Archive LAGAVULIN 12 ans 13th Release

LAGAVULIN 12 ans 13th Release

Single Malt, Scotland / Islay 70cl Ref: 18168

A must have LMDW

Drier, livelier and sharper than its renowned elder sibling, the Lagavulin 16 Year Old, the 12 Year Old Cask Strength is already in its 14th edition. Since its beginnings in 2002, it has continuously lived up to its reputation as an extreme single malt. Revered every year by loyal fans of authentic Islays, this 13th edition is once again marked by characteristic notes of peat smoke. We too have been fans from the very beginning.

A limited vintage much-appreciated by enthusiasts, every year the Lagavulin 12 Year Old Natural Cask Strength comes out at the same time as other bottlings from the Special Releases range. Bottled at cask strength, undiluted and non-chill filtered, this is a delicious and revitalising malt. The initial impression is of a fairly reserved member of the Lagavulin family. Yet it quickly opens up to become more expressive with a dash of water. Intense notes of pine mingle with the acridity of smoke, making this ideal when paired with light but intensely-flavoured meals.

Read more

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : Very pale greenish gold.
  • Nose : Initially mellow, seductive and well-crafted. The intensity of the red berries gives way to mellow, delicious aromas with a smooth smoky note. Notes of scorched earth pave the way for peat smoke and burnt matches. Next, oily and incisive touches of tropical fruits emerge. The overall effect mellows upon dilution: fresh notes of smoke unfurl, followed by raisins and dried fruits. Wood fire notes fade out in the aftertaste.
  • Palate : Light and oily on the palate. The opening is refreshing, salty and then astringent. Well-balanced on the palate (between mellowness and acidity) and voluptuous, it is almost mouth-watering, reminiscent of grilled chicory coated in peppery olive oil. The charred notes then pick up steam, marking a shift towards a taste of smoky wax. Mellower and more accessible once diluted, the notes of anise and fennel seed make way for flavours of roasted fruit scones and jam tarts.
  • Overall : Both smooth and delicious, dominated by notes of anise and smoke. An almost oily effect in the aftertaste, with the addition of water it becomes smooth and abrupt, finishing on a subtle smoky note. Pleasantly astringent and characterised by a hint of pine.
The brand

The brand

Lagavulin was the first distillery to legally produce whisky on the Isle of Islay. Located to the east of Port Ellen, which provides it with its malted barley, Lagavulin produces a peaty malt in strict respect of the island’s traditions. Smoky, marine and delicately woody, Lagavulin’s character has become a veritable ambassador for the Islay malts, particularly thanks to the Lagavulin 16 Year Old, which was chosen to represent the Islay malts in the Classic Malts range, and which has, in the space of 20 years, become a veritable icon. Find out more

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on LAGAVULIN 12 ans 13th Release

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• 1 coffret de 6 verres offert avec le code : NOEL16 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016 dès 140€ d'achat
Archive LAGAVULIN 12 ans 13th Release

LAGAVULIN 12 ans 13th Release

Single Malt, Ecosse / Islay 70cl Ref: 18168

Un incontournable pour La Maison du Whisky

Plus sec, plus vif et plus ciselé que son illustre ainé, le Lagavulin 16 ans, le 12 ans brut de fût en est déjà à sa quatorzième édition. Il faut dire que depuis ses débuts en 2002, il n'a jamais failli à sa réputation de single malt de l'extrême. Plébiscitée chaque année par les inconditionnels d'Islay authentiques, cette 13ème édition est une nouvelle fois marquée par des notes caractéristiques de feu de tourbe. Tout comme eux, nous sommes des fans de la première heure.

Cuvée limitée et très appréciée des amateurs, Lagavulin 12 ans Natural Cask Strength sort chaque année à la même période que les autres embouteillages de la gamme Special Releases. Mis en bouteille en brut de fût, sans réduction et sans filtrage à froid, c’est un malt très appétissant et revigorant. D’abord, on a l’impression d’avoir affaire à un membre plutôt réservé de la famille Lagavulin. Pourtant il ne tarde pas à s’ouvrir et devient plus expressif après l’ajout d’un trait d’eau. D’intenses notes de pin ainsi que l’âcreté de la fumée invitent à le déguster avec des plats maigres, mais aux saveurs intenses.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : Or verdâtre très clair.
  • Nez : D’abord doux, séduisant et réfléchi. Le mordant des baies rouges laisse ensuite place à des arômes doux et savoureux, avec une note suave de fumée. Les notes de terre incandescentes annoncent la fumée en provenance de la tourbe et d’allumettes brûlées. S’ensuivent des pointes huileuses et incisives de fruits tropicaux. L’ensemble s’adoucit après dilution : on distingue alors des notes fraîches de fumée, puis de raisins secs et de fruits séchés. Une note de fumée de bois s’estompe également en arrière-bouche.
  • Bouche : Léger et huileux en bouche. L'attaque est rafraîchissante, salée, puis astringente. La bouche est équilibrée (entre douceur et acidité) et enveloppante, et se révèle même très appétissante et rappelle une endive grillée à cœur nappée d’huile d’olive poivrée. Les notes brûlées se renforcent par la suite, évoluant vers un goût de cire fumée. Plus douce et plus accessible après dilution, les notes d’anis et de graines de fenouil laissent place à une saveur de scones aux fruits rôtis et de tarte à la confiture.
  • Finale : À la fois suave et savoureuse, dominée par des notes de fumée et d’anis. Presque huileuse en arrière-bouche, elle devient après ajout d’eau suave et abrupte, puis se termine par une note légère de fumée. Agréablement astringente et marquée par une note de pin.
La marque

La marque

Lagavulin fut la première distillerie à produire légalement du whisky sur l'île d'Islay. Située à l'est de Port Ellen d'où provient son orge maltée, elle élabore un single malt tourbé dans la plus pure tradition de cette île. Fumé, marin et finement boisé, le caractère de Lagavulin est devenu un véritable ambassadeur des malts d'Islay, notamment grâce au Lagavulin 16 ans, sélectionné pour être le représentant des malts d'Islay dans la gamme des Classic Malts, et devenu en l'espace de 20 ans une véritable icône. En savoir plus

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur LAGAVULIN 12 ans 13th Release

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats