Archive DERRUMBES N.1 Oaxaca


Mezcal, Mexico / Oaxaca 70cl Ref: 4497

Produced in the mezcal capital of Santiago Matatlan, Derrumbes expresses all the power and exuberance of an artisanal mezcal. Elegant, earthy and meaty, it nevertheless remains very well-balanced, giving the agave a stunning backdrop against which to express its notes of salt, pepper, citrus and fresh fruits.

A mezcal that showcases the terroir and artisanal manufacturing methods of the Oaxaca region. Derrumbes N°1 is made solely from angustifolia agave (espadin) by the Mateo family, who have been growing the plant for three generations now. The result is a characteristic and expressive Derrumbes. Petrol, tarmac and burnt rubber emerge on the nose, giving way to a herbaceous, menthol aspect that unfurls refreshingly on the palate, followed by a retronasal olfaction marked by aromas of petrol and smoke that linger. A must for thrill-seekers! Profile: intense, round. Earthy, peaty, animalistic and mineral (manganese). Rural and rustic (straw, cattle). Heady florals (rhododendron, clove, daisy).

Read more

This bottle is no longer available


However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.


Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website and selected wine retail shops in France.


Product details

Expert Reviews

80 points, Serge Valentin on, 11 November 2013

Tasting note

  • Appearance : colourless.
  • Nose : intense, round. Initially extremely earthy, peaty, rubbery, animalistic and mineral (manganese). Rustic and rural to say the least, it manages to recreate the smells of a stable (straw, cattle) to great effect, before shifting towards heady florals (rhododendron, clove, daisy).
  • Palate : lively, vigorous. Creates the effect of the peatiest of Isle of Islay single malts. Barley takes over from the agave. Very well-balanced, the mid-palate restores order, with agave returning to power. Next, salt and pepper are sprinkled over the citrus fruit (lime, grapefruit) and fresh fruit (apple, pear).
  • Overall : long, concentrated. Particularly smoky (havana cigar, ash), this is reminiscent of an Islay too. Blue agave nectar and candied lemons assertively return us to Mexican soil. Aromatic plants (thyme, summer savory, verbena) precede a salty, tannic retronasal olfaction, while the empty glass takes us back to the barnyard.
The brand

The brand

Distilled by third-generation distiller Javier Mateo, the Derrumbes brand mezcals bring together the various expressions of this historic Mexican spirit. Distilled in three small villages in the states of Oaxaca, Michoacan and San Luis Potosi, each production is based on a different variety of agave, and offers the perfect marriage between terroir, technique and type of agave.

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on DERRUMBES N.1 Oaxaca

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• 1 coffret de 6 verres offert avec le code : NOEL16 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016 dès 140€ d'achat
Archive DERRUMBES N.1 Oaxaca

DERRUMBES N.1 Oaxaca

Mezcal, Mexique / Oaxaca 70cl Ref: 4497

Produit à Santiago Matatlan, la capital du mezcal, Derrumbes exprime toute la puissance et l’exubérance d’un mezcal artisanal. Racé, terreux, animal, il se révèle cependant très équilibré et offre à l’agave une superbe tribune où exprimer ses notes de sel, de poivre, d’agrumes et de fruits frais.

Un mezcal qui met en exergue un terroir et des méthodes de fabrication artisanales de la région d’Oaxaca. Derrumbes N°1 est élaboré uniquement à partir d’agave angustifolia (espadin) par la famille Mateo qui cultive cette dernière depuis trois générations. On obtient un Derrumbes typé et expressif. A la hauteur du nez, le pétrole, le macadam et le caoutchouc brûlé laissent place à un côté herbacé et mentholé, plutôt frais en bouche, puis par rétro-olfaction des arômes de pétrole et de fumé viennent s’éterniser. Pour les amateurs de sensations extrêmes ! Profil : intense, rond. Terreux, tourbé, animal et minéral (manganèse). Champêtre et rustique (paille, vache). Fleurs capiteuses (rhododendron, giroflée, marguerite).

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Avis d'experts

80 points, Serge Valentin sur Whiskyfun.com, 11 novembre 2013

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : incolore.
  • Nez : intense, rond. Il se montre au premier abord extrêmement terreux, tourbé, caoutchouteux, animal et minéral (manganèse). Pour le moins champêtre et rustique, il restitue ensuite avec force l’odeur d’une étable (paille, vache) avant d’évoluer sur les fleurs capiteuses (rhododendron, giroflée, marguerite).
  • Bouche : vive, nerveuse. Elle procure la sensation de savourer un single malt de l’île d’Islay parmi les plus tourbés qui soient. L’orge a quasiment pris la place de l’agave. Très équilibré, le milieu de bouche remet les choses en place et l’agave reprend droit de cité. Puis, du sel et du poivre recouvrent des agrumes (citron vert, pamplemousse) et des fruits frais (pomme, poire).
  • Finale : longue, concentrée. Particulièrement fumée (havane, cendres), elle évoque également un Islay. Ensuite, avec autorité, du lait d’agave bleue et des citrons confits la ramènent en terre mexicaine. Des plantes aromatiques (thym, sarriette, verveine) précèdent une rétro olfaction saline et tannique tandis que le verre vide nous fait de nouveau arpenter le plancher des vaches.
La marque

La marque

Distillés par Javier Mateo, distillateur de troisième génération, les mezcals de la marque Derrumbes réunissent les différentes expressions de cette eau-de-vie historique du Mexique. Distillées dans trois petits villages des états d’Oaxaca, de Michoacan et San Luis Potosi, chaque production, à base d'une variété d'agave différente, est le mariage parfait et réfléchi entre terroir, technique et variété.

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur DERRUMBES N.1 Oaxaca

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats