Line product Single Grain Collection
Archive NORTH BRITISH 17 YEAR OLD 1997 Vintage


Single Grain, Scotland / The Lowlands 70cl Ref: 15449

North British 1997, a single grain malt from the distillery of the same name, is a malted whisky characterised by notes of varnish, pineapple, vanilla and coconut.

Read more

This bottle is no longer available


However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.


Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website and selected wine retail shops in France.


Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : light straw
  • Nose : malt, notes of varnish, vanilla.
  • Palate : generous, fresh, fruity (coconut) and spicy (nutmeg).
  • Overall : soft, spicy.
The brand

The brand

The North British grain distillery was founded in 1885 by three important names in the world of blended scotch at the time: Andrew Usher, William Sanderson and John M Crabbie. The aim was to join forces in order to compete against DCL, a structure created in 1877 that brought together a huge number of distilleries, whose production it controlled. The mission for North British was to supply all of the grain whisky required for the growth of various blends, such as Usher’s Whisky and Vat 69. The distillery remained independent until 1993 when it joined the Diageo group.


Although the independent bottler Signatory Vintage cannot claim to be one of the oldest in Scotland, it has managed to build up an extremely solid reputation amongst the great malt connoisseurs. The creator of the famous range The Prestonfield and many other well-known ranges, it is best known for its un-chillfiltered and cask strength bottlings that offer amateurs the chance to enjoy their whisky in its most natural form. It was also one of the first independent bottlers to acquire a distillery and now offers a growing number of expressions of one of the most artisan single malts available.

The line

The Single Grain Collection consists of a small collection of ‘single grain’ whiskies from the main Scottish distilleries, including North British and Cameronbridge. Bottled in small batches, these are all vintage whiskies and, in keeping with Signatory Vintage’s tradition, show the exact date of their bottling on the label. Aged for slightly more than ten years, these are light, fruity, accessible spirits, enabling single malt enthusiasts to discover a family of whiskies that is still relatively little-known, but well worth exploring.

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on NORTH BRITISH 17 YEAR OLD 1997 Vintage

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Gamme Single Grain Collection
Archive NORTH BRITISH 18 ans 1997

NORTH BRITISH 18 ans 1997

Single Grain, Ecosse / Lowlands 70cl Ref: 15449

Single grain de la distillerie du même nom, North British 1997 est un whisky malté, marqué par des notes de vernis, d'ananas, de vanille et de noix de coco.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : paille clair
  • Nez : malté, notes de vernis, vanillé
  • Bouche : gourmande, fraîche, fruitée (noix de coco) et épicée (noix de muscade)
  • Finale : douce, épicée
La marque

La marque

C’est en 1885 que la distillerie de grain North British fut fondée par trois personnalités importantes du monde du blended scotch de l’époque : Andrew Usher, William Sanderson et John M Crabbie. Il s’agissait alors d’exercer un contre-pouvoir sur la toute jeune DCL constituée en 1877 ; une structure regroupant de très nombreuses distilleries et qui en contrôlait la production. North British devait ainsi fournir le whisky de grain nécessaire à l’expansion de plusieurs marques de blends dont Usher’s Whisky et Vat 69. Jusqu’en 1993 la distillerie reste indépendante avant de tomber dans le giron de Diageo.

Négociant

La maison de négoce Signatory Vintage n’est pas l’une des plus anciennes en Ecosse, et pourtant elle a réussi à se faire une très bonne réputation auprès des grands connaisseurs de malt. Créatrice de la gamme célèbre The Prestonfield, et bien d’autres encore, elle est surtout connue pour ses embouteillages en brut de fût et sans filtrage à froid, permettant ainsi à l’amateur de gouter son whisky dans un état le plus naturel possible. Elle a aussi été l’un des tout premiers embouteilleurs indépendants à acquérir une distillerie, et propose maintenant de plus en plus de versions de l’un des single malts le plus artisanaux. En savoir plus

Gamme

La Single Grain Collection réunit une petite collection de whiskies dits « single grain » issus des plus grandes distilleries de grain écossais, dont North British et Cameronbridge. Embouteillages "small batch" (correspondant à un petit lot), ces whiskies sont tous millésimés et, fidèles à la tradition de Signatory Vintage, portent sur leurs étiquettes la date précise de mise en bouteille. Âgées d'un peu plus de dix ans, ces eaux-de-vie sont fruitées, légères et facile d'accès, permettant aux amateurs de single malt de découvrir cette famille de whisky encore très méconnue, mais tout à fait digne d’intérêt.

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur NORTH BRITISH 18 ans 1997

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats