Archive BEN NEVIS 18 ans 1996 Sherry wood

BEN NEVIS 18 ans 1996 Sherry wood

Single Malt, Scotland / Highlands, 70cl, Ref: 19819

Want more ? See product details
Read more
See more products from Ben Nevis See all products: Wilson & Morgan

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

    No comment
The brand

The brand

Acquired by the Japanese group Nikka in 1989, the Ben Nevis distillery was, under the ownership of Joseph W.Hobbs in 1955, one of the only distilleries in Scotland to have its own traditional pot stills and a Coffey-style column still. Bought by Long John Distillers in 1981, the Coffey stills were subsequently dismantled. Although the majority of its whisky is aged in ex-sherry casks, some ex-bourbon cask bottlings have recently appeared on the independent market. It’s worth noting that the distillery was mothballed for six years at the end of the 1970s, and then again in 1984 and from 1986 to 1989.

Merchant

At the head of this independent merchant, Fabio Rossi continues the long tradition of Italian whisky bottling. His bottlings mainly concern malt whiskies from the isle of Islay, and are characterised by their sherry cask finishings.

The line

The whiskies in the Barrel Selection Cask Strength range are, as the name suggests, bottled straight from the cask, with no dilution, filtration or addition of caramel. Single malts at cask strength are not recommended as an introduction to whisky, they are more for the seasoned enthusiast in search of authenticity. When the selected casks are large (for example sherry butts contain around 500 bottles), the whisky is bottled as a single cask; when they are small, a small blend – always of a single malt – is made from several different casks that are of a very similar character and bottled as a ‘small batch’.

Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on BEN NEVIS 18 ans 1996 Sherry wood

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Archive BEN NEVIS 18 ans 1996 Sherry wood

BEN NEVIS 18 ans 1996 Sherry wood

Single Malt, Ecosse / Highlands 70cl Ref: 19819

Provenant d’une distillerie des Highlands située sur la côte ouest et reconnue pour son distillat particulièrement robuste, ce magnifique whisky se montre souvent sous son meilleur jour grâce à l’influence des fûts de sherry, comme c’est le cas pour cette expression. Puissant mais agréable grâce à sa rondeur et ses riches notes fruitées : oranges, abricots, noix et prunes séchées… tout en conservant un parfum doux et malté. Chaque gorgée révèle des notes intenses de café et de poivre. La finale est ponctuée par une saveur de cire d’abeille. Un style unique, à la présence forte et complexe, qui satisfera les connaisseurs les plus exigeants.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

    Aucun commentaire disponible
La marque

La marque

Devenue la propriété du groupe japonais Nikka en 1989, la distillerie Ben Nevis fut du temps de son propriétaire Joseph W.Hobbs en 1955, l'une des rares distilleries Ecossaises à abriter en son sein, des alambics traditionnels de type pot still avec un alambic à colonnes de type Coffey Still. Rachetée en 1981 par Long John Distillers, ces derniers furent démantelés. Si la majorité des stocks sont gardés en ex fûts de Xérès, certains fûts de bourbon sont récemment apparus sur le marché du whisky de négoce. A noter que la distillerie fut fermée pour une période de 6 ans à la fin des années 70, puis en 1984 et de 1986 à 1989.

Négociant

À la tête de cette maison indépendante, Fabio Rossi perpétue une longue tradition de négoce italien de whisky. Ses mises en bouteilles font la part belle aux malts de l’île d’Islay et ses vieillissements intégraux ou affinages en fûts de sherry sont la signature même de la maison.

Gamme

Les whiskies de la gamme Barrel Selection Cask Strength sont, comme indiquent le nom, des whiskies mis en bouteille en brut de fût, sans réduction, sans filtration et sans rajout de caramel. Des single malts à la force du fût, ce ne sont pas des eaux-de-vie de débutant, mais plutôt pour amateur averti, en quête d'authenticité. Lorsque les fûts sélectionnés sont grands (par exemple des sherry butts, dont la contenance tourne autour de 500 bouteilles), le whisky est embouteillé en tant que single cask ; lorsqu'ils sont petits, un petit assemblage - toujours un single malt - est fait et de fûts différents mais de caractère très proche est embouteillé comme un "small batch".

Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur BEN NEVIS 18 ans 1996 Sherry wood

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats