New BALLECHIN 12 ans 2007 Jamaican Rum Cask Finish

BALLECHIN 12 ans 2007 Jamaican Rum Cask Finish 59,6%

Single Malt Whisky, Scotland / Highlands, 70cl, Ref: 56772

Quantity limited to 2 bottle(s) by client.

In 2016, to celebrate its 60th anniversary, La Maison du Whisky selected two Ballechins finished in ex-rum casks from the legendary Caroni distillery, which closed in 2002. For our 2020 Creation Catalogue, we are offering the chance to discover a bottling finished in an ex-rum casks from the Jamaican distillery Worthy Park, which is following hot on the tails of its predecessors. It is a truly magnificent bottling, made up of two very different sequences. The first comprises the nose and palate, which see peat and sugar cane rival each other in intensity with profound intelligence. The second appears on the finish, which pays tribute to the remarkable Ballechin spirit.

the opulent first nose is medicinal (ointment), syrupy (cane sugar), peaty and phenolic. Allowed to breathe, strong spices (black pepper), soot and whole blocks of peat invade the taste buds. The unctuous attack highlights the Worthy Park rum’s influence, and is exotic (pineapple) and honeyed. Gradually, rich peat gains the upper hand and becomes increasingly medicinal and empyreumatic (tar). The start of the finishes reproduces the energetic character of the Ballechin spirit. A fine layer of ash covers the entire palate. 
Single Cask no. 904 – Worthy Park Finish
An LMDW exclusive

Read more

See more products from BALLECHIN

See all products: Signatory Vintage

In stock

€125.00
€125.00
   
  • Free delivery

    from €130

  • Protected package

    ultra-resistant packaging

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- from €130 in France
- from €250 in Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Britain
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : lemon yellow.
  • Nose : rich, opulent. The very medicinal (ointment, camphor), syrupy (cane sugar), peaty and phenolic first nose is incredibly deep. Allowed to breathe, strong spices (black pepper, nutmeg, ginger), soot and whole blocks of oily, salty peat literally invade the taste buds. Gradually, lemon zest digs an acidic furrow through this thick earthy layer. Next, floral fragrances (lily, violet) punctuate an aromatic palette that is as wide as it is deep.
  • Palate : lively yet creamy. On the attack, the Worthy Park rum’s influence brings out notes of sugar cane, wildflower honey and exotic fruit (pineapple, banana). On the mid-palate, damp, salty peat takes the reins. Gradually, this develops a more medicinal (mustard poultice) and empyreumatic (tar, sleet) register. There is perfect balance between the barley’s vegetal flavours, the peat’s earthy flavours and the rum’s sweet flavours.
  • Overall : long, dense. The start of the finish reproduces all of the energy of the Ballechin spirit. Suffice it to say, right at this moment, peat gains the upper hand. It is sooty, then vegetal (mushroom), herbaceous (sage), rustic (dandelion), delicately chocolatey and medicinal (camphor). On the retro-nasal olfaction, a fine layer of ash covers the entire palate as a handful of fruits (Golden Delicious apple, Mirabelle plum) bring a certain richness. The empty glass acts in harmony with the medicinal, mineral, peaty and meaty (bacon) end of the palate.
The brand
lazyload

The brand

When the distillery was bought in 2002, Andrew Symington called on the services of Iain Henderson, the former director of Laphroaig, for the creation of a second, very peaty malt. Given the name of Ballechin, this second single malt is created using malted barley at 50 ppm phenols, a rate comparable to those of the smokiest malts produced on Islay. Available since 2006, it is sold as a yearly vintage in limited runs of 6,000 bottles. Even more revolutionary than its older sibling, Ballechin is aged entirely in casks that have previously held wine from Burgundy and Madeira.

lazyload

The distillery

Since 2005, with the opening of the Kilchoman micro-distillery on the isle of Islay, Edradour is probably no longer the smallest distillery in Scotland. Tucked away on the edge of a small valley, among the hills over the town of Pitlochry, this distillery resembles a charming little village with its red shutters, landscaped garden and gently splashing stream. Purchased in 2002 by Andrew Symington, the founder of Signatory Vintage, Edradour has become more than just a tourist attraction. This distillery-farm concentrates all the operations involved in the production of whisky in a single room, from the mill to the still, which is the smallest size authorized by the British Customs and Excise department. Very traditional, Eradour receives 100,000 visitors a year, who are literally transported to the 19th century in this remarkable time capsule.

lazyload

Merchant

Although the independent bottler Signatory Vintage cannot claim to be one of the oldest in Scotland, it has managed to build up an extremely solid reputation amongst the great malt connoisseurs. The creator of the famous range The Prestonfield and many other well-known ranges, it is best known for its un-chillfiltered and cask strength bottlings that offer amateurs the chance to enjoy their whisky in its most natural form. It was also one of the first independent bottlers to acquire a distillery and now offers a growing number of expressions of one of the most artisan single malts available.

Delivery and payment

DELIVERY IN MAINLAND FRANCE AND WORLWIDE

Truck FREE DELIVERY
on all orders from €130 and up in France Mainland
from €250 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Italy, Spain, Britain, Belgium
colissimoEXPRESS DELIVERY SERVICE

To a collection point or to your home.

PackageMETICULOUS, SECURE PACKAGING
CollectorsCOLLECTORS
SPECIAL DELIVERY

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery

PAYMENT TERMS AND GUARANTEES

TabSECURE PAYMENT

Paypal, Dalenys

bankTRANSFER PAYMENT

Bank Transfer


premium

CUSTOMER SATISFACTION
Call CUSTOMER SERVICE
tel : +339 70 83 03 60
Monday-Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday – from 10am to 7pm
See all payment methods
Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Nouveau BALLECHIN 12 ans 2007 Jamaican Rum Cask Finish

BALLECHIN 12 ans 2007 Jamaican Rum Cask Finish 59,6%

Single Malt Whisky, Ecosse / Highlands, 70cl, Ref: 56772

Quantité limitée à 2 bouteille(s) par client.

En 2016, pour célébrer ses soixante ans, La Maison du Whisky avait sélectionné deux Ballechin affinés dans des fûts ayant contenu un rhum de la distillerie mythique Caroni, fermée en 2002. Pour notre Catalogue Création 2020, nous vous proposons de partir à la découverte de cette version affinée dans un fût ayant contenu un rhum de la distillerie jamaïcaine Worthy Park qui avance à grands pas sur les traces de ses devancières. Absolument magnifique, celle-ci se décompose en deux séquences bien distinctes. Le nez et la bouche tout d’abord où l’on voit la tourbe et la canne à sucre rivaliser d’intensité avec une profonde intelligence. La finale ensuite où l’on assiste à la consécration du remarquable distillat de Ballechin.

opulent, le premier nez est médicinal (baume), liquoreux (sucre de canne), tourbé et phénolique. A l’aération, des épices fortes (poivre noir), de la suie et des blocs entiers de tourbe envahissent les papilles. Onctueuse, l’attaque en bouche met en exergue l’influence du rhum Worthy Park, elle est exotique (ananas) et miellée. Au fur et à mesure, une tourbe grasse prend le relais et devient de plus en plus médicinale et empyreumatique (goudron). L’entame de la finale restitue le caractère fougueux du distillat de Ballechin. Une fine pellicule de cendres recouvre l’intégralité du palais.
Single Cask n° 904 – Worthy Park FinishUne exclusivité LMDW

Lire plus

Plus d'articles de BALLECHIN

Tous les articles : Signatory Vintage

disponible

125,00 €
125,00 €
   
  • Livraison offerte

    dès 130 € d'achats

  • Colis protégé

    emballage ultra-résistant

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 130 € en France métropolitaine
- dès 250 € vers l'Allemagne, la Belgique, Pays-Bas, le Luxembourg, l'Espagne, l'Italie et la Grande-Bretagne
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards

Retrouvez ce produit
chez nos cavistes partenaires

Téléphone

Stock non garanti

Appelez pour demander confirmation

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : jaune citron.
  • Nez : riche, opulent. Très médicinal (baume, camphre), liquoreux (sucre de canne), tourbé et phénolique, le premier nez est remarquable de profondeur. A l’aération, des épices fortes (poivre noir, muscade, gingembre), de la suie et des blocs entiers de tourbe huileuse et saline envahissent littéralement les papilles. Progressivement, des zestes de citron creusent un sillon acidulé à travers cette épaisse couche terreuse. Puis, des parfums floraux (lys, violette) ponctuent une palette aromatique aussi large que profonde.
  • Bouche : à la fois vive et onctueuse. En attaque de bouche, l’influence du rhum Worthy Park fait ressortir des notes de sucre de canne, de miel toutes fleurs et de fruits exotiques (ananas, banane). En milieu de bouche, une tourbe humide et saline prend le relais. Progressivement, celle-ci évolue vers des registres plus médicinaux (sinapisme) et plus empyreumatiques (goudron, grésil). L’équilibre entre les saveurs végétales de l’orge, terreuses de la tourbe et sucrées du rhum est parfait.
  • Finale : longue, dense. L’entame de la finale restitue toute la fougue qui caractérise le distillat de Ballechin. Autant dire qu’à cet instant précis, la tourbe a pris le dessus. Elle est tour à tour charbonneuse, végétale (champignons), herbacée (sauge), champêtre (pissenlit), tendrement chocolatée et médicinale (camphre). En rétro-olfaction, une fine pellicule de cendres recouvre l’intégralité du palais tandis que quelques fruits (pomme Golden, mirabelle) lui procurent une certaine gourmandise. Le verre vide est à l’unisson de la fin de bouche, médicinal, minéral, tourbé et viandé (bacon).
La marque
lazyload

La marque

Au moment du rachat de la distillerie en 2002, Andrew Symington a fait appel aux services de Iain Henderson, ancien directeur de la distillerie Laphroaig, pour créer un second malt très tourbé. Baptisé Ballechin, ce deuxième single malt est élaboré à partir d'orge maltée à 50 ppm de phénol à un taux comparable à celui des plus fumés des malts d'Islay. Disponible depuis 2006, il fait l'objet d'une cuvée annuelle limitée à 6 000 bouteilles. Encore plus révolutionnaire que son aîné, Ballechin est vieilli intégralement dans des fûts ayant contenu du vin, en commencant par le Bourgogne et le Madère.

lazyload

La distillerie

Depuis 2005 avec notamment l’ouverture de la micro-distillerie de Kilchoman sur l'île d'Islay, Edradour n'est sans doute plus la plus petite distillerie d'Ecosse. Nichée aux confins d'une petite vallée, dans les collines surplombant la ville de Pitlochry, cette distillerie aux allures de petit village a de quoi séduire avec ses volets rouges, son jardin paysager et son discret ruisseau. Rachetée en juillet 2002 par Andrew Symington, fondateur de Signatory Vintage, Edradour est désormais bien plus qu'une simple attraction touristique. Cette ferme-distillerie concentre toutes les opérations de la production du whisky en une seule pièce, du moulin à l'alambic, lui-même de la plus petite taille autorisée par les douanes britanniques. Très traditionnelle, Edradour attire quelque 100 000 visiteurs par an qui sont littéralement transportés au 19e siècle dans cette véritable capsule temporelle.

lazyload

Négociant

La maison de négoce Signatory Vintage n’est pas l’une des plus anciennes en Ecosse, et pourtant elle a réussi à se faire une très bonne réputation auprès des grands connaisseurs de malt. Créatrice de la gamme célèbre The Prestonfield, et bien d’autres encore, elle est surtout connue pour ses embouteillages en brut de fût et sans filtrage à froid, permettant ainsi à l’amateur de gouter son whisky dans un état le plus naturel possible. Elle a aussi été l’un des tout premiers embouteilleurs indépendants à acquérir une distillerie, et propose maintenant de plus en plus de versions de l’un des single malts le plus artisanaux. En savoir plus

Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

Livraison LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 130€ en France métropolitaine
dès 250€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas, Belgique, Espagne, Italie, Grande Bretagne et Luxembourg
ColissimoLIVRAISON EXPRESS

en point relais ou à domicile.

PackageEMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

CardsPAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Dalenys

TransfertPAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer


premium
SATISFACTION CLIENT
Service aprs venteSERVICE CLIENT
tel : 09 70 83 03 60
lundi au vendredi - de 9h à 19h
samedi - de 10h à 19h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats