CAOL ILA 2003 59,6%

Single Malt, Scotland / Islay 70cl Ref: 19715

A wonderful illustration of the voluptuous style of the Caol Ila whiskies bottled by Gordon & MacPhail; this version bottled in 2003 doesn’t hesitate to travel far from its home port, returning with its chests filled with spices, chillies, citrus fruit and liquorice. The crackling of a fire - place, a distillate which shines like a diamond and peat which becomes increasingly expressive, are the highlights of an aromatic and complex palette that holds many other treasures for us to discover.

Single Cask #302310 - Remade Hogshead Limited edition of 280 bottles LMDW world exclusive Profile: rich and very refined. Boasting an invigorating acidity (lime, fine spices), it offers peat seasoned with liquorice, salt and aromatic herbs (chartreuse).

Read more

In stock

Add to my favorite
  • Free delivery

    to € 120

  • Fast shipping

    From 2 to 5 days

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- for € 120 in France
- for € 200 in Germany,
Netherlands and Luxembourg
SSL Secure Paiement

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website and selected wine retail shops in France.


Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : pale gold
  • Nose : rich and very fine. A sublime, imposing initial nose places a bunch of white flowers by the side of the road. Warm, it then leads us to the hearth of a fireplace to breathe in the odour of its glowing embers. Intense, it gradually becomes spicy, herbaceous (camomile, mint) and lemony. With great length, it continues to develop in elegance.
  • Palate : lively, sharp. Boasting an invigorating acidity (lime, fine spices), it offers peat boosted by liquorice, salt and aromatic herbs (chartreuse). The midpalate returns to citrus fruit and juicy oranges. Left to breathe, it becomes hot (Cayenne, Espelette) and creamy (vanilla custard). A magnificent distillate that allows the full purity of its expression to be admired.
  • Overall : long, determined. Not unlike a tequila, it alternates between salt, lemon and pepper. Next, peat, smoke and a fine layer of dark chocolate gradually coat the palate. It lingers with notes of green liquorice, pecan nuts and candied lemon. The retro-nasal olfaction is animal (fish and smoked bacon), saline and praline-scented. The empty glass is deeply peaty.
The brand

The brand

As well as reflecting its smoky, malted barley, Caol Ila is also oily and peaty, with marine and vegetable notes. Its recent official bottlings, which are particularly expressive, have an intense smoky and peaty character with a good balance of saltiness and sweetness. Superb versions of this single malt have also been released by independent bottlers Gordon MacPhail & Signatory Vintage. Caol Ila’s stills, which are large and onion-shaped, have a strong influence on this single malt and give it a fairly light and delicate character. Find out more


This independent bottler is without a doubt one of the most highly acclaimed in Scotland. It stands out, not for its age (though it is the oldest independent bottler in Scotland), but for its complete mastery of cask ageing. Gordon & MacPhail is the only bottler to have its own casks - carefully chosen for the purpose - filled by the distilleries themselves, instead of simply buying the ones suggested to them by the latter. This allows it to determine, in advance and with great precision, exactly how many years a whisky will need to reach ideal maturation.

The line

A new Gordon & MacPhail range, Exclusive was created to bring together a small number of blends, bottled without dilution from single casks, and intended to be sold exclusively through Gordon & MacPhail’s shop in Elgin. La Maison du Whisky was lucky enough to have access to some of these rare, highly-prized bottlings, including the very first release of a 1984 Caol Ila to available outside of Scotland.

Delivery and payment


on all orders from €120 and up in France Mainland
from €200 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg

To your home, a collection point or "espace cityssimo".

logo collectorsCOLLECTORS

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery



Paypal, Paybox


Bank Transfer

tel : +331 80 36 90 10
Monday-Friday from 8am to 8pm
Saturday – from 9am to 8pm
See all payment methods
Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on CAOL ILA 2003

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Profitez de nombreuses offres et cadeaux !

Je découvre
Archive CAOL ILA 2003

CAOL ILA 2003

Single Malt, Ecosse / Islay, 70cl, Ref: 19715

Illustrant à merveille le style gourmand des Caol Ila embouteillés par Gordon & MacPhail, cette version distillée en 2003 n’hésite pas à s’éloigner de son port d’attache pour mieux revenir les coffres remplis d’épices, de piments, d’agrumes et de réglisse. Le crépitement d’un feu de cheminée, un distillat qui brille tel un diamant, une tourbe qui devient de plus en plus expressive, sont les temps forts d’une palette aromatique et gustative qui a bien d’autres trésors à nous faire découvrir.

Single Cask #302310 - Remade Hogshead Série limitée à 280 bouteilles - Une exclusivité LMDW Profil : riche et très fin. Doté d’une acidité vivifiante (citron vert, épices nobles), propose une tourbe agrémentée de réglisse, de sel et de plantes aromatiques (chartreuse).

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : Couleur : or pâle.
  • Nez : à la fois riche et très fin. Un premier nez sublime et imposant dépose une gerbe de fleurs blanches à même le bitume. Chaleureux, il nous conduit ensuite devant l’âtre d’une cheminée respirer l’odeur des braises rougeoyantes. Ardent, il devient petit à petit épicé, herbacé (camomille, menthe) et citronné. Très long, il évolue vers toujours plus d’élégance.
  • Bouche : nerveuse, acérée. Dotée d’une acidité vivifiante (citron vert, épices nobles), elle propose une tourbe agrémentée de réglisse, de sel et de plantes aromatiques (chartreuse). Le milieu de bouche revient sur les agrumes, des oranges juteuses. A l’aération, elle devient très pimentée (Cayenne, Espelette) et crémeuse (flan à la vanille). Un distillat magnifique laisse admirer toute sa pureté d’expression.
  • Finale : longue, volontaire. Evoquant une téquila, elle oscille entre le sel, le citron et le poivre. Puis, la tourbe et la fumée ainsi qu’une fine couche de chocolat noir enrobent progressivement le palais. Elle se prolonge sur des notes de réglisse verte, de noix de pécan et de citron confit. La rétro olfaction est animale (poisson et lard fumé), saline et pralinée. Le verre vide profondément tourbé.
La marque

La marque

Proche de l'orge maltée fumée, Caol Ila se révèle également marin, végétal, huileux et tourbé. Les récents embouteillages officiels, particulièrement expressifs, possèdent un caractère tourbé et fumé intense ainsi qu'un bel équilibre sucré/salé. Les embouteilleurs indépendants, Gordon & MacPhail et Signatory Vintage proposent également de magnifiques versions de ce single malt. Les alambics de la distillerie Caol Ila, de grande taille et en forme d'oignon expliquent en grande partie le caractère plutôt léger et très fin de ce single malt. En savoir plus

Négociant

Cette maison de négoce est sans aucune doute l’une des plus réputées en Ecosse. Ce qui la distingue des autres ce n’est pas son âge (elle est la plus ancienne), mais sa maitrise totale du vieillissement en fût. Gordon & MacPhail est la seule maison à faire remplir ses propres fûts – choisis soigneusement à cette fin – par les distilleries elles-mêmes, plutôt que de tout simplement acheter ce que leur proposent ces derniers. Ceci leur permet de déterminer à l’avance, et avec beaucoup de précision, combien d’années nécessitera la maturation idéale de tel ou tel whisky. En savoir plus

Gamme

Nouvelle gamme chez Gordon & MacPhail, Exclusive a été créée afin de rassembler un petit nombre d'assemblages, mis en bouteille sans réduction à partir de fûts uniques, et destinés à la vente exclusive au sein de la boutique Gordon & MacPhail à Elgin. La Maison du Whisky a eu la chance d’avoir accès à certains de ces embouteillages rares et très recherchés, dont une toute première version disponible en France, un Caol Ila de 1984.

Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur CAOL ILA 2003

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats