BEN NEVIS 1998 Sherry Butt 56,1%

Single Malt, Scotland / Highlands 70cl Ref: 18125

When Ben Nevis has so much personality and originality, one thing is certain, the word ‘boring’ is not on the agenda. This cask strength whisky aged in sherry casks is a relatively rare vintage, as well as being difficult to figure out. The only thing predictable about it is its unpredictability. Shunning consensus, this bottling has left the beaten track proclaiming to all: let those who love me follow me. The distinctive character of Ben Nevis is undoubtedly present in this release with its pervasive notes of exotic fruits. For such a young vintage it is particularly mature, almost astringent. Not far off perfect!

Single Cask #586 - Sherry Butt exclusively from LMDW Profile: authentic. Exotic fruits, mentholated, spicy, aquatic flowers (water lilies) and slightly peaty. Orange blossom and fresh coriander. Dark chocolate, black liquorice and tar.

Read more

Definitely unavailable

€155.00
€155.00
Add to my favorite
  • Free delivery

    on this product

  • Fast shipping

    From 2 to 5 days

  • Secure Paiement

    Credit Card, bank transfer, Paypal,...
- for € 120 in France
- for € 200 in Germany,
Netherlands and Luxembourg
SSL Secure Paiement
cards
logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Expert Reviews

85 points, Serge Valentin on Whiskyfun.com, 23 October 2013

Tasting note

  • Appearance : coppery amber.
  • Nose : characteristic, authentic. The first nose is the very essence of Ben Nevis: a mixture of exotic fruit, menthol freshness, spicy heat, aquatic flowers (water lilies) and a small measure of peat. It develops into orange blossom and fresh coriander. Then dark chocolate, black liquorice and tar gives it lots of depth.
  • Palate : dense, lively. Changing constantly, from floral notes (iris and lily) to fresh, exotic fruit (pineapple, persimmon, plum and Mirabelle plums), from sweet to intensely saline phases. Firmly embedded in the soil (marl and potter’s clay), it is nevertheless ethereal thanks to its silky tannins and bags of juicy fruit.
  • Overall : long, increasingly rich. In turn, the spices become silky (fresh ginger, coriander and parsley). Other fruits appear (apricot, pear, persimmon, pomegranate and walnut). The sherry is wonderfully integrated in these notes. Delicately unfolds into green grass, strawberry coulis and salted butter caramel. Generous retro-olfactation and the empty glass has camphor, chocolate, liquorice and animal aromas (leather and tannery).
The brand

The brand

Acquired by the Japanese group Nikka in 1989, the Ben Nevis distillery was, under the ownership of Joseph W.Hobbs in 1955, one of the only distilleries in Scotland to have its own traditional pot stills and a Coffey-style column still. Bought by Long John Distillers in 1981, the Coffey stills were subsequently dismantled. Although the majority of its whisky is aged in ex-sherry casks, some ex-bourbon cask bottlings have recently appeared on the independent market. It’s worth noting that the distillery was mothballed for six years at the end of the 1970s, and then again in 1984 and from 1986 to 1989.

Delivery and payment

DELIVERY IN MAINLAND FRANCE AND WORLWIDE

FREE DELIVERY
on all orders from €120 and up in France Mainland
from €200 and up in Germany, Netherlands, Luxembourg
PERSONALISED DELIVERY SERVICE

To your home, a collection point or "espace cityssimo".

METICULOUS, SECURE PACKAGING
logo collectorsCOLLECTORS
SPECIAL DELIVERY

For rare bottles,
only DHL offers sufficient guarantees for fast and easy delivery. Delivery Terms and Shipping Charges

Conditions of dispatch and delivery

PAYMENT TERMS AND GUARANTEES

SECURE PAYMENT

Paypal, Paybox

TRANSFER PAYMENT

Bank Transfer

PREMIUM FIANET WESBITE
CUSTOMER SERVICE
tel : +331 80 36 90 10
Monday-Friday from 8am to 8pm
Saturday – from 9am to 8pm
See all payment methods
Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on BEN NEVIS 1998 Sherry Butt

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• 1 coffret de 6 verres offert avec le code : NOEL16 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016 dès 140€ d'achat

BEN NEVIS 1998 Sherry Butt 56,1%

Single Malt, Ecosse / Highlands 70cl Ref: 18125

Quand Ben Nevis fait preuve d’autant de personnalité et d’originalité, une chose est sûre, le mot « ennui » est à rayer de son vocabulaire. Ce brut de fût vieilli en fût de xérès est un millésime relativement rare, en plus d’être difficile à cerner. En effet, à tout moment l’imprévisible est à prévoir. Refusant tout consensus, cette version poursuit son bonhomme de chemin en criant à tout va : qui m’aime me suive. Pas de doute, on retrouve bien la patte de Ben Nevis avec des notes de fruits exotiques omniprésentes. Mais, pour un millésime aussi jeune, il est particulièrement très abouti, à la limite de l’astringence. Il frôle la perfection.

Single Cask #586 - Sherry Butt Exclusivité LMDW Profil : authentique. Exotisme fruité, mentholée, épicée, fleurs aquatiques (nénuphar) et tourbe légère. Fleur d’oranger et coriandre fraîche. Chocolat noir, réglisse noire et goudron.

Lire plus

Rupture définitive

155,00 €
155,00 €
Ajouter à mes préférés
  • Livraison offerte

    sur ce produit

  • Envoi Rapide

    entre 3 et 5 jours

  • Paiement Sécurisé

    CB, Virement, Paypal ...
- dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
- dès 200€ vers l'Allemagne, Pays-Bas
et Luxembourg
Paiement sécurisé SSL
cards
logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Avis d'experts

85 points, Serge Valentin sur Whiskyfun.com, 23 octobre 2013

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : ambre cuivré.
  • Nez : typé, authentique. Le premier nez est à lui seul une définition de Ben Nevis, c’est-à-dire un mélange d’exotisme fruité, de fraîcheur mentholée, de chaleur épicée, de fleurs aquatiques (nénuphar) et de tourbe légère. Il évolue sur la fleur d’oranger et sur la coriandre fraîche. Plus tard, du chocolat noir, de la réglisse noire et du goudron lui procurent une belle profondeur de champ.
  • Bouche : dense, vive. Constamment en mouvement, elle passe de notes florales (iris, lys) en fruits frais et exotiques (ananas, kaki, prune, mirabelle) et de phases sucrées en moments intensément salins. Très ancrée dans le sol (marne, glaise), elle n’en est pas moins aérienne grâce à la qualité de ses tannins soyeux et de ses fruits juteux à souhait.
  • Finale : longue, elle ne cesse de gagner en richesse. Ses épices sont à leur tour devenues soyeuses (gingembre frais, coriandre, persil). De nouveaux fruits font leur apparition (abricot, poire, kaki, grenade, noix). Le xérès est merveilleusement intégré à ces notes. Il se déploie avec tendresse sur de l’herbe verte, du coulis de fraise et du caramel au beurre salé. La rétro olfaction est gourmande et le verre vide camphré, chocolaté, réglissé et animal (cuir, tannerie).
La marque

La marque

Devenue la propriété du groupe japonais Nikka en 1989, la distillerie Ben Nevis fut du temps de son propriétaire Joseph W.Hobbs en 1955, l'une des rares distilleries Ecossaises à abriter en son sein, des alambics traditionnels de type pot still avec un alambic à colonnes de type Coffey Still. Rachetée en 1981 par Long John Distillers, ces derniers furent démantelés. Si la majorité des stocks sont gardés en ex fûts de Xérès, certains fûts de bourbon sont récemment apparus sur le marché du whisky de négoce. A noter que la distillerie fut fermée pour une période de 6 ans à la fin des années 70, puis en 1984 et de 1986 à 1989.

Livraison et paiement

LIVRAISON EN FRANCE MÉTROPOLITAINE ET DANS LE MONDE

LIVRAISON OFFERTE
dès 120€ en France métropolitaine
dès 200€ en Allemagne, Pays-Bas et Luxembourg
LIVRAISON SUR MESURE

A domicile, en point relais ou en espace cityssimo.

EMBALLAGE SOIGNÉ ET SÉCURISÉ
logo collectorsRARETES
LIVRAISON SPÉCIALE

Pour ces bouteilles rares,
seul DHL assure les garanties suffisantes pour une livraison en toute sérénité.

Conditions de Livraison & Frais de Port

PAIEMENT ET GARANTIES WHISKY.FR

PAIEMENT SÉCURISÉ

Paypal, Paybox

PAIEMENT PAR VIREMENT

Bank Transfer

SITE PREMIUM FIANET
SERVICE CLIENT
tel : 01 80 36 90 10
lundi au vendredi - de 8h à 20h
samedi - de 9h à 20h
Voir les Modes de paiements
Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur BEN NEVIS 1998 Sherry Butt

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats