PORT ELLEN 30 ans 50%

Single Malt, Scotland / Islay 70cl Ref: 19521

This 1983 version, the year in which the distillery closed, is magnificently elegant and typical of the distillery’s style. More than a mere tasting expe - rience, this is a journey through time overflowing with memories and powerful emotions. Slainte!

Single Cask - Refill Hogshead Limited edition of 75 bottles LMDW world exclusive Profile: with remarkable sweet generosity (vanilla custard, lemon tart), notes of candied lemon, cut hay and Williams pear frame an ethereal peatiness.

Read more

In stock

Add to my favorite
  • Free delivery

    on this product

  • Fast shipping

    From 2 to 5 days

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- for € 120 in France
- for € 200 in Germany,
Netherlands and Luxembourg
SSL Secure Paiement

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.


Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : vibrant gold
  • Nose : elegant, complex. Initially, notes of candied lemon, cut hay and Williams pear frame an airy peatiness. It gradually becomes salted, liquorice-scented and spiced (black pepper). Upon airing, its creamy yet maritime character is heightened (seaweed, almond milk, fresh walnut). It shifts register, lingering on coriander, tobacco, dark chocolate, exotic fruits (pineapple) and courgette flowers in a subtle twist
  • Palate : full-bodied, rich. Boasting remarkable voluptuousness (vanilla flan, lemon tart), the opening is also iodised, smoky, peaty and balsamic (cedar, thuja). The mid-palate offers essential oils. These drench the palate like a revitalising bath, refreshing as they go. Candied lemon and white-fleshed fruit (pear, peach) add juice to the back of the palate. The latter is sumptuously spiced (saffron, nutmeg).
  • Overall : long, silky. Prolongs the end of the palate indefinitely. Peat with a liquorice-inspired milky twist (coconut, almond) takes control of the gustatory palette. The Port Ellen distillery emerges on the horizon. The remains of buildings that still stand proud can be made out. The fact that this iconic single malt is so rarely seen these days heightens the emotion. Peat, smoke, fruit, spices and iodine blossom throughout the retro-nasal olfaction. The empty glass is a total embodiment of Port Ellen - enough to give you goosebumps.
The brand

The brand

Built in 1824 in the south of the Isle of Islay, Port Ellen was the site of numerous technological experiments that revolutionised the whisky industry in the 20th century. Closed between 1930 and 1969, it opened a malting centre on its site in 1973 tasked with supplying all the distilleries on the island with smoky malted barley. Again closed in 1983, Port Ellen lost its production licence in 1992 and, with it, all hope of ever producing whisky again. At the beginning of the millennium, the majority of its buildings were knocked down, leaving only the pagodas and warehouses. Though the end of the 90s and the beginning of the millennium were a prosperous time for single cask, cask strength versions from independent bottlers, this very iodine and smoky malt has become increasingly rare over the last five years.

Delivery and payment


on all orders from €120 and up in France Mainland
from €200 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg

To your home, a collection point or "espace cityssimo".

logo collectorsCOLLECTORS

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery



Paypal, Paybox


Bank Transfer

tel : +331 80 36 90 10
Monday-Friday from 8am to 8pm
Saturday – from 9am to 8pm
See all payment methods
Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on PORT ELLEN 30 ans

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• LIVRAISON OFFERTE

    Pendant 3 jours SANS MINIMUM D'ACHAT !* avec le code LIV1ERMAI

    * Valable avec So Colissimo en France Métropolitaine du 29/04/2017 au 01/05/2017

Archive PORT ELLEN 30 ans

PORT ELLEN 30 ans

Single Malt, Ecosse / Islay 70cl Ref: 19521

Cette version millésimée 1983, année de la fermeture de la distillerie, est magnifique d’élégance et de typicité. Plus qu’à une simple dégustation, c’est à un véritable voyage dans le temps empli de souvenirs et chargé d’émotions fortes que le dégustateur est convié. Slainte !

Single Cask - Refill Hogshead Série limitée à 75 bouteilles - Une exclusivité LMDW Profil : d’une gourmandise remarquable (flan à la vanille, tarte au citron), des notes de citron confit, de foin coupé et de poire William encadrent une tourbe aérienne.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : or vif.
  • Nez : racé, complexe. Dans un premier temps, des notes de citron confit, de foin coupé et de poire William encadrent une tourbe aérienne. Il devient ensuite salé, réglissé et épicé (poivre noir). A l’aération, son tempérament à la fois crémeux et marin s’intensifie (algue, lait d’amande, noix fraîche). Changeant de registre, il se prolonge sur la coriandre, le tabac, le chocolat noir, les fruits exotiques (ananas) et, avec subtilité, sur la fleur de courgette.
  • Bouche : ample, riche. D’une gourmandise remarquable (flan à la vanille, tarte au citron), l’attaque en bouche est également iodée, fumée, tourbée et balsamique (cèdre, thuya). Le milieu de bouche propose de savourer des huiles essentielles. Celles-ci agissent à la manière d’un bain de jouvence et rafraîchissent le palais. Des citrons confits et des fruits blancs (poire, pêche) procurent beaucoup de jus à l’arrière bouche. Celle-ci est également divinement épicée (safran, muscade).
  • Finale : longue, soyeuse. Elle prolonge indéfiniment la fin de bouche. Puis, une tourbe réglissée et laiteuse (coco, amande) prend en main l’évolution de la palette gustative. La distillerie Port Ellen se profile à l’horizon. On accoste à quelques encablures des bâtiments toujours fièrement dressés. L’émotion est forte tant les occasions de déguster ce single malt mythique sont devenues rares de nos jours. De la tourbe, de la fumée, des fruits, des épices et de l’iode abondent en rétro olfaction.
La marque

La marque

Construite en 1824 au sud de l’île d’Islay, Port Ellen fut le théâtre de nombreuses expérimentations technologiques qui au 20eme siècle révolutionnèrent l’industrie du whisky. Fermée de 1930 à 1969, elle accueille sur son site en 1973 un centre de maltage, chargé de fournir toutes les distilleries de l’île en orge maltée fumée. Fermée en 1983, Port Ellen perd sa licence de production en 1992 et avec elle tout espoir de reproduire un jour. Au tout début des années 2000, ses bâtiments dont ne subsistent que les pagodes et les chais de vieillissements, sont abattus. Si la fin des années 90 et le début des années 2000 furent prospères en versions single casks, brut de fûts mises en bouteilles par les négociants ; depuis 5 ans son malt très iodé et fumé se fait de plus en plus rare.

Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur PORT ELLEN 30 ans

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats