CARONI 1998 Full Proof 64,5%

Rum, Trinite & Tobago 70cl Ref: 18904

A blend of 18 bourbon barrels, this Caroni Full Proof, distilled in 1998 is a remarkable force of nature. Intense and fiery, a drop of water is required to fully appreciate this whisky. This Caroni Full Proof is simply brimming with flavours, which you will be able to ponder on for many hours one evening with a cigar.

Profile: woody notes on the forefront (Bourbon vanilla). Spicy notes (spice bread, cinnamon), exotic fruit (pineapple, flambéed banana, mango) and liquorice. Slightly mineral and intoxicating. Aromas of leather.

Read more

Definitely unavailable

€118.00
€118.00
Add to my favorite
  • Free delivery

    to € 120

  • Fast shipping

    From 2 to 5 days

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- for € 120 in France
- for € 200 in Germany,
Netherlands and Luxembourg
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : coppery amber with a golden hue.
  • Nose : concentrated, appealing, candied. Oak has made its entrance! This Caroni unveils its opus in three parts. The initial nose is woody (white oak) and spicy (spice bread, cinnamon, cloves). The second part is an explosion of apricots, plums and exotic fruits (flambéed banana). Caroni takes its time in revealing its true character in the third and final part. A handful of empyreumatic and mineral notes (hot tar), enveloped in musk, simply jump out of the glass. The epilogue is floral and heady.
  • Palate : intense. The palate is hit by a tidal wave of flavours: oak then spices and finally hot asphalt. A drop of water cools things down and the palate becomes mellow, highly fruity, mentholated and camphoric. Rum and raisin ice cream, liquorice sweets and a soft note of liquorice sticks, followed by animal and liquorice notes.
  • Overall : warm, takes its time. Bourbon vanilla and ripe banana come first, followed by a touch of aniseed. The finish is delicate and smooth with aromas of white oak, cream, butter, vanilla and salted butter caramel. Its final flourish is however very ‘Caronian’: mineral!
The brand

The brand

Beginning production in 1918, Caroni was the state distillery of Trinidad. It had access to its own sugar refinery that guaranteed its supply of local cane sugar. Equipped with both column stills and double distillation pot stills, until 2002 it produced “heavy rums” with an individual and noteworthy style. Only rarely producing bottlings under its own label, for a long time the distillery remained known only to a handful of connoisseurs, which gave it a mythical status further enhanced by its closure in 2002 by the Trinidad government. In 2004, the discovery of hundreds of bottles stored away in a bonded warehouse in Trinidad led to the joint purchase of the entire Caroni stock by Velier and La Maison du Whisky and to the bottling of various rare years which were then sold in limited editions and quickly gained cult status. This veritable and unique treasure lead to the production of a 12 year old Caroni. Despite its already respectable age, this completely new and historic bottling will be the last version of Caroni to be bottled so young.

Merchant

The Velier company was founded by the Chaix family in 1947. From 1953 to 1983, this small traditional company, located in the port of Gênes, specialised in the importation and distribution of wines, champagnes and spirits. In 1983, then aged 25, Luca Gargano acquired shares in Velier. Under his influence the company began specialising in the importation of exceptional spirits to be supplied to the most prestigious establishments in Italy. In the early 1990s, Luca Gargano heard rumours of a mythical, quasi-legendary stock of St James Rum that had supposedly been distilled at the end of the 19th century. Eventually he discovered proof that this stock, distilled in 1885 and bottled in 1952, did indeed exist. And in 1991, following lengthy discussions, Luca finally managed to acquire the entirety of this stock, which he then released on the Italian market. These selections of rums have since multiplied and led to the birth of exceptional ranges.

Delivery and payment

DELIVERY IN MAINLAND FRANCE AND WORLWIDE

FREE DELIVERY
on all orders from €120 and up in France Mainland
from €200 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg
PERSONALISED DELIVERY SERVICE

To your home, a collection point or "espace cityssimo".

METICULOUS, SECURE PACKAGING
logo collectorsCOLLECTORS
SPECIAL DELIVERY

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery

PAYMENT TERMS AND GUARANTEES

SECURE PAYMENT

Paypal, Paybox

TRANSFER PAYMENT

Bank Transfer

PREMIUM FIANET WESBITE
CUSTOMER SERVICE
tel : +331 80 36 90 10
Monday-Friday from 8am to 8pm
Saturday – from 9am to 8pm
See all payment methods
Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on CARONI 1998 Full Proof

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• 1 coffret de 6 verres offert avec le code : NOEL16 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016 dès 140€ d'achat

CARONI 1998 Full Proof 64,5%

Rhum, Trinite & Tobago 70cl Ref: 18904

Issu de l’assemblage de 18 bourbon barrels, ce Caroni Brut de fût, distillé en 1998 est une véritable force de la nature. Ardent, fougueux, un filet d’eau est nécessaire afin de pouvoir l’apprivoiser en bouche. À la manière d’un torrent de saveurs, ce Caroni Full Proof devient le meilleur compagnon d’une soirée et, agrémenté d’un cigare, il vous tiendra en haleine pendant des heures.

Profil : avant tout boisé (vanille Bourbon). Notes d’épices (pain d’épices, cannelle), de fruits exotiques (ananas, banane flambée, mangue) et de réglisse. Touche minérale et capiteuse. Arômes de cuir.

Lire plus

Rupture définitive

118,00 €
118,00 €
Ajouter à mes préférés
  • Livraison offerte

    dès 120 € d'achats

  • Envoi Rapide

    entre 3 et 5 jours

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
- dès 200€ vers l'Allemagne, Pays-Bas
et Luxembourg
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : ambre cuivré à reflets or.
  • Nez : concentré, enjôleur, confit. Le chêne a fait son oeuvre ! C’est un opus en trois actes que nous dévoile ce Caroni. Le premier nez est boisé (chêne blanc) et épicé (pain d’épices, cannelle, girofle). Dans un second temps, surgissent des abricots, des prunes, des fruits exotiques (banane flambée). Enfin, c’est dompté par le temps que le véritable caractère de Caroni apparaît. Quelques notes empyreumatiques et minérales surgissent (goudron chaud) enrobées de musc. L’épilogue est floral et capiteux.
  • Bouche : ardente. Tel un tsunami, le palais est balayé par un flot de saveurs : le chêne puis les épices et enfin l’asphalte chaud. Un filet d’eau vient calmer le jeu. Elle devient douce, fruitée à souhait, mentholée et camphrée. De la crème glacée rhum-raisin, du zan et une douce note de bâton de réglisse sont suivies de notes animales de cuir.
  • Finale : chaleureuse, elle prend son temps. Vanille Bourbon, banane mûre en premier lieu, suivies d’une pointe anisée. La finale joue sur la finesse et l’onctuosité avec des arômes de chêne blanc, de crème, de beurre, de vanille et de caramel au beurre salé. Le point d’orgue est cependant très caronien… minéral !
La marque

La marque

Entrée en activité en 1918, Caroni était la distillerie d'état de Trinidad, disposant de sa propre sucrerie pour assurer son approvisionnement en canne à sucre locale. Équipée aussi bien d'alambics à colonnes que d'alambics à repasse, elle a élaboré jusqu'en 2002 des "heavy rums" au style remarquable et singulier. Ne produisant que rarement des embouteillages sous sa propre étiquette, la distillerie est longtemps restée l'apanage de quelques connaisseurs, lui conférant un statut mythique que sa fermeture, décidée par le gouvernement trinidadien en 2002, n'a fait qu'accentuer. En 2004, la découverte de centaines de barriques entreposées à Trinidad a donné lieu au rachat conjoint par les sociétés Velier et La Maison du Whisky de la totalité du stock de Caroni et à la mise en bouteille de quelques millésimes rares, proposés en édition limitée et devenus cultes. La richesse de ce véritable trésor, unique en son genre, permet le lancement de Caroni 12 ans, une version inédite et historique, qui malgré son âge déjà respectable, sera la dernière expression de Caroni à être embouteillée aussi jeune.

Négociant

C’est en 1947 que la société Velier est fondée par la famille Chaix. De 1953 à 1983, cette petite société traditionnelle située dans le port de Gênes se spécialise dans l’importation et la distribution de vins, de champagnes et de spiritueux. En 1983, alors âgé de 25 ans, Luca Gargano acquiert des parts de Velier. Sous son impulsion, la société se spécialise dans l’importation de spiritueux d’exception afin d’approvisionner les plus prestigieux établissements italiens. Au début des années 90, Luca Gargano entend parler d’un stock mythique, quasi légendaire, de rhum St James qui aurait été distillé à la fin du 19e siècle. Une rencontre lui permet d’obtenir la preuve de l’existence de ce stock qui fut distillé en 1885 et embouteillé en 1952. En 1991, Luca obtient, au terme de longues discussions, l’intégralité de ce stock qu’il commercialise sur le marché italien. Depuis, ses sélections de rhums se sont multipliées pour donner naissance à des gammes exceptionnelles.

Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
dès 200€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas et Luxembourg
LIVRAISON SUR MESURE

A domicile, en point relais ou en espace cityssimo.

EMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

PAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Paybox

PAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer

SITE PREMIUM FIANET
SERVICE CLIENT
tel : 01 80 36 90 10
lundi au vendredi - de 8h à 20h
samedi - de 9h à 20h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur CARONI 1998 Full Proof

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats