Line product Wilson & Morgan Cask Strength
Archive MORTLACH 15 YEAR OLD 1999 Sherry wood

MORTLACH 15 YEAR OLD 1999 Sherry wood

Single Malt, Scotland / Speyside 70cl Ref: 19065

It would be impossible to resist this perfectly mature, decidedly mellow and complex Mortlach: a highly sought-after single malt throughout the world. Many thanks to the Italian wine merchants Wilson & Morgan for unearthing such a jewel right in the heart of Speyside.

Single Cask #2 - Oloroso Sherry Profile: full-bodied, rich. Intensely fruity (Mirabelle plum, pineapple, orange, melon) and floral (reseda, iris, rose). Aromas of coriander, ginger, strong spices, vanilla and precious wood.

Read more

This bottle is no longer available


However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.


Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : burnished gold with glints of topaz.
  • Nose : full-bodied, concentrated. The initial nose exudes fresh and exotic fruits (Mirabelle plum, pineapple), beeswax, and then citrus fruits (orange, tangerine) and heady florals (reseda, iris). All of these notes merge together to form a stimulating and mature aroma. Precious wood, coriander and strong spices (nutmeg, ginger) linger in the background.
  • Palate : full-bodied, rich. Its honeyed attack is particularly smooth. It then roots deeply into a rich and oily earth. Notes of gentian roots and ginger take over the mid-palate with their delicate bitterness. Develops into fruity (melon), floral (wilted roses, daisies) and vanilla notes.
  • Overall : long, soft. Dessert-like, it evokes fruit cake. Roasted and herbaceous, it oscillates between coffee and fresh tobacco. A fine layer of liquorice and dark chocolate covers the end of the palate while, very quickly, the retro-olfaction becomes Hispanic (walnut, almond, ‘vins de voile’: wines matured under a film of yeast). The empty glass is camphoric.
The brand

The brand

Founded in 1823, Mortlach is allegedly built on the site of a former illicit distillery. It was one of the rare distilleries allowed to produce alcohol during the second world war, right up until 1944. Using partial triple distillation and a traditional “worm tube” condensation system – also used by Talisker and Edradour – Mortlach produces a very delicate distillate. As is the case with many of the distilleries owned by the Diageo group, very few official bottlings of the malt exist outside of the Flora & Fauna and Rare Malts ranges released in the 1990s.


At the head of this independent merchant, Fabio Rossi continues the long tradition of Italian whisky bottling. His bottlings mainly concern malt whiskies from the isle of Islay, and are characterised by their sherry cask finishings.

The line

The whiskies in the Barrel Selection Cask Strength range are, as the name suggests, bottled straight from the cask, with no dilution, filtration or addition of caramel. Single malts at cask strength are not recommended as an introduction to whisky, they are more for the seasoned enthusiast in search of authenticity. When the selected casks are large (for example sherry butts contain around 500 bottles), the whisky is bottled as a single cask; when they are small, a small blend – always of a single malt – is made from several different casks that are of a very similar character and bottled as a ‘small batch’.

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on MORTLACH 15 YEAR OLD 1999 Sherry wood

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Gamme Wilson & Morgan Cask Strength
Archive MORTLACH 15 ans 1999 Sherry wood

MORTLACH 15 ans 1999 Sherry wood

Single Malt, Ecosse / Speyside 70cl Ref: 19065

Quand Mortlach fait preuve d’autant de maturité, de puissance veloutée et de complexité, il est impossible de résister à ce single malt prisé des amateurs du monde entier. Aussi, un grand merci à la maison de négoce italienne Wilson & Morgan qui a su dénicher en plein coeur du Speyside une telle pépite.

Single Cask #2 - Oloroso Sherry Profil : ample, riche. Notes fruitées intenses (mirabelle, ananas, orange, melon) et florales (réséda, iris, rose). Arômes de coriandre, de gingembre, d’épices fortes, de vanille et de bois précieux.

Lire plus

Saveurs

  • Iodé
  • Tourbé
  • Boisé
  • Epicé
  • Floral
  • Fruité

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : vieil or à reflets topaze.
  • Nez : ample, concentré. Le premier nez révèle des fruits frais et exotiques (mirabelle, ananas), de la cire d’abeille, puis des agrumes (orange, mandarine) et des fleurs capiteuses (réséda, iris). Toutes ces notes intimement liées forment un ensemble chatoyant et mature. On perçoit derrière du bois précieux, de la coriandre et des épices fortes (muscade, gingembre).
  • Bouche : pleine, riche. Son attaque miellée est particulièrement suave. Puis, elle s’enracine profondément dans une terre huileuse et grasse. Des notes de racine de gentiane et de gingembre occupent le milieu de bouche de leur fine amertume. Elle évolue sur des notes fruitées (melon), florales (rose fanée, pâquerette) et vanillées.
  • Finale : longue, tendre. Pâtissière, elle évoque un cake aux raisins secs et aux fruits confits. Torréfiée et herbacée, elle oscille entre le café et le tabac frais. Une fine couche de réglisse et de chocolat noir enrobe l’arrière-bouche tandis que, peu après, la rétro-olfaction prend des allures hispaniques (noix, amande, vin de voile). Le verre vide est camphré.
La marque

La marque

Fondée en 1823, Mortlach aurait été construite sur le site d'une ancienne distillerie illicite. Elle fut l'une des très rares distilleries autorisée à produire de l'alcool au cours de la seconde guerre mondiale et ce, jusqu'en 1944. Réalisant une triple distillation partielle, et bénéficiant d'un système de condensation à l'ancienne en "Worm Tube", qu'elle partage avec les distilleries Talisker et Edradour, Mortlach produit un distillat très délicat. A l'instar de nombreuses distilleries de malt du groupe Diageo, peu d'embouteillages officiels existent, si ce n'est sous les gammes Flora & Fauna et Rare Malt proposées dans les années 1990.

Négociant

À la tête de cette maison indépendante, Fabio Rossi perpétue une longue tradition de négoce italien de whisky. Ses mises en bouteilles font la part belle aux malts de l’île d’Islay et ses vieillissements intégraux ou affinages en fûts de sherry sont la signature même de la maison.

Gamme

Les whiskies de la gamme Barrel Selection Cask Strength sont, comme indiquent le nom, des whiskies mis en bouteille en brut de fût, sans réduction, sans filtration et sans rajout de caramel. Des single malts à la force du fût, ce ne sont pas des eaux-de-vie de débutant, mais plutôt pour amateur averti, en quête d'authenticité. Lorsque les fûts sélectionnés sont grands (par exemple des sherry butts, dont la contenance tourne autour de 500 bouteilles), le whisky est embouteillé en tant que single cask ; lorsqu'ils sont petits, un petit assemblage - toujours un single malt - est fait et de fûts différents mais de caractère très proche est embouteillé comme un "small batch".

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur MORTLACH 15 ans 1999 Sherry wood

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats