Archive BALVENIE 40 year old

BALVENIE 40 year old

Single Malt, Scotland / Speyside 70cl Ref: 17063

To create this venerable Balvenie’s batch no. 4, David Stewart skilfully married small quantities of The Balvenie aged in four second-fill casks and three sherry casks, the youngest of which was at least 40 years old. These seven blended casks have led to a remarkably balanced bottling, made sublime by its sherry influence.

Profile: refined. Spice (clove, cardamom) and fruit (apple, Mirabelle plum). The mid-palate is slightly saline. Refined, distinguished nose.

Read more

This bottle is no longer available


However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.


Product details


Médaille d'Or Outstanding, International Wine & Spirit Competition 2013

Tasting note

  • Appearance : orangey copper with glints of green.
  • Nose : fine, distinguished. On a base of woody notes, the initial nose is characterised by generous notes of roast apples. Tertiary, it develops into leather and incense. Once allowed to breath, it becomes vanilla-scented and spicy (ginger, cinnamon). It then develops into heather honey, lavender, dried fruit (date, fig) and mocha.
  • Palate : fine, complex. The attack on the palate is spicy (clove, cardamom) and fruity (apple, Mirabelle plum). The mid-palate is slightly saline, giving its fruity character the impetus it needs to become more exotic (mango, passion fruit). It lingers with chocolate, prunes and noble wood.
  • Overall : long, enveloping. The palate is coated in the sherry’s silky tannins. At the same time, the spices gain in power. Gentian root adds a hint of earthiness. The retro-nasal olfaction is indulgent (candied fruit, spice bread). The empty glass is malty and spicy.
The brand

The brand

Only a handful of Scottish distilleries can claim to have been owned by the same family since their inception. Balvenie continues to malt part of their own barley, which is grown in a neighbouring field, before drying it in their impressive kiln, where a couple of blocks of peat adds to the authenticity of this single malt. Next, the yeast, the shape of the stills and the watchful eye of the stillman all help contribute to the aromas of this magnificent Speyside whisky. Finally, it is aged in casks built in the neighbouring coopery. Find out more

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on BALVENIE 40 year old

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

• 1 coffret de 6 verres offert avec le code : NOEL16 jusqu’au 31 décembre 2016 dès 140€ d'achat
Archive BALVENIE 40 ans

BALVENIE 40 ans

Single Malt, Ecosse / Speyside 70cl Ref: 17063

Pour créer le batch #4 de ce vénérable Balvenie, David Stewart a habilement marié de petites quantités de whisky The Balvenie vieillies dans quatre fûts de second remplissage et trois fûts de sherry dont le plus jeune est au minimum âgé de 40 ans. Ces sept fûts assemblés ont donné naissance à une version remarquablement équilibrée transcendée par le vin de xérès.

Profil : noble. Des épices (girofle, cardamome) et des fruits (pomme, mirabelle). Le milieu de bouche est légèrement salin. Un nez fin et racé.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

Description

Détails du produit

Récompenses

Médaille d'Or Outstanding, International Wine & Spirit Competition 2013

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : cuivre orangé à reflets verdâtres.
  • Nez : fin, racé. Sur fond de notes boisées, le premier nez est également marqué par des notes gourmandes de pommes au four. Tertiaire, il évolue sur le cuir et l’encens. A l’aération, il devient vanillé et épicé (gingembre, cannelle). Il évolue ensuite sur le miel de bruyère, la lavande, les fruits secs (datte, figue) et le moka.
  • Bouche : noble, complexe. L’attaque en bouche est épicée (girofle, cardamome) et fruitée (pomme, mirabelle). Le milieu de bouche est légèrement salin, ce qui donne de l’impulsion à son registre fruité désormais plus exotique (mangue, passion). Elle se prolonge sur le chocolat, le pruneau et le bois précieux.
  • Finale : longue, caressante. Le palais est tapissé par les tannins duveteux transmis par le vin de xérès. Dans le même temps, les épices montent en puissance. La racine de gentiane ajoute une touche terreuse. La rétro olfaction est gourmande (cake aux fruits confits, pain d’épices). Le verre vide est malté et épicé.
La marque

La marque

Seules quelques distilleries écossaises peuvent se vanter d’appartenir à la même famille depuis leur création. Balvenie malte toujours une partie de son orge cultivée dans les champs avoisinants puis la sèche dans son impressionnant kiln où quelques mottes de tourbe viennent donner une touche accrue d’authenticité à ce single malt. Ensuite c’est la levure, la forme des alambics et l’œil aguerri du stillman qui vont forger les arômes de ce grand cru du Speyside. Il est ensuite vieilli dans des fûts travaillés à la tonnellerie adjacente à la distillerie. En savoir plus

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur BALVENIE 40 ans

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats