Archive ARRAN 10 YEAR OLD Bere Barley

ARRAN 10 YEAR OLD Bere Barley

Single Malt, Scotland / Highlands-Arran 70cl Ref: 18787

Distilled in 2004 using one of the oldest varieties of barley, indigenous to the Orkney Islands, Arran Orkney Bere Barley was produced in collaboration with the agronomy institute that is also present on these islands in the very north of Scotland. This variety of six-rowed barley sowed during the spring is now only cultivated in the Orkney Islands. The words powerful and rustic come to mind when describing this Arran whisky. Complex, nuanced and medicinal could also be employed.

Limited edition of 4,858 bottles. Profile: powerful, round. Mentholated, malted, medicinal and aniseed notes. Spices (cumin, pepper), fresh fruit (lemon) and aquatic notes (water lily, samphire).

Read more

Tastes

  • Floral
  • Fruity
  • Iodized
  • Woody
  • Spicy
  • Unpeated

This bottle is no longer available

Unavailable

However, according to research of our experts, some rare bottlings may one day be back in stock.

Feel free to submit them your collections.

Description

Product details

Tasting note

  • Appearance : bright yellow.
  • Nose : intense, lively. The initial nose is mentholated, highly malted and aniseed-scented. Develops into notes of cumin and damp earth. Malted barley takes over the entire aromatic palate. Rustic, powerful and herbaceous. Medicinal after aeration, it also soothes mouth injuries.
  • Palate : both lively and round. Lively acidity. Evokes freshly cut lemon. Lemon zest gives a slight mouth-watering sharpness to the mouth-feel and, at the same time, bags of grain. The mid-palate is peppery and mentholated. Aquatic: water lilies, watercress and samphire are washed in on the tide.
  • Overall : long, intense. The green mint makes way for white mint and coconut milk. The acidic and milky combination is heavenly. Barley then comes back with a vengeance filling the end of the palate with malty flavours. The retro-olfaction is fruity (melon, pistachio) and the empty glass has the same powerful expression as the initial nose.
The brand

The brand

The Isle of Arran has come a long way and their 10 year old whisky, bottled for some years now, has raised the distillery to the ranks of the great whisky producers. The particularity of Arran whisky is in its finishes, carried out in a wide variety of casks that previously contained wine (from Champagne, Margaux or Marsala) or even brandy (Cognac, calvados). The distillery is also known for producing whisky with various forgotten types of barley, as well as a series of vintage single casks, often bottled at cask strength. Produced on an island near the Scottish mainland, its style is more like Highland malt. Find out more

Back to top
Back to top
Customer Review
Give your review

Clients review

Review on ARRAN 10 YEAR OLD Bere Barley

No comment for this product.

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Please wait...

Product added to your shopping cart !
{{var product.name}}
Recommandations for you
Continue shopping
View cart & checkout

Archive ARRAN 10 ans Bere Barley

ARRAN 10 ans Bere Barley

Single Malt, Ecosse / Highlands-Arran 70cl Ref: 18787

Distillé en 2004 à partir d’une des variétés d’orge les plus anciennes et indigènes en provenance des Orcades, Arran Orkney Bere Barley a vu le jour grâce à un partenariat avec l’institut agronomique, lui-même installé sur ces îles tout au nord de l’Écosse. À vrai dire, cette variété d’orge à six rangs semée au printemps n’est désormais cultivée que sur les Orcades. Puissant, rustique, voilà des adjectifs qui conviennent parfaitement pour décrire cet Arran. Complexe, nuancé, médicinal en sont d’autres.

Édition limitée à 4 858 bouteilles Profil : puissant, rond. Notes mentholées, maltées, médicinales et anisées. Épices (cumin, poivre), fruits frais (citron) et notes aquatiques (nénuphar, salicorne).

Lire plus

Cette référence n'est plus disponible à la vente

Non disponible

Selon les recherches et acquisitions de nos experts, certaines pièces de collection peuvent toutefois revenir en stock au fil du temps.

N'hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous si vous souhaitez soumettre vos bouteilles.

Description

Détails du produit

Note de dégustation

  • Couleur : jaune vif.
  • Nez : intense, vif. Le premier nez est mentholé, très profondément malté et anisé. Il évolue sur des notes de cumin et de terre humide. L’orge maltée occupe désormais l’intégralité de la palette aromatique. Elle est rustique, puissante et herbacée. Médicinale à l’aération, elle panse les blessures du palais.
  • Bouche : à la fois vive et ronde. Son acidité est vivifiante. Elle évoque un citron fraîchement coupé. Des zestes procurent à son toucher une légère amertume salivante et, en même temps, beaucoup de grain. Le milieu de bouche est poivré et mentholé. Aquatique, au fil de l’eau, des nénuphars, du cresson et des salicornes font leur apparition.
  • Finale : longue, resserrée. La menthe verte a cédé la place à de la menthe blanche et à du lait de coco. Cette bipolarité acide et laiteuse est en tous points emballante. Puis, l’orge effectue un retour en force car l’arrière-bouche nous emmène en pleine aire de maltage. La rétro-olfaction est fruitée (melon, pistache) et le verre vide fait preuve de la même puissance d’expression que le premier nez.
La marque

La marque

Le 10 ans d'âge, embouteillé il y a quelques années déjà, après tout ce chemin parcouru, conduit Isle of Arran dans la cour des grands. Arran se distingue également par ses affinages dans une grande variété de fûts ayant contenu du vin (de Champagne, Margaux ou Marsala), mais aussi des eaux-de-vie (cognac, calvados). La distillerie a aussi cette particularité de produire du whisky à base de variétés d'orge oubliées, ainsi qu’une série de single casks millésimés souvent embouteillés en brut de fût. Produit sur une île au bord du mainland écossais, son style ressemble plutôt à celui d'un whisky des Highlands. En savoir plus

Haut de page
Haut de page
Avis clients
Donnez votre avis

Avis des internautes

Avis sur ARRAN 10 ans Bere Barley

Pas d'avis pour ce produit.

Seuls les utilisateurs inscrits peuvent écrire des commentaires. Veuillez vous connecter ou vous inscrire.

Veuillez patienter...

Produit Ajouté au Panier !
{{var product.name}}
Vous aimerez aussi
Continuez vos achats
Régler mes achats