GLEN GRANT 1956 First Fill Sherry - 60th anniversary LMDW 53,9%

Single Malt Whisky, Scotland / Speyside, 70cl, Ref: 19718

In 2016 La Maison du Whisky will be celebrating its 60th anniversary. For the occasion, the company’s staff are proud to have selected this Glen Grant 1956 aged in a first-fill sherry cask. For the last sixty years, a mysterious alchemy has slowly but surely shaped the aromatic and gustatory profile of this venerable single malt. For the same last sixty years, everyone at La Maison du Whisky has contributed, and continues to contribute, each in their own way, to the story of the company created by Georges Benitah back in September 1956.

Profile: powerful and fresh, the nose is characterised by notes of roasted figs and truffles, and evokes rhubarb jam. The palate is elegantly spicy and floral (freesia). Notes of red fruit (strawberry, redcurrant). Tobacco and black olives emerge on the finish.

Single Cask no. 4450 – First Fill Sherry Butt
Limited edition of 218 bottles
Exclusive to LMDW

Read more

See more products from GLEN GRANT

See all products: Gordon & MacPhail

Definitely unavailable

€2,890.00
€2,890.00
  • Free delivery

    on this product

  • Protected package

    ultra-resistant packaging

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- from €130 in France
- from €250 in Germany, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Spain, Italy, Britain
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : mahogany with tawny tinges.
  • Nose : rich, concentrated. Phenomenally powerful and yet at the same time exceptionally fresh, the initial nose is full of tertiary aromas: floating dust, black liquorice, chocolate, leather, roasted fig, truffle, etc. It develops with slightly burnt, jammy notes (blackcurrant) and rhubarb. Unbelievably deep, it has stood the test of time with panache and generosity. Havana cigar smoke then drifts over the aromatic palette.
  • Palate : lively, juicy. Underpinned by a remarkably fruity acidity produced by the sherry, the opening digs a deep furrow and shifts the spotlight to notes of soil, liquorice, noble spices (saffron, cardamom) and heady florals (freesia, hyacinth). Red (strawberry, redcurrant) and ripe fruit (russet apples, apricots) suddenly appear on the mid-palate. Little by little, it becomes vanilla-flavoured and roasted.
  • Overall : long, silky. Velvety tannins flood each and every taste bud. Most of the fruit is still present. Intimately close to the palate, it takes its time in developing notes of tobacco, raisins and black olives. The retro-nasal olfaction is warm, voluminous (taffeta, silk) and fruity (wild strawberry, blueberry). The empty glass has an amazingly young expression, dominated by malted barley.
The brand
lazyload

The brand

Founded in 1840, Glen Grant for a long time remained the property of the Chivas Brothers group (Pernod Ricard), before winding up in the hands of the Campari group in 2005. Mainly matured in ex-bourbon casks and bottled as a five and ten year old, Glen Grant is a little known single malt, considering the production capacity of its distillery. Producing almost six million litres of pure spirit every year, Glen Grant has the fourth highest capacity in Scotland after Roseisle, Glenfiddich and Macallan. It’s known best amongst single malt amateurs for its first-fill sherry casks released by the independent bottler Gordon & MacPhail.

lazyload

Merchant

This independent bottler is without a doubt one of the most highly acclaimed in Scotland. It stands out, not for its age (though it is the oldest independent bottler in Scotland), but for its complete mastery of cask ageing. Gordon & MacPhail is the only bottler to have its own casks - carefully chosen for the purpose - filled by the distilleries themselves, instead of simply buying the ones suggested to them by the latter. This allows it to determine, in advance and with great precision, exactly how many years a whisky will need to reach ideal maturation.

The line

The Book of Kells is a range by Scottish whisky specialists Gordon & MacPhail, which brings together its best whiskies and, since the 1970s, has generally been reserved for exclusive bottlings for a few long-standing customers, such as LMDW. The label of each bottle features a reproduction of an illumination from the famous 8th century manuscript, the Book of Kells. The illumination shows two people, ‘the Dram Takers”, sharing a glass. Hence the reason why the range is often referred to as the Dram Takers.

Delivery and payment

DELIVERY IN MAINLAND FRANCE AND WORLWIDE

Truck FREE DELIVERY
on all orders from €130 and up in France Mainland
from €250 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg, Italy, Spain, Britain, Belgium
colissimoEXPRESS DELIVERY SERVICE

To a collection point or to your home.

PackageMETICULOUS, SECURE PACKAGING
CollectorsCOLLECTORS
SPECIAL DELIVERY

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery

PAYMENT TERMS AND GUARANTEES

TabSECURE PAYMENT

Paypal, Dalenys

bankTRANSFER PAYMENT

Bank Transfer


premium

CUSTOMER SATISFACTION
Call CUSTOMER SERVICE
tel : +339 70 83 03 60
Monday-Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday – from 10am to 7pm
See all payment methods
Back to top

ALCOHOL ABUSE IS DANGEROUS FOR HEALTH. DRINK RESPONSIBLY.

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping View cart & checkout
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

lmdw 60 yo

Création 2017

+ 150 EXCLUSIVITÉS SELECTIONNéEs
SPÉCIALEMENT PaR LMDW

GLEN GRANT 1956 First Fill Sherry - 60 ans LMDW

Single Malt, Ecosse / Speyside 70cl Ref: 19718

Bientôt disponible

2 890,00 €
2 890,00 €
Ajouter à mes préférés
  • Livraison offerte

    sur ce produit

  • Envoi Rapide

    entre 3 et 5 jours

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
- dès 200€ vers l'Allemagne, Pays-Bas
et Luxembourg
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards

En 2016, La Maison du Whisky fête ses 60 ans. Aussi, toute son équipe est fière d’avoir sélectionné ce Glen Grant 1956 vieilli dans un fût de xérès de premier remplissage. Cela fait soixante ans qu’à l’intérieur de ce fût, une alchimie mystérieuse a patiemment façonné le profil aromatique et gustatif de ce vénérable single malt. Cela fait également soixante ans que les femmes et les hommes qui ont participé et qui participent actuellement à écrire l’histoire de La Maison du Whisky ont chacun à leur façon apporté leur pierre à un édifice créé par Georges Benitah un jour de septembre 1956.

Profil : puissant, frais, le nez est marqué par des notes de figues rôties, de truffe, et évoque une confiture de rhubarbe. La bouche se révèle noblement épicée et florale (freesia). Notes de fruits rouges (fraise, groseille). La finale évolue sur le tabac et les olives noires.

Single Cask n° 4450 – First Fill Sherry Butt
Série limitée à 218 bouteilles
Une exclusivité LMDW

Lire plus
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : acajou à reflets fauves.
  • Nez : riche, concentré. D’une puissance phénoménale et en même temps d’une fraîcheur exceptionnelle, le premier nez est tertiaire : poussière en suspension, réglisse noire, chocolat, cuir, figues rôties, truffe etc… Il évolue sur des notes confiturées (cassis) légèrement brûlées et sur la rhubarbe. D’une profondeur inouïe, il a bravé avec éclat et générosité les épreuves du temps qui passe. La fumée d’un Havane flotte désormais sur la palette aromatique.
  • Bouche : vive, juteuse. Soutenue par une remarquable acidité fruitée apportée par le vin de xérès, l’attaque en bouche creuse un sillon profond et met sur le devant de la scène des notes de terre, de réglisse, d’épices nobles (safran, cardamome) et de fleurs capiteuses (freesia, jacinthe). Le milieu de bouche voit surgir des fruits rouges (fraise, groseille) et des fruits mûrs (pomme-reinette, abricot). Au fur et à mesure, elle devient vanillée et torréfiée.
  • Finale : longue, duveteuse. Ses tannins veloutés prennent inexorablement possession de la moindre de nos papilles gustatives. La plupart des fruits sont toujours présents. Intimement liée à la bouche, elle prend son temps pour évoluer vers des notes de tabac, de raisins secs et d’olives noires. La rétro olfaction est chaleureuse, étoffée (taffetas, soie) et fruitée (fraise des bois, myrtille). Le verre vide est d’une jeunesse d’expression époustouflante, l’orge maltée règne en maîtresse des lieux.
La marque

La marque

Fondée en 1840 Glen Grant est longtemps restée la propriété du groupe Chivas Brothers (Pernod Ricard) avant de tomber en 2005 dans l’escarcelle du groupe Campari. Principalement élevé en fûts de bourbon et mis en bouteille en tant que 5 ans ou 10 ans, Glen Grant est un single malt méconnu au regard de la capacité de production de sa distillerie. Avec prés de 6 millions de litres d’alcool pur par ans, Glen Grant se place en quatrième position après Roseisle, Glenfiddich et Macallan. Elle est surtout connue auprès des amateurs de single malts pour ses versions élevées en fûts de sherry de premier remplissage du négociant Gordon & MacPhail.

Négociant

Cette maison de négoce est sans aucune doute l’une des plus réputées en Ecosse. Ce qui la distingue des autres ce n’est pas son âge (elle est la plus ancienne), mais sa maitrise totale du vieillissement en fût. Gordon & MacPhail est la seule maison à faire remplir ses propres fûts – choisis soigneusement à cette fin – par les distilleries elles-mêmes, plutôt que de tout simplement acheter ce que leur proposent ces derniers. Ceci leur permet de déterminer à l’avance, et avec beaucoup de précision, combien d’années nécessitera la maturation idéale de tel ou tel whisky. En savoir plus

Gamme

Book of Kells est une gamme du négociant écossais Gordon & MacPhail regroupant ses meilleurs whiskies et, depuis les années 70, réservée généralement aux embouteillages exclusifs de quelques grands clients historiques, LMDW par exemple. La reproduction d'une enluminure figurant dans le célèbre Livre de Kells ("Book of Kells" en anglais), un manuscrit qui date de la fin du 8ème siècle, orne l’étiquette de chaque bouteille de deux personnages qui partagent un verre. Ces derniers sont également surnommés les "Dram Takers" ("Buveurs d'un Verre"). C'est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que l’on appelle souvent cette gamme "Dram Takers".

Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
dès 200€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas et Luxembourg
LIVRAISON SUR MESURE

A domicile, en point relais ou en espace cityssimo.

EMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

PAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Paybox

PAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer

SITE PREMIUM FIANET
SERVICE CLIENT
tel : 01 80 36 90 10
lundi au vendredi - de 8h à 20h
samedi - de 9h à 20h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur GLEN GRANT 1956 First Fill Sherry - 60 ans LMDW

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats