- dès 250 € vers l'Allemagne, la Belgique, Pays-Bas, le Luxembourg, l'Espagne, l'Italie et la Grande-Bretagne
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : vieil or à reflets verts.
  • Nez : puissant, vif. Au premier nez, la tourbe et la fumée se livrent un duel homérique. Des citrons confits, du foin coupé, des poires et du chocolat noir jouent les troubles fêtes particulièrement inspirés. À l’aération, la tourbe prend le dessus. Elle est huileuse, iodée, saline et médicinale (baume, camphre). Puis, de superbes parfums citronnés et floraux (œillet, lys) envahissent l’atmosphère ambiante. Enfin, ne s’en laissant pas compter, pour une seconde fois, la tourbe reprend le dessus.
  • Bouche : ample, gourmande. Très cendrée, l’attaque en bouche est également onctueusement chocolatée et marine (algues). En milieu de bouche, du lait d’amande et des noix fraîches recouvrent avec une extrême douceur les papilles. Des saveurs miellées (rose, lavande, bruyère) parfument littéralement l’arrière-bouche. Très intéressante, cette séquence olfacto-gustative met en exergue aussi bien Caol Ila que Ballechin. L’image d’un champ de tourbe sur lequel poussent des fleurs blanches et jaunes (pissenlit) est plus que jamais d’actualité.
  • Finale : longue, capiteuse. En entame de finale, des notes d’agave et de tourbe fraîche et huileuse soulignent le caractère profondément minéral de la palette gustative (schiste, ardoise). Progressivement, des fruits rouges (framboise, groseille) et du lait de coco procurent beaucoup de fraîcheur à la toute fin de bouche. En rétro-olfaction, des épices fortes (girofle, muscade) et du gingembre confit imprègnent des blocs entiers de tourbe humide fraîchement coupée. Le verre vide est intensément fumé (Havane puissant), iodé (teinture), musqué et camphré.
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Proche de l'orge maltée fumée, Caol Ila se révèle également marin, végétal, huileux et tourbé. Les récents embouteillages officiels, particulièrement expressifs, possèdent un caractère tourbé et fumé intense ainsi qu'un bel équilibre sucré/salé. Les embouteilleurs indépendants, Gordon & MacPhail et Signatory Vintage proposent également de magnifiques versions de ce single malt. Les alambics de la distillerie Caol Ila, de grande taille et en forme d'oignon expliquent en grande partie le caractère plutôt léger et très fin de ce single malt. En savoir plus

lazyload

Négociant

La maison de négoce Signatory Vintage n’est pas l’une des plus anciennes en Ecosse, et pourtant elle a réussi à se faire une très bonne réputation auprès des grands connaisseurs de malt. Créatrice de la gamme célèbre The Prestonfield, et bien d’autres encore, elle est surtout connue pour ses embouteillages en brut de fût et sans filtrage à froid, permettant ainsi à l’amateur de gouter son whisky dans un état le plus naturel possible. Elle a aussi été l’un des tout premiers embouteilleurs indépendants à acquérir une distillerie, et propose maintenant de plus en plus de versions de l’un des single malts le plus artisanaux. En savoir plus

Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

Livraison LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 130€ en France métropolitaine
dès 250€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas, Belgique, Espagne, Italie, Grande Bretagne et Luxembourg
ColissimoLIVRAISON EXPRESS

en point relais ou à domicile.

PackageEMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

CardsPAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Dalenys

TransfertPAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer


premium
SATISFACTION CLIENT
Service aprs venteSERVICE CLIENT
tel : 09 70 83 03 60
lundi au vendredi - de 9h à 19h
samedi - de 10h à 19h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats