Archive RITTENHOUSE 100 Proof

RITTENHOUSE 100 Proof

Straight Rye, United States / Kentucky, 70cl, Ref: 487

Our experts reviews

When it comes to rye whiskey, three names immediately spring to mind: Sazerac, Van Winkle and Rittenhouse. The first two are extremely hard to come by in France. The same cannot be said for Rittenhouse, a tribute to the first colonials who landed in Philadelphia. Representing the best value for money in its category, it is a shining example of its kind. It is the pride and joy of Max Shapira, owner of the family-run Heaven Hill distillery in Louisville, where this authentic rye whiskey is made. La Maison du Whisky has been importing and distributing this multi-award-winning classic for over 19 years now - and we still love its violet liquorice notes as much as ever.

Made from 51% minimum rye, rye whiskey was long classified as an ‘endangered species’, but has been returning to favour since the early 2000s. Still only available in a handful of expressions, it was, in its heyday, considered to be the classic richly flavoured American whiskey, before being supplanted by bourbon.

Read more

See more products from RITTENHOUSE

See all products: Official Bottler

Definitely unavailable

€38.00
€38.00
  • Free delivery

    from €130

  • Protected package

    ultra-resistant packaging

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- from €130 in France
- from €250 in Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Britain
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
Description

Product details

Expert Reviews

82 points, Serge Valentin on Whiskyfun, 2 September 2013
8/10 by Michael Jackson

Tasting note

  • Appearance : Mahogany with coppery glints.
  • Nose : Intense, concentrated. The rye really flexes its muscles, displaying its power and robustness. It is accompanied by balsamic notes and precious wood (eucalyptus, cedar). Heady florals gradually make an appearance (lily, iris butter). Very open, it displays a generous fruitiness (orange, greengage plum).
  • Palate : Rich, full of freshness. Notes of freshly-cut grass and coriander lay side-by-side with candied citrus fruits (lemon, bergamot orange). Noble spices (cardamom, nutmeg) set the pace on the mid-palate. Turning slightly salty, empyreumatic (lime tree, cedar) and exotic (guava, passion fruit). A very fine-grain texture.
  • Overall : Simultaneously voluptuous and firm. Precious wood ensures continuity with the finish. The rye confidently asserts its rigour and restraint. Dark chocolate and citrus fruit (tangerine, grapefruit) lend it incredible elegance. The retronasal olfaction here is spicy (cinnamon) and the empty glass is liquorice-inspired and fruity (mirabelle plum).
The brand
lazyload

The distillery

America's largest family-owned and operated distilled spirits producer and marketer, Heaven Hill Brands has grown beyond its traditional roots as a Bourbon distiller to become the country's seventh largest overall distilled spirits producer and marketer with a portfolio of well-known, innovative and relevant products. Heaven Hill remains the world's second largest holder of Bourbon Whiskey and produces some of the most successful distilled spirits brands in the U.S.
Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• 1 coffret de 6 verres offert avec le code : NOEL16 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016 dès 140€ d'achat
Archive RITTENHOUSE 100 Proof

RITTENHOUSE 100 Proof

Straight Rye, Etats-Unis / Kentucky 70cl Ref: 487

Un incontournable pour La Maison du Whisky

Lorsque l'on évoque le Rye whiskey trois noms nous viennent immédiatement à l'esprit: Sazerac, Van Winkle et Rittenhouse. Les deux premiers sont quasi-introuvables en France. Pas Rittenhouse qui rend hommage aux premiers colons débarqués à Philadelphie. Meilleur rapport qualité prix de sa catégorie, c'est un modèle du genre. Il fait la fierté de Max Shapira, propriétaire de la distillerie familiale Heaven Hill, située à Louisville ou est produit cet authentique rye whiskey. Et depuis plus de 19 ans que La Maison du Whisky importe et distribue ce grand classique multi-médaillé, nous apprécions toujours autant ses notes de réglisse à la violette.

Elaboré à partir de 51% de seigle minimum le rye whiskey est une catégorie de whisky un temps "en voie de disparition" est en plein renouveau depuis le début des années 2000. Encore réduit à une poignée d'expressions, celui-ci fut en son temps le whiskey américain par excellence riche, avant d'être détrôné par le bourbon.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

Description

Détails du produit

Avis d'experts

82 points, Serge Valentin sur Whiskyfun.com, 2 septembre 2013
8/10 par Michael Jackson

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : Acajou à reflets cuivrés.
  • Nez : Intense, concentré. Le seigle déploie sa puissance et sa robustesse. Il est entouré de notes de bois précieux et balsamiques (eucalyptus, cèdre). Les fleurs capiteuses font progressivement leur apparition (lys, concrète d’iris). Très ouvert, il fait preuve de beaucoup de fruité (orange, reine-claude).
  • Bouche : Riche, pleine de fraîcheur. Des notes d’herbes fraîchement coupées et de coriandre côtoient des agrumes confits (citron, bergamote). Des épices nobles (cardamome, muscade) assurent le tempo en milieu de bouche. Elle devient légèrement salée, empyreumatique (tilleul, cèdre) et exotique (goyave, passion). Son toucher possède un grain très fin.
  • Finale : Gourmande et en même temps ferme. Le bois précieux assure une continuité avec la fin de bouche. Le seigle impose avec assurance sa rigueur et sa retenue. Le chocolat noir et les agrumes (mandarine, pamplemousse) lui confèrent beaucoup d’élégance. La rétro olfaction est épicée (cannelle) et le verre vide est réglissé et fruité (mirabelle).
La marque

La distillerie

Heaven Hill est sans conteste le plus grand producteur de bourbon indépendant et le septième plus grand producteur de spiritueux des Etats-Unis. Très attachée à ses racines, la distillerie emploie exclusivement du maïs en provenance des larges plaines entourant la distillerie. Autre particularité, Heaven Hill utilise les mêmes proportions de céréales pour l'élaboration de tous ses straight bourbons, Elijah Craig, Old Fitzgerald et Evan Williams. Heaven Hill peut également se targuer avec Bernheim Original d'avoir remis au goût du jour une catégorie de whiskey depuis longtemps disparue, le straight wheat whiskey.

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur RITTENHOUSE 100 Proof

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats