Archive BUFFALO TRACE Single Barrel No 40

BUFFALO TRACE Single Barrel No 40

Bourbon, United States / Kentucky 70cl Ref: 19545

It is with great serenity and fervour that this no. 40 cask explores one by one many of the secrets behind the reputation of this famous bourbon. Remarkably balanced, it is the first step in an olfactory and gustatory journey punctuated by numerous fruits, spices and heady floral notes. At the end of this journey lie the warehouses of the Buffalo Trace distillery in Kentucky, in the town of Frankfort.

Single Cask #040 Limited edition of 276 bottles – LMDW world exclusive Profile: gourmand and woody. Gradually, notes of vanilla and tobacco replace spices and dried fruit.

Read more

This bottle is no longer available


However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.


Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website and selected wine retail shops in France.


Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : burnished gold with copper tinges.
  • Nose : fine, juicy. Stewed fruits (peach, apricot, Mirabelle plum) mingle silkily with spices which are equally gentle, almost smooth. Develops with voluptuous notes of prune cake, rum and raisin ice-cream and marron glacé. Perfectly framed overall by a very fine woodiness.
  • Palate : more firm than the nose implies, the spices have become stronger and nuts (cashew, almonds) have replaced the fresh fruit. The mid-palate is balsamic (pine, menthol). Gradually, notes of vanilla and tobacco take hold of the end of the palate. A handful of red and black fruits (strawberry, blackcurrants) arrive in a grand finale to enrich the chromatic palette.
  • Overall : soft, full of tranquillity. Like the nose, it demonstrates great delicacy. Its plump tannins apply gentle pressure to the taste buds. Sapid and fresh, it lingers with notes of cocoa beans and roasted coffee. The retro-olfactation is saline and gently spicy (ginger). The empty glass evokes a sweet wine (muscat, Gewurtztraminer).
The brand

The brand

Buffalo Trace, the emblematic bourbon from the distillery of the same name, is a classical American whiskey. Created in 1999, this Kentucky Straight bourbon, produced from a mash bill of maize (80%), rye (10%) and barley (10%), is a blend of some thirty barrels of the distillery’s new make spirit aged between 8 and 12 years old. For a long time almost impossible to find outside the United States, it is now finally available in Europe, in a new version bottled at 40% (instead of 45% in America).

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on BUFFALO TRACE Single Barrel No 40

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• 1 coffret de 6 verres offert avec le code : NOEL16 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016 dès 140€ d'achat
Archive BUFFALO TRACE Single Barrel No 40

BUFFALO TRACE Single Barrel No 40

Bourbon, Etats-Unis / Kentucky 70cl Ref: 19545

C’est avec beaucoup de sérénité et de ferveur que ce fût n°40 explore un à un la plupart des arcanes qui ont fait la réputation de ce célèbre bourbon. Remarquablement équilibré, il constitue la première étape d’un parcours olfactif et gustatif jalonné de nombreux fruits, d’épices et de fleurs capiteuses. Au bout de ce parcours se trouvent les chais de la distillerie Buffalo Trace située dans le Kentucky, plus précisément dans la ville de Frankfort.

Profil : gourmand et boisé. Des notes de vanille et de tabac remplacent progressivement les épices et les fruits secs.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : vieil or à reflets cuivrés.
  • Nez : fin, juteux. Des fruits compotés (pêche, abricot, mirabelle) côtoient avec beaucoup de soyeux des épices toutes aussi caressantes, presque suaves. Il évolue sur des notes gourmandes de cake aux pruneaux, de glace rhum/raisins et de marron glacé. L’ensemble est parfaitement encadré par un boisé très fin.
  • Bouche : plus ferme que le nez ne le laisse supposer, les épices se font plus fortes et les fruits secs (noix cajou, amande) ont remplacé les fruits frais. Le milieu de bouche se montre balsamique (pin, menthol). Progressivement, des notes de vanille et de tabac prennent possession de la fin de bouche. Quelques fruits rouges et noirs (fraise, cassis) arrivent en point d’orgue pour enrichir la palette chromatique.
  • Finale : douce, pleine de quiétude. A l’instar du nez, elle fait preuve de délicatesse. Ses tannins fourrés exercent une très légère pression sur les papilles. Sapide, fraîche, elle se prolonge sur la fève de cacao et sur le café torréfié. La rétro olfaction est saline et tendrement épicée (gingembre). Le verre vide évoque un vin liquoreux (muscat, gewurtztraminer).
La marque

La marque

Cuvée emblématique de la distillerie du même nom, Buffalo Trace est un grand classique du whiskey américain. Créé en 1999, ce Kentucky Straight Bourbon produit à partir d'un mash bill de maïs (80%), de seigle (10%) et d’orge (10%) est un assemblage d'eaux-de-vie de la distillerie ayant entre 8 et 12 ans d'âge, et issues d'une trentaine de fûts à chaque fois. Pendant longtemps presque introuvable en dehors des Etats-Unis, il est enfin disponible en Europe, dans une nouvelle version, mise en bouteille à 40% (au lieu de 45% en Amérique).

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur BUFFALO TRACE Single Barrel No 40

    • par Alexandre
      (le 29/10/2015)
    • Mon nouveau bourbon favori

      Excellent, je le met juste devant le eagle rare.
      Fidèle à sa description, le nez est fabuleux.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats