Archive BALBLAIR 1988 Of

BALBLAIR 1988 Of

Single Malt, Scotland / Highlands 70cl Ref: 19609

The initial nose is a concentrated shot of wonderfully precise Balblair. It’s all there: vanilla, ripe fruit, spices, even medicinal notes, and of course the salt that floods the senses and takes us to breathe in the pure air of the Dornoch Firth. A mineral firmness is added to this, bringing out the superb quality of a rich, powerful distillate which has braved the relentless assaults of time without ageing a bit. This 1988 vintage bottling boasts a long future.

Single Cask #3400 - Bourbon Barrel Limited edition of 135 bottles LMDW world exclusive Profile: wonderfully herbaceous (malted barley, camomile) and floral (broom, iris). Floral, herbaceous and fruity notes take turns to influencing the palate.

Read more

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

logo

Sourcing actor, importer and exclusive distributor of a portfolio of international brands, La Maison du Whisky is, since 60 years a reference for whisky and spirit lovers. Thanks to our close relationships with producers and independent bottlers, we have access to limited editions and unique products we bring to market exclusively. Curious and creative, we are driven by our passion for products and our desire to constantly bring our clients the latest expressions through our own shops, our website whisky.fr and selected wine retail shops in France.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : deep burnished gold with topaz tinges.
  • Nose : distinguished, firm. Wonderfully herbaceous (malted barley, camomile) and floral (broom, iris), it broadens to offer a collection of sweet spices (cumin, cinnamon), dried fruit (walnut, apricot) and candied citrus fruit (lemon, grapefruit). In terms of depth, exotic fruit (banana, guava), salt and a delicate note of vanilla complete this complex, very typical North Highland olfactory register.
  • Palate : concentrated, rich. With the same power of persuasion and concentration as the nose, the attack is a perfect example of a coastal malt. Taking turns to be floral, herbaceous and fruity, it is above all rooted in a heather-covered moor, as is demonstrated by the uncompromising minerality of the mid-palate. Lingers with roasted notes and currants.
  • Overall : long, with just as much firmness. Also liquoricey and mentholated. Fresh and juicy, bursting with ripe fruit (pear, mirabelle plum, apple). With time, it fully expresses its spring-like notes of wild flowers. The retro-nasal olfaction expresses gentle chocolate aromas. The empty glass, much to the delight of the taster, offers a return to the superb initial nose.
The brand

The brand

One of the rare distilleries to produce vintage-dated editions (rather than bottles aged for 10, 12, 15 years etc.), Balblair produces a generous, round, fruity and accessible whisky. Bottled at no less than 43% ABV (46% and cask strength for older bottlings), it is one of the rare single malts to remain largely unknown despite being ideal for beginners: no notes of peat or iodine, very rarely woody and always welcoming. Find out more

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on BALBLAIR 1988 Of

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Archive BALBLAIR 1988

BALBLAIR 1988

Single Malt, Ecosse / Highlands 70cl Ref: 19609

Le premier nez est un concentré de Balblair sublime de précision. Tout y est : la vanille, les fruits mûrs, les épices, même les notes médicinales et bien sûr le sel qui se déverse partout et nous emmène respirer l’air pur du Dornoch Firth. A cela, il faut ajouter une fermeté minérale qui met en valeur la qualité d’un distillat riche et puissant qui a bravé, sans prendre une seule ride, les assauts du temps qui passe inexorablement. Voilà pourquoi cette version millésimée 1988 a l’éternité devant elle !

Single Cask #3400 - Bourbon Barrel Série limitée à 135 bouteilles - Une Exclusivité LMDW Profil : magnifiquement herbacé (orge maltée, camomille) et floral (genêt, iris). Bouche tour à tour florale, herbacée et fruitée.

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

logo

Sourceur, importateur officiel et distributeur exclusif de nombreuses marques découvertes tout autour du monde, La Maison du Whisky accompagne depuis 60 ans les amateurs de whisky et de spiritueux. Grâce à nos relations privilégiées avec les producteurs et les négociants, nous avons accès à des séries limitées et des produits inédits que nous vous proposons en avant-première et en exclusivité. Curieux et créatifs, nous sommes guidés par deux choses : la passion pour les produits et l'envie de vous les faire découvrir dans nos boutiques, sur whisky.fr ou chez les meilleurs cavistes de France. En savoir plus...

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : vieil or soutenu à reflets topaze.
  • Nez : ferme, racé. Magnifiquement herbacé (orge maltée, camomille) et floral (genêt, iris), sur sa largeur il propose un florilège d’épices douces (cumin, cannelle), de fruits secs (noix, abricot) et d’agrumes confits (citron, pamplemousse). En profondeur, des fruits exotiques (ananas, goyave), du sel et une fine note vanillée complètent ce registre olfactif complexe et très typé Highland du Nord.
  • Bouche : riche, concentrée. Avec la même force de persuasion et de concentration que le nez, l’attaque en bouche est un modèle du genre en matière de single malt côtier. Tour à tour florale, herbacée, fruitée, elle est surtout enracinée dans une lande recouverte de bruyère comme en témoigne le milieu de bouche d’une minéralité sans concession. Elle se prolonge sur des notes de raisins de Corinthe et de torréfaction.
  • Finale : longue, avec toujours autant de fermeté, elle se montre également réglissée et mentholée. Fraîche, juteuse, elle regorge de fruits mûrs (poire, mirabelle, pomme). Avec le temps, elle laisse s’exprimer en toute liberté des notes printanières de fleurs des champs. La rétro olfaction est tendrement chocolatée. Le verre vide renvoie, pour le plus grand plaisir du dégustateur, au magnifique premier nez.
La marque

La marque

Une des rares distilleries à ne mettre en bouteille que des versions millésimées (plutôt que des versions âgées de 10, 12, 15 ans etc. de manière classique), Balblair produit un style de whisky très généreux, rond, fruité et facile d'accès. Embouteillé à 43% minimum (46% et brut de fût pour les versions plus âgées), c'est un des rares whiskies single malt à rester peu connu tout étant idéal pour le débutant : pas de notes tourbées, ni d'iode, très rarement boisé et toujours accueillant. En savoir plus

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur BALBLAIR 1988

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats