BEN NEVIS 27 ans 1990 30th Anniversary S.V 59,4%

Single Malt Whisky, Scotland / Highlands, 70cl, Ref: 55203

Founded in 1825 by "Long" John MacDonald, Ben Nevis was bought in 1941 by Joseph Hobbs, a Canadian millionaire who installed a Coffey still so it could produce a single grain in 1955. This patent still was dismantled when the distillery was mothballed in 1978. Reopened in 1984, it has been owned by the Japanese Nikka Whisky since 1989. This fino cask merrily strays off the beaten track, like every great Ben Nevis. Drawing heavily from the world of rum (sugar cane, rum baba), it is also characterized by Andalusian culture (yeast voile, almond). The particularly malty and mineral retronasal olfaction proudly reflects its Scottish roots.

Profile: the refined initial nose is vegetal, vanilla and marked by toffee. It then develops notes of coconut. With time, its Andalusian character (fino sherry) takes hold. The nuanced attack is exotic (coconut, pineapple) and medicinal (mustard). The mid-palate is clearly reminiscent of rum. The rich finish brings us a delicious rum baba before moving into brioche and spice (curry). Single Cask no. 1055 – Fino Sherry Butt.

Read more

See more products from BEN NEVIS

See all products: Signatory Vintage

In stock

€422.00
€422.00
   
  • Free delivery

    on this product

  • Protected package

    ultra-resistant packaging

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- from €130 in France
- from €250 in Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Britain
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : burnished gold with glints of topaz.
  • Nose : fine, resolute. At once vegetal (peas), vanilla and characterized by toffee, the initial nose boasts a wonderfully fresh expression. It develops notes of mustard seed, almond and coconut milk with a clear Andalusian character. Gradually, acacia honey and pine resin fill the aromatic palette. Its empyreumatic side then nonchalantly evokes a Caroni style rum. Very oily, it becomes increasingly floral (iris butter, broom).
  • Palate : nuanced, turbulent. A fleet of exotic fruits (coconut, pineapple, mango) reel across the palate, creating a tsunami of pure wellbeing. This is accompanied by mustard seed that spices up this particularly eloquent picture. Overflowing with enthusiasm and vitality, the mid-palate takes us to harvest time. Bursting with residual sugar, it then evokes rum (sugar cane). The end of the palate reveals mouth-watering saltiness.
  • Overall : long, rich. Continuing on the from the nose and the palate, the finish is like a rum baba. Vanilla pod, lime and a handful of coffee beans are placed on the palate. The retronasal olfaction is malty, mineral (zan liquorice sweets, pencil lead) and vegetal (fennel, celery). The empty glass reveals brioche notes and a vanilla, milky (sugarcane juice, frangipane) register. Long after, notes of spices, curry and cut hay suddenly appear.
The brand
lazyload

The brand

Acquired by the Japanese group Nikka in 1989, the Ben Nevis distillery was, under the ownership of Joseph W.Hobbs in 1955, one of the only distilleries in Scotland to have its own traditional pot stills and a Coffey-style column still. Bought by Long John Distillers in 1981, the Coffey stills were subsequently dismantled. Although the majority of its whisky is aged in ex-sherry casks, some ex-bourbon cask bottlings have recently appeared on the independent market. It’s worth noting that the distillery was mothballed for six years at the end of the 1970s, and then again in 1984 and from 1986 to 1989.

lazyload

Merchant

Although the independent bottler Signatory Vintage cannot claim to be one of the oldest in Scotland, it has managed to build up an extremely solid reputation amongst the great malt connoisseurs. The creator of the famous range The Prestonfield and many other well-known ranges, it is best known for its un-chillfiltered and cask strength bottlings that offer amateurs the chance to enjoy their whisky in its most natural form. It was also one of the first independent bottlers to acquire a distillery and now offers a growing number of expressions of one of the most artisan single malts available.

lazyload

The line

A l'occasion de son 30e anniveraire, Signatory Vintage nous livre une sélection de ses 26 plus beaux fûts, choisis parmi des milliers. Les single malts de cette collection, en provenance des distilleries les plus prestigieuses d'Ecosse, sont chacun mis en carafe à parti d'un fût unique, à leur degré naturel, sans filtration ni coloration, afin d'en préserver tout le caractère. Chaque bouteille est numérotée à la main et signée, dans la plus pure tradition de Signatory Vintage.
Delivery and payment

DELIVERY IN MAINLAND FRANCE AND WORLWIDE

Truck FREE DELIVERY
on all orders from €130 and up in France Mainland
from €250 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Italy, Spain, Britain, Belgium
colissimoEXPRESS DELIVERY SERVICE

To a collection point or to your home.

PackageMETICULOUS, SECURE PACKAGING
CollectorsCOLLECTORS
SPECIAL DELIVERY

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery

PAYMENT TERMS AND GUARANTEES

TabSECURE PAYMENT

Paypal, Dalenys

bankTRANSFER PAYMENT

Bank Transfer


premium

CUSTOMER SATISFACTION
Call CUSTOMER SERVICE
tel : +339 70 83 03 60
Monday-Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday – from 10am to 7pm
See all payment methods
Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

BEN NEVIS 27 ans 1990 30th Anniversary S.V 59,4%

Single Malt Whisky, Ecosse / Highlands, 70cl, Ref: 55203

Fondée en 1825 par « Long » John MacDonald, Ben Nevis fut rachetée en 1941 par Joseph Hobbs, millionnaire canadien qui fera installer une colonne de distillation afin de produire du single grain en 1955. Cet alambic patent still sera démantelé lors de la fermeture de la distillerie en 1978. Réouverte en 1984, elle est depuis 1989 la propriété du japonais Nikka Whisky. Cette version vieillie en fût de fino sort allègrement des sentiers battus, comme tout grand Ben Nevis. Puisant abondamment son inspiration dans l’univers du rhum (canne à sucre, baba au rhum), elle est également marquée par la culture andalouse (voile de levure, amande). Particulièrement maltée et minérale en rétro-olfaction, elle revendique avec force ses origines écossaises.

profil : fin, le premier nez est végétal, vanillé et marqué par le toffee. Il s’ouvre sur des notes de lait de coco. Son caractère andalou (xérès fino) s’impose avec le temps. Nuancée, l’attaque en bouche est exotique (coco, ananas) et médicinale (moutarde). Le milieu de bouche évoque clairement un rhum. Gourmande, la finale nous fait savourer un délicieux baba au rhum avant de devenir briochée et épicée (curry).
Single Cask n° 1055 – Fino Sherry Butt.
Noté 90 sur Whiskyfun

Lire plus

Plus d'articles de BEN NEVIS

Tous les articles : Signatory Vintage

disponible

422,00 €
422,00 €
   
  • Livraison offerte

    sur ce produit

  • Colis protégé

    emballage ultra-résistant

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 130 € en France métropolitaine
- dès 250 € vers l'Allemagne, la Belgique, Pays-Bas, le Luxembourg, l'Espagne, l'Italie et la Grande-Bretagne
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards

Retrouvez ce produit
chez nos cavistes partenaires

Téléphone

Stock non garanti

Appelez pour demander confirmation

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Nez : fin, décidé. A la fois végétal (petits pois), vanillé et marqué par le toffee, le premier est d’une grande fraîcheur d’expression. Il s’ouvre sur des notes de graines de moutarde, d’amande et de lait de coco dont le caractère andalou est très perceptible. Progressivement, du miel d’acacia et de la résine de pin recouvre la palette aromatique. Puis, sans l’air d’y toucher, son côté empyreumatique évoque un rhum de style Caroni. Très huileux, il devient de plus en plus floral (concrète d’iris, genêt).
  • Bouche : nuancée, chavirante. Un flot de fruits exotiques (coco, ananas, mangue) tangue sur le palais, créant un séisme de pur bien-être. A cela, il faut ajouter de nouvelles graines de moutarde qui pimentent ce tableau particulièrement éloquent. Débordant d’enthousiasme et de vitalité, le milieu de bouche nous transporte à l’époque des moissons. Gorgé de sucres résiduels, il évoque à son tour un rhum (canne à sucre). L’arrière-bouche est d’une salinité qui fait saliver les papilles.
  • Finale : longue, gourmande. Dans la continuité du nez et de la bouche, la finale évoque un baba au rhum. Des gousses de vanille, des citrons verts et quelques grains de café se déposent sur le palais. La rétro-olfaction est maltée, minérale (zan, mine de crayon) et végétale (fenouil, céleri). Le verre vide est brioché, vanillé et laiteux (vesou, frangipane). Longtemps après, surgissent des notes de pain d’épices, de curry et de foin coupé.
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Devenue la propriété du groupe japonais Nikka en 1989, la distillerie Ben Nevis fut du temps de son propriétaire Joseph W.Hobbs en 1955, l'une des rares distilleries Ecossaises à abriter en son sein, des alambics traditionnels de type pot still avec un alambic à colonnes de type Coffey Still. Rachetée en 1981 par Long John Distillers, ces derniers furent démantelés. Si la majorité des stocks sont gardés en ex fûts de Xérès, certains fûts de bourbon sont récemment apparus sur le marché du whisky de négoce. A noter que la distillerie fut fermée pour une période de 6 ans à la fin des années 70, puis en 1984 et de 1986 à 1989.

lazyload

Négociant

La maison de négoce Signatory Vintage n’est pas l’une des plus anciennes en Ecosse, et pourtant elle a réussi à se faire une très bonne réputation auprès des grands connaisseurs de malt. Créatrice de la gamme célèbre The Prestonfield, et bien d’autres encore, elle est surtout connue pour ses embouteillages en brut de fût et sans filtrage à froid, permettant ainsi à l’amateur de gouter son whisky dans un état le plus naturel possible. Elle a aussi été l’un des tout premiers embouteilleurs indépendants à acquérir une distillerie, et propose maintenant de plus en plus de versions de l’un des single malts le plus artisanaux. En savoir plus

lazyload

Gamme

A l'occasion de son 30e anniveraire, Signatory Vintage nous livre une sélection de ses 26 plus beaux fûts, choisis parmi des milliers. Les single malts de cette collection, en provenance des distilleries les plus prestigieuses d'Ecosse, sont chacun mis en carafe à parti d'un fût unique, à leur degré naturel, sans filtration ni coloration, afin d'en préserver tout le caractère. Chaque bouteille est numérotée à la main et signée, dans la plus pure tradition de Signatory Vintage.
Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

Livraison LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 130€ en France métropolitaine
dès 250€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas, Belgique, Espagne, Italie, Grande Bretagne et Luxembourg
ColissimoLIVRAISON EXPRESS

en point relais ou à domicile.

PackageEMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

CardsPAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Dalenys

TransfertPAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer


premium
SATISFACTION CLIENT
Service aprs venteSERVICE CLIENT
tel : 09 70 83 03 60
lundi au vendredi - de 9h à 19h
samedi - de 10h à 19h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats